• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 6 out of 74

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Brian
    Dec 20, 2005
    7
    Naked Let it Be is better than the original Let it Be but that's not saying much. The original Let it Be is the worst and only Beatles album not worth the money. The band was breaking up, the songs were left in scraps unfinished. Let it Be was not given much TLC to begin with so how could cleaning it up make it that much better. The bonus fly on the wall CD is disappointing Naked Let it Be is better than the original Let it Be but that's not saying much. The original Let it Be is the worst and only Beatles album not worth the money. The band was breaking up, the songs were left in scraps unfinished. Let it Be was not given much TLC to begin with so how could cleaning it up make it that much better. The bonus fly on the wall CD is disappointing considering the volume of unreleased material from these sessions. Expand
  2. SamD
    Oct 3, 2005
    2
    whateva its the beatles again. they are so overrated. they have some great stuff, and some way overrated stuff. plus how high were they when these albums were recorded?
  3. PaulH
    Jul 11, 2005
    0
    B.S.
  4. ByronJ.
    Aug 9, 2009
    2
    The new mix sounds terrible. It IS Let It Be ... Naked, naked of all atmosphere that is!
  5. ChadS
    Apr 20, 2005
    9
    The stripped-down approach diminishes "The Long and Winding Road" and "Let it Be", but "Across the Universe" by itself, makes this Lucasian project worthwhile. This new version of "Across the Universe" sounds like a song Sam Phillips wishes she wrote. And "Get Back", with the drums brought more to the front, reminds me of Talking Heads' "Road to Nowhere". Like Stephen King slamming The stripped-down approach diminishes "The Long and Winding Road" and "Let it Be", but "Across the Universe" by itself, makes this Lucasian project worthwhile. This new version of "Across the Universe" sounds like a song Sam Phillips wishes she wrote. And "Get Back", with the drums brought more to the front, reminds me of Talking Heads' "Road to Nowhere". Like Stephen King slamming Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining", it speaks volumes about McCartney's ego to treat such a prominent artist like a hack. Only an obsessive Beatles fan would grouse over the production values of "Let it Be" and "The Long and Winding Road" as being too busy. Expand
  6. PaulF
    Nov 20, 2003
    7
    Not quite as advertized. Still contains many "Specterized" elements, most notably the opening to "I Dig a Pony". Too many crossfades on the second disk and they cut away from the music too quickly (we are teased with openings of "Child of Nature" and "All Things Must Pass", only to have them quickly faded out.) And why is the second disk a single 20 minute track? Having now heard the Not quite as advertized. Still contains many "Specterized" elements, most notably the opening to "I Dig a Pony". Too many crossfades on the second disk and they cut away from the music too quickly (we are teased with openings of "Child of Nature" and "All Things Must Pass", only to have them quickly faded out.) And why is the second disk a single 20 minute track? Having now heard the original version of this album, as well as this remixed attempt, as well as the many takes from Anthology 3 and the Glyn Johns edit (available by import) to say nothing of the many bootlegs available, I'm starting to find the many versions of these songs as tedious as George and John did in 1969. Expand
  7. mattp
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    a lot of bands in the world should be thanking these guys by buying this cd. definitely one of the coolest releases of this year or any.brilliant stuff abounds, stripped to its bare minimum. the inclusion of don't let me down is great and i like a long and winding road a lot more. across the universe is equally haunting. elegiac and ultimately hopeful. innocent yet jejune. surely the a lot of bands in the world should be thanking these guys by buying this cd. definitely one of the coolest releases of this year or any.brilliant stuff abounds, stripped to its bare minimum. the inclusion of don't let me down is great and i like a long and winding road a lot more. across the universe is equally haunting. elegiac and ultimately hopeful. innocent yet jejune. surely the qualifications of a masterpiece. my personal favourite. george harrison is sweet throughout. Expand
  8. TristramC
    Nov 25, 2003
    9
    Let It Be has never been one of my favorite Beatles albums. This release though breathes new life into the record. Spector's embellishments sound great the first time you hear them but they haven't aged well. During the video, The Compleat Beatles there is a clip of George Martin quoting Paul during the production of Penny Lane as "not wanting any of that Mantavani rubbish" and Let It Be has never been one of my favorite Beatles albums. This release though breathes new life into the record. Spector's embellishments sound great the first time you hear them but they haven't aged well. During the video, The Compleat Beatles there is a clip of George Martin quoting Paul during the production of Penny Lane as "not wanting any of that Mantavani rubbish" and that is really what Spector through on Long and Winding Road and Across the Universe especially. Despite the tough year he is having, no one challenges Spector's genius over his career. It is possible though that the marriage of his to the Beatles' Let It Be wasn't a good fit. It is good to hear the album as at least Paul intended. Expand
  9. GerryZ
    Dec 4, 2003
    7
    Across the Universe and the addition of Don't Let Me Down are highlights. The Long and Winding Road is still 'The Long and Winded Song' even without Phil Spector's enhancements. Nothing else sounds significantly different from the original releases.
