• Record Label: Parkwood
  • Release Date: Apr 23, 2016
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3590 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2018
    6
    A Good album but aged poorly. The film was absolutely amazing and so was the album. This record has such a bit of a problematic message being about black empowerment yet written by a group of white men... aside from that there are some highlights.Freedom, Pray You Catch Me, and Hold Up and Sandcastles.
  2. Sep 4, 2016
    5
    Ok, es Beyonce, de las cantantes mas sobrevaloradas que existen. No me extranaria saber que pago para que le dieran buenas reviews, es entendible, asi como su poder economico para que Lemonade apareciera tipo pelicula en HBO, no sorprende. A pesar de eso, Formation fue 10/10. Let's take a break from "Queen Bey".
  3. May 3, 2016
    4
    A lot of people don't understand how people can like Beyoncé so much only because of this album. The only why I gave this a high rating was because of Kendrick Lamar, who is always incredible!
  4. May 1, 2016
    6
    the album isn't bad, nor is it good. it's meh. the album is very very well mixed! not all of the songs are for everyone, heck, there's even a country track on this album! this album is pretty varied, imo. it's a decent album, but not all of it is for me.

    most favourite: Sorry
    least favourite: Pray You Catch Me, All Night (I feel as if All Night is filler)
  5. May 1, 2016
    5
    This album feels more like water with few drops on lemon juice and a spoon of sugar, not really a lemonade, rather a bland, tasteless drink. The songs are all somehow unimpressive and boring, the melodies are not standing out and the lyrics are repetitive and not very poetic. Some people might call this an experimental album, well it is not, at least if you are willing to look outside theThis album feels more like water with few drops on lemon juice and a spoon of sugar, not really a lemonade, rather a bland, tasteless drink. The songs are all somehow unimpressive and boring, the melodies are not standing out and the lyrics are repetitive and not very poetic. Some people might call this an experimental album, well it is not, at least if you are willing to look outside the shell of pop music. Without the visual support the album would not recieve the positive feedback that it is getting now. I am giving it 5/10 for a real effort and actually meaningful topics, nothing else in this album is worth it.... Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2016
    5
    Bueno ahora hablando enserio este album es conceptual..con letras y sonidos bien elegidos a excepsion de formation peor lo que tiene de malo es la variedad...es confusa,,a veces te llega a aburrir.. aun asi es bueno pero..no es ni el mejor ni el peor trabajo de Queen B
  7. Apr 27, 2016
    5
    I don't really like Lemonade, but there are 4 songs that I really love (Hold Up, Sandcastles, Freedom & All Night). The movie is really good, the album less.
  8. May 18, 2016
    6
    There exist one word for this album: overrated. There is no reason for give a high score to this work, is good, but we have a lot a best albums from othes artists.
  9. Apr 27, 2016
    6
    The album has a few strong points namely: Hold Up, Love Drought, All Night, and more that really exhibit Beyonce's vocal palette and skill, complimented by vibrant bass and empathetic melodies. That best illustrate what I enjoyed with her music, along side "club bangers" like Formation.

    Her collaborations were mostly mediocre and ventured into forms of experiments that sounded dissonant
    The album has a few strong points namely: Hold Up, Love Drought, All Night, and more that really exhibit Beyonce's vocal palette and skill, complimented by vibrant bass and empathetic melodies. That best illustrate what I enjoyed with her music, along side "club bangers" like Formation.

    Her collaborations were mostly mediocre and ventured into forms of experiments that sounded dissonant and lackluster. With only the Weeknd collaboration standing out on top.

    All tracks on ratings out of 5:

    1 - 2
    2 - 4
    3 - 3
    4 - 2
    5 - 4
    6 - 4
    7 - 5
    8 - 3
    9 - 1
    10 - 3
    11 - 4
    12 - 4
    Expand
  10. Jun 5, 2016
    6
    não é o melhor, nem o pior, tal cantora que somente pegou um tema polemico, e quis colocar em um album pra "causar" algumas musicas como "Don't hurt yourself" e "Sorry" salva o album, mas sem duvida "Formation" salva o album de uma cantora que assina as musicas mesmo sem escreve-lás
  11. Oct 25, 2016
    5
    how beautiful album it is but i cant give 10 points because she has used sample for all album it is unfair isnt it? there are so many singers make own music i hope one day beyonce will do it
  12. May 29, 2020
    6
    the media is in a joint psychosis deluding themselves into thinking that this is best album of all time. Its okay! I liked it!
  13. Sep 23, 2016
    5
    Well produced album, good message even though some of them aren't really "real", good lyrics (thanks to the team behind this part), but bland at the most literal word.
  14. Aug 29, 2020
    4
    Vamos ser honestos, vamos ser verdadeiros, Beyoncé perdeu um pouco de sua essência, hoje ela não é nada mais que fantoche da mídia, lançando o que os outros querem, se caso não lançar ela seria cancelada, o álbum '4' supera esse mil vezes, um álbum versátil, o que não vi nesse, traz uma Beyoncé raivosa, uma coisa que eu acredito que ela não seja, expondo sua traição com Jay Z e no fimVamos ser honestos, vamos ser verdadeiros, Beyoncé perdeu um pouco de sua essência, hoje ela não é nada mais que fantoche da mídia, lançando o que os outros querem, se caso não lançar ela seria cancelada, o álbum '4' supera esse mil vezes, um álbum versátil, o que não vi nesse, traz uma Beyoncé raivosa, uma coisa que eu acredito que ela não seja, expondo sua traição com Jay Z e no fim ficar por isso mesmo.

    Faixas que me agradam 'Formation', 'Sorry' e 'Freedom', mas o resto não vejo nada demais.
    No fim das contas vemos a mudança nas músicas, o fim das divas pop e a procura de álbuns com conceito que geralmente são bem plásticos, a nova regra da indústria cultural; não se enganem achando que o álbum só porque se esconde atrás de conceito e cultura não seja mais um produto lançado em massa.
    Expand
  15. Aug 3, 2019
    6
    It's an ok album. There are several good songs but none of them are really spectacular. I don't see how Formation fits with the breakup theme on this album.
  16. Jul 25, 2020
    5
    Lemonade is a brilliantly crafted cohesive album that takes it’s audience through the various stages of a relationship. The vulnerability and candor is different than that of Self-Titled, this feels more like an actual window into Beyoncé’s personal life like never before. After exposing her marriages deepest issues, the mending and spiritual healing begins. This film hones Beyoncé’sLemonade is a brilliantly crafted cohesive album that takes it’s audience through the various stages of a relationship. The vulnerability and candor is different than that of Self-Titled, this feels more like an actual window into Beyoncé’s personal life like never before. After exposing her marriages deepest issues, the mending and spiritual healing begins. This film hones Beyoncé’s storytelling through visuals. An amazing body of art. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Q Magazine
    May 31, 2016
    80
    Lemonade hits hard. Beyonce has chosen to portray herself like this, and those choices are bold, powerful and at times, properly shocking. [#361, p.110]
  2. Uncut
    May 24, 2016
    90
    Never short on vocal confidence, here, she trades divadom for arresting, unconventional shapes. [Jul 2016, p.69]
  3. May 12, 2016
    89
    By effortlessly topping her own best work. Lemonade now sets a new standard for cross-genre collaboration.