• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2014
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 111
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    The best remastering yet and closest to the feeling of the original released album. First thing I noticed was that feeling was back, that feeling I had when I first listened to the album many years ago.....Thank you JIMMY PAGE and all who are credited for making this happen !!!!!!!
    Now how about a fun tour to give all 1 more fix of that lasting taste of live power that only the zep can
    The best remastering yet and closest to the feeling of the original released album. First thing I noticed was that feeling was back, that feeling I had when I first listened to the album many years ago.....Thank you JIMMY PAGE and all who are credited for making this happen !!!!!!!
    Now how about a fun tour to give all 1 more fix of that lasting taste of live power that only the zep can deliver.................RL
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2014
    6
    Sorry, but this still sounds like a "difficult third album" to me. A patchy mix of tracks, put together by a band recuperating from massive initial success and endless touring. Full marks to LZ for taking the time to radically expand their musical palette though, and there are certainly plenty of highlights on show - but there are nondescript and unfocused moments as well.

    This is the
    Sorry, but this still sounds like a "difficult third album" to me. A patchy mix of tracks, put together by a band recuperating from massive initial success and endless touring. Full marks to LZ for taking the time to radically expand their musical palette though, and there are certainly plenty of highlights on show - but there are nondescript and unfocused moments as well.

    This is the album where LZ first threw their hat into the prog/folk rock ring, but with limited success. The remastering is pretty good, but not startling. And the extra disk also doesn't add very much of note by my reckoning, except a couple of nice blues tracks. The repackaging is well done, though.

    So, for LZ fans, this is a worthwhile purchase - but for most people, suggest you go straight to their bonafide masterpiece - LZ4. Better rock, better prog, better folk, and better realised.
    Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2018
    10
    Band shows itself one more time that beyond talented is very versatile, and in a magisterial form they show it, releasing another excellent LP. Beautiful and epic songs are delivered here, even more because Celtic, folk and blues influences. About the LZ III full album is marvelous. About reissue, the cover art remains LP sleeve replica and it's quite cool, but the extra CD, being aBand shows itself one more time that beyond talented is very versatile, and in a magisterial form they show it, releasing another excellent LP. Beautiful and epic songs are delivered here, even more because Celtic, folk and blues influences. About the LZ III full album is marvelous. About reissue, the cover art remains LP sleeve replica and it's quite cool, but the extra CD, being a complete waste-of-money, has one or another difference in music names and musically, like the amazing guitar solo in an outtake of "Since I've been loving you", that is also great, but not enough to being released in album. But in a general ways, is the exactly same album twice. It's very very worthwhile buying for listening this marvelous album, but it's a pit having nothing new and at least too interesting for a extra disc. Regrettable the material of a band so important, what has so much history and extra material being treated this way. [11/10 for the album, 5/10 for the extra material] Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    Led Zeppelin III (whether it is the best of the 3 is widely debated I'm sure) is to me a classic album of hard and soft rock and folk that has proudly earned its place among time's greatest. (not saying that the other two albums aren't classics as well, this one just happens to be my favorite of the 3).
  5. Aug 27, 2017
    10
    un album qu'il est plus bien que les autres du groupe qui a réalisé l'album .
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 17, 2014
    78
    The second CD of Led Zeppelin III expands on its mothership's psychograss exhilaration.
  2. Jun 19, 2014
    90
    From a purely sonic standpoint, these new versions are impossible to disregard.... The bonus material on Led Zeppelin II and III is more revelatory, showcasing the band’s creative process through assorted alternate takes and rough mixes.
  3. Q Magazine
    Jun 19, 2014
    100
    Upgrading previous remasterings, Page's personal touch brings out even more detail.... Each album's companion disc supplies both pleasure and an education. [Jul 2014, p.120]