  10. ManoloC
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    The real. The Let It Be.
  11. GaryW
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    Although a fine record, which still contains great songs, the updated version of "let it be" has missed the entire point of the original albums concept and focus. A clean, straigt-foward album was not what the Beatles originally intended, but i suppose now that the 60's have faded away along with the psychodelic drugs, they decided to clean up the album, just as they cleaned up all Although a fine record, which still contains great songs, the updated version of "let it be" has missed the entire point of the original albums concept and focus. A clean, straigt-foward album was not what the Beatles originally intended, but i suppose now that the 60's have faded away along with the psychodelic drugs, they decided to clean up the album, just as they cleaned up all the drugs they were on (or perhaps not enough drugs led to the creative downfall..hmmm...no one will ever know...). Expand
  12. BenJ
    Dec 11, 2003
    7
    An average album finally made in to a good one! Definitely worth checking out!
  13. torreydunn
    Jan 19, 2004
    9
    I cant dthis is the greatest album, but it is a nice twist on let it be. I miss the old long and winding road, and I agree with the person that mentioned fly on the wall being 1 track. but its all good. 9/10 because Ive heard it 100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 times already... very nice
  14. ANDREWM
    Oct 21, 2004
    4
    Bring back SPECTOR... C'mon people, he was brought in cause this sounded dull and needed the SPECTOR kick... And its true,this just needs more oomph!! Its like the sex without the foreplay!! Its just good, not great!
  15. Alex
    Oct 23, 2004
    8
    I think some of the "experts" here have given this album too low a score. Removing much of Spector's work gives important insight into the original form of the album. Did Spector's editing ultimately add to or enhance it? Well, that depends on what you consider good music. The so-called "Wall of Sound" was innovative in its era, but it was a definite departure from typical I think some of the "experts" here have given this album too low a score. Removing much of Spector's work gives important insight into the original form of the album. Did Spector's editing ultimately add to or enhance it? Well, that depends on what you consider good music. The so-called "Wall of Sound" was innovative in its era, but it was a definite departure from typical Beatles. Some critics have said that Spector's editing "completed" McCartney's work. I really doubt that. One of my favorites on this album is the live version of "Don't Let Me Down", a song that has never been given the high marks it deserves. (Ok, the lyrics aren't amazing compared to some other Beatles stuff, but Billy Preston's keyboard work alone should make you tingle.). The version on this album was from the notable-yet-also-overrated "Rooftop Concert" of January 1969. It's not superior to the studio version, but it's raw and God knows there were too many bootlegs around of the song prior to the Anthology series. I bought this album largely to get my hands on this gem. =) Expand
  16. StephanieH
    Apr 3, 2004
    10
    This cd is awesome. It shows what the Beatles were really thinking at the end. It makes me extremly upset that people can't see that, but that's their own problem. Thank you to those of you who re-did the album. :)
  17. JanineP
    Jun 16, 2004
    9
    I really love this album. It sounds so perfect retouched and I can almost imagine the boys standing in front of me playing. Now Let It Be is one of my fave albums.
  18. JonH
    Jun 7, 2004
    0
    this isn't the real let it be at all, it's just what paul wanted, and it doesn't come close to the original.
  19. AbbeyRoad
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    It's a Beatles album, what more can I say but: Brilliant.
