• Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Dec 10, 2002
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. cindy
    Dec 28, 2002
    0
    Worst she has ever done. Very poor. Too much back up-trying to sound like Bobby Brown's girls. SHAME!!! What hapenned to this girls voice???
  2. DebolaO
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    Fantastic. 'Unashamed' and 'Love that man' are just terrific.
  3. TomD
    Jul 8, 2004
    6
    A mediocre effort from one of the biggest divas of all time. The production and the vocals sound rushed. Standout tracks are Unashamed and the retro One of those days. Other songs don't even come close to the magic of her old songs. This includes the disastrous cover of You light up my life.
  4. TJoeW
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    Great voice.
  5. JessicaF.
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    Great album--I love it!! All of the songs have the special Aerosmith touch but old meets new....
  6. samh
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Whitney is the most amazing singer i have ever heard and how people can say anything bad about this album shocks me. In my opinion it is her best. My favourites are Whatchulookinat - i love the beat and its all true, i love the ballads on my own and light up my life and of course unashamed which is so modern. Whitneys the greatest, there will never be another
  7. TracyW
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    AWESOME!!!
  8. FBlackshear
    Mar 3, 2003
    10
    This is a great CD. Whitney shows she's still got what it takes on Try It On My Own and Tell Me No. Love That Man and Things You Say sound like the old school rnb single and she looks better than ever.
  9. ajanic
    May 16, 2003
    10
    Personally, I thought Whitney's voice was superb and the songs on this cd were some of her absolute best. They all touched my heart and I could feel her strength and spirituality in every word. Love Ya, Whitney.
  10. NseE
    Dec 12, 2002
    10
    With 10 songs totalling just under 40 minutes, it had to be fantastic, and it is. 'Unashamed', 'One of those days', etc. Fantastic. She sounds as great as ever too.
  11. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    whitney is just a great album I liked is very true that some songs make you feel a new feeling and try it on my own there some songs with bobby collaborate on some songs and her voice ruined the songs. if the record would have supported in the media defending this had not happened. the same label hung whitney what was happening at the time to release the album. emancipation of you know whowhitney is just a great album I liked is very true that some songs make you feel a new feeling and try it on my own there some songs with bobby collaborate on some songs and her voice ruined the songs. if the record would have supported in the media defending this had not happened. the same label hung whitney what was happening at the time to release the album. emancipation of you know who or music are well below this great album I give it an 8. Expand
  12. Oct 6, 2017
    10
    This is an overall very flowing album. The tracks are comfortable for the most part and Whitney sounded strong and firm and she sounded connected and proud of the words she was humming or belting or cooing.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Lacks any fire whatsoever.
  2. It would be a good standard-issue Whitney album if it wasn't for her disarming, defensive attempt to defuse every rumor hurled in her direction.
  3. Has a refreshingly old-school vibe.