  20. MarkW
    May 24, 2005
    0
    A few interesting re-productions, a whole lot of worthless filler. It's good to hear the film version of "The Long and Winding Road" (different from Anthology 3) and a stripped-down version of "Across The Universe," both virtually unembellished, but the rest is pretty dumb. Yeah, everything's remixed to be grittier, but so what? "Get Back" is basically the same as the single, A few interesting re-productions, a whole lot of worthless filler. It's good to hear the film version of "The Long and Winding Road" (different from Anthology 3) and a stripped-down version of "Across The Universe," both virtually unembellished, but the rest is pretty dumb. Yeah, everything's remixed to be grittier, but so what? "Get Back" is basically the same as the single, except it loses the coda, which is a mistake. "Dig A Pony," "For You Blue," "Two Of Us," and "One After 909" are cleaned-up but pretty much the same performance. "I've Got A Feeling" awkwardly goes back and forth between the two rooftop takes. "Don't Let Me Down" is an inferior performance. "I Me Mine" is like the Anthology 3 version but edited for length. "Let It Be" is the single version with less production but has the weak guitar solo Harrison hated (he recorded two different solos to replace it, both of which are better - one was used for the single, one for the Spector-produced album) and the background vocals are swamped in echo so they sound out of place. Finally, the 'fly-in-the-wall' disc is a waste. It doesn't even use the best, most entertaining outtakes/chatter. So you have those two interesting remixes, but it's not enough to justify this purchase. Expand
  21. GeoffM.S
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    The original Let It Be has been my favourite Beatle album for the last 15 years. McCartney is very fair with his involement on this project. This is how he thought it should be. I have to say though the Spector's work improved, LWR. The high mark deserves this. It was their last album!
  22. ShaneM
    May 11, 2006
    10
    This re-issue of the let it be album is a tighter album, with the inclusion of Don't Let Me Down,which is a excellent track.The tracks been stripped bare and most of the tracks benefit from it,TLAWR,ATU and IMM.These three tracks are stripped back to its original idea.This album sounds much more like a studio album,more like a George Martin album,rather than a Phil Spector album.
  23. JohnL
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    It doesn't get any more "10" than this folks !!! If this had really been released during the year it came out, it would have easily been the best album of the year. As far as the comparisons with the original go... I love that "Don't Let Me Down" is included here (great to have this live rooftop version, but I still prefer the other one), as it should have been on the original. It doesn't get any more "10" than this folks !!! If this had really been released during the year it came out, it would have easily been the best album of the year. As far as the comparisons with the original go... I love that "Don't Let Me Down" is included here (great to have this live rooftop version, but I still prefer the other one), as it should have been on the original. The new stripped down "Across the Universe" may be the best version yet (there are now 4 versions out there of what I consider as high a water as the greatest band of all time ever had), and stands out as the CD's best moment. "I Me Mine" is greatly improved here without all the string/horn overdubs (it was Spectors worst work on this project), while still retaining it's artificial lenthening (a wise Spector touch). "Let it Be", and "The Long and Winding Road" are both strippped down here as well, and come off great. Those two tracks, and McCartney's lasting resentment about them, are the real reason for this release. to be honest, while I understand prefering the barer versions, I really thought that Spector's choices for the McCartney tunes could have been callled heavy handed, but to my ears they really were melodic and truly worked. Holy crap listen to McCartney's own rearrangement of Long & Winding on his awful Broad Street album if you want to hear something truly inappropriate ond disateroud(sound like Macca Las Vegas). My only dissapointment is that I miss the ripping, non-effects laden, solo that appeared on the album (though not the single) version of the title track (George initially recorded both of them overdubbed, and that combo has never been released-which is what I'd hoped they'd finally do here, alas...-one for the bootleggers to handle I guess). The rest is pretty darn similar, some minor differences version wise/sonically, but no as severe as the aforementioned track that received the Spector treatments. I do like having the little humerous asides, and shorter goofy works, but this does feel more like an album proper. Magical Mystery Tour was a collection of other stuff from '67 (why the other '67 material available, eventually released on Yellow Submarine, hasn't been added by now as bonus tracks is beyond me) and soundtrack and song for song it certainy stand up to Pepper. Let it Be Like the aforementioned, MMT, has been overlooked by many. Again song for song it certainly is the equal of what came before it (The White Album), and what came after (Abbey Road). While this isn't as big a deal as it's being hyped to be, as far as the differences are concerned, BUT...It is a big deal because it takes what was a criminally underated, and overlooked work by the greatest band of all time, and brings it bak to light. That is a welcome fact, and this is worth a listen in any incarnation. Expand
  24. MarilynS
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    This christmas I bought volume I box set of the Beatles songs for a 16 year of girl. Sixteen and she is just mesmerized by them. The clerk that waited on me in the music store laughed and said they were good for their time. I Iooked at him and smiled and thought what an idiot. They were the then and are now. Thank you, Paul, Ringo, John and George.
  25. JoeS
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    The sound is clean & natural. Performances more lively than the hideous Spector version. Hope they release the complete Hollywood Bowl concerts and the Xmas Album on CD this year.
  26. PrestonJ
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    People have missed the point of the album... which was to give us what the beatles intended for release to the masses, not what the studio and Label added to already perfect songs... This album is the epitome of everything beatles... Clean flawless LIVE recordings that pushed the bounds of what people thought was possible with music at the time...
  27. JohnW.
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Sheesh ! This would easily have been the best album if it was released in 2003 !!!! IMHO it truly does stand up to "Abbey Road" (also recorded in '69) but in a totally different way; just as The White Album stands up with Sgt. Pepper. I really like most of what has been done here (especially "Across The Universe"- though I like all the other versions as well, this may be the best Sheesh ! This would easily have been the best album if it was released in 2003 !!!! IMHO it truly does stand up to "Abbey Road" (also recorded in '69) but in a totally different way; just as The White Album stands up with Sgt. Pepper. I really like most of what has been done here (especially "Across The Universe"- though I like all the other versions as well, this may be the best one). I can't imagine encountering a band in this decade that could stack up such a collection of varied and exciting songs !!! Expand
  28. G
    Dec 10, 2008
    8
    An excellent redefinition of Let it Be. Essential for musicians and hardcore Beatles fans, but adding almost nothing, in terms of historical contribution, to the original Let it Be. The musical and deep concept of the original album is still there, but the minor, but important, modifications on The Long, Across and in the overral mixing and mastering (the major problem in the orginal - An excellent redefinition of Let it Be. Essential for musicians and hardcore Beatles fans, but adding almost nothing, in terms of historical contribution, to the original Let it Be. The musical and deep concept of the original album is still there, but the minor, but important, modifications on The Long, Across and in the overral mixing and mastering (the major problem in the orginal - poor Spector...), brings a new whole idea of Beatles tunes, instrumental & technical approaches, clean vocals, sunny harmonies and even a fresh sense of continuity. Still a 9! Come on lame critics, give it a chance... ps: The second disc? Pure waste of time. Expand
  29. TimTimothy
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    Pure brilliance from start to finish.
  30. EdwinB
    Aug 4, 2009
    8
    Yeah, not really necessary - as a hardcore Beatles fan I don't find myself going back to it very often - it's not the original! The sequencing of the original was superior I think, with "Two Of Us" as the opener. "Don't Let Me Down" is one of my top five Beatles' songs though; get on Youtube and watch the rooftop clip from the movie.
  31. deucejake
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    I wanna hear the cannon
  32. PaulTheMan
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Whoever says that the beatles are overated should not even vote. I love this album because its raw, Phil Spector was the one who added all the stuff in the original album, so Let it Be naked is what the Beatles would want the album to be. And Sam D doesn't know what he/she is talking about. Creative bands have creativity, their not just on drugs all the damn time. You need to get a Whoever says that the beatles are overated should not even vote. I love this album because its raw, Phil Spector was the one who added all the stuff in the original album, so Let it Be naked is what the Beatles would want the album to be. And Sam D doesn't know what he/she is talking about. Creative bands have creativity, their not just on drugs all the damn time. You need to get a lesson in creativity. Expand
  33. JonathanF
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Admittedly, I am a "hardcore" Beatles fan. But when I heard "Naked" (a terrible and almost immediately dated title, by the way), I realized that the reason I had never cared much for "Let It Be" had to do with the production, not the performances. For me, it was revelatory. The clear, crisp production and mixing made all the difference in the world. Thanks to the team that put it together!
  34. S.C.M
    Dec 12, 2003
    5
    It is my personal opinion that the Spector produced "Long & Winding Road" is way more intense & emotional than the version on 'Naked'. I think Paul should spend his time in other useful ways beside jeopardizing the legacy & the catalog of the Beatles.
  35. DaveB
    Dec 21, 2003
    9
    This is a classic album now. The band can be accurately heard as the tight little unit they were. The remix engineers can be proud of their contribution to history. Those that like to display their ignorance will continue to say that a] they think this is a pointless album, and b] Paul is trying to take over. Let them bleat. Now - I'd love to hear the White Album given an unchanged This is a classic album now. The band can be accurately heard as the tight little unit they were. The remix engineers can be proud of their contribution to history. Those that like to display their ignorance will continue to say that a] they think this is a pointless album, and b] Paul is trying to take over. Let them bleat. Now - I'd love to hear the White Album given an unchanged remixed by the same team. Expand
  36. LasseF.S
    Dec 26, 2003
    5
    They can't beat Phil Spector's version. Sorry. He did a great job with Let It Be. Nobody can make Dont Let Me Down sound better than he did - nobody! Producers are'nt there just for fun; and producing ain't easy. That's "Let It Be ... Naked" a livin' proof of. Should it'd been made? I'm not sure. I give it 4 - one for each beatle. And none for the They can't beat Phil Spector's version. Sorry. He did a great job with Let It Be. Nobody can make Dont Let Me Down sound better than he did - nobody! Producers are'nt there just for fun; and producing ain't easy. That's "Let It Be ... Naked" a livin' proof of. Should it'd been made? I'm not sure. I give it 4 - one for each beatle. And none for the "Naked producers". Expand
  37. SteeJ
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    At last it's a fitting memorial. Better than Abbey Road, Lennon & Mc Cartney actually sound as though they've written it together, they sing together, they enjoy it together. The Harrison tracks are FAB too. Leave Spector to the judge.
  38. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    By stripping away Spector's overdubs, Let It Be...Naked captures the spirit of these songs better than the original version. Even though this is one of the weaker Beatles albums it still makes for great, if not essential, listening.
  39. j30
    Nov 27, 2011
    5
    This is just all wrong. It feels like a big scam. I would give this a zero if it wasn't The Beatles
  40. Jul 8, 2017
    9
    The last album released by the Fab Four get revisited here by McCartney and stripped of Phil Spector's wall of sound. I think the results are fantastic and this projects shows that these songs really didn't need to be smothered by production. Stripped of the syrup, with alternative sequencing and the inclusion of the ridiculously good "Don't Let Me Down", "Let It Be" is finally elevatedThe last album released by the Fab Four get revisited here by McCartney and stripped of Phil Spector's wall of sound. I think the results are fantastic and this projects shows that these songs really didn't need to be smothered by production. Stripped of the syrup, with alternative sequencing and the inclusion of the ridiculously good "Don't Let Me Down", "Let It Be" is finally elevated to be on par with the rest of the bands work. Expand
  41. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    The album as a whole sounds far better without all the post-production vocal crap added on the original album. The stripped down, bare vocals sound far better and so does the music. Would definitely recommend buying it.
  42. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    Vocals are clearer, Harrison's guitars included, drums sound amazing. The whole thing feels warm and real. I have always felt that Spector's take sounded like a bootleg on steroids. Now I can actually hear the Beatles. Paul was right from the beginning.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Though it is still faithful to much of the feel of Let It Be, the presentation of Naked, including the slight bits of modern-day editing, reveals that it is revisionist history, not the final word. Which doesn't hurt it as a record -- these are great songs, after all -- but it is a bit disappointing that this long-awaited project wasn't executed with a little more care and respect for the historical record.
  2. Hearing the bare-bones "Across the Universe" or a de-orchestrated "The Long and Winding Road" is revelatory.
  3. Casual fans, however, will wonder what all the fuss was about; novices should still get the original.