• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: May 22, 2007
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    Because their energy matches their vision, they've managed to make the best record of their career thus far. [Jun 2007, p.148]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    There's no denying the galvanic power of singer Bert McCracken's blowtorch vocals. [25 May 2007, p.84]
  3. Lies for the Liars is a funny, befuddling, and altogether unexpectedly enjoyable record.
  4. Never a dull moment then, but a little consistency would go a long way for The Used.
  5. After a while, the surfeit of ideas starts to sound like a lack. But the choruses are as effective as ever.
  6. Even if Lies for the Liars has the appearance of a crossover album, a la The Black Parade, it doesn't have the substance.
  7. Blender
    60
    The Used remain best when dripping with sweat, not sentiment. [Jun 2007, p.108]
  8. Spin
    60
    While the Used honestly want to move away from their time-tested sound, the experiments come off as unfocused and confused. [May 2007, p.90]
  9. The band now find themselves caught between soft rock and a very hard-to-love place indeed.
  10. An album of the same-old, same-old.
  11. It seems as if they've done everything possible to distance themselves from their original, much more interesting sound, opting instead for songs with barely enough hooks and coherent structures.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 57
  2. Negative: 13 out of 57
  1. Dec 19, 2015
    9
    This album is a rather odd case. On one hand, I only enjoy 9/11 (or 10/12 including Pain) of the tracks on the album, which brings it down aThis album is a rather odd case. On one hand, I only enjoy 9/11 (or 10/12 including Pain) of the tracks on the album, which brings it down a bit. But the songs that I do like are among my top picks when it comes to songs, which boosts the score a bit. The songs on the album can be grouped into three categories: fast, medium, and slow. The fast songs on the album are The Ripper, Hospital, Wake The Dead, and Liar Liar (Burn In Hell) (also Pain if we include it). The medium songs are Pretty Handsome Awkward, The Bird and the Worm, Paralyzed, and With Me Tonight. The slow songs are Find A Way and Smother Me. The funny thing is that the two slower tracks are the ones I don't like. So verdict: The Used is great with fast and medium songs on this album, but needs to work on their slower songs Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    If there's one problem I have with this album, it's that the styles and sounds keep randomly changing, which does get irritating at times, butIf there's one problem I have with this album, it's that the styles and sounds keep randomly changing, which does get irritating at times, but otherwise, this album is definitely worth it. One of the best albums of 2007. Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    As bad as many thought it would be, Lies For The Liars continues The Used's great album artwork but that is about it. Apart from 'Find a Way',As bad as many thought it would be, Lies For The Liars continues The Used's great album artwork but that is about it. Apart from 'Find a Way', and 'The Ripper' little remains from their 2004 release, and what is left becomes a mixed bag of overwrought emotion and less energetic rip-offs of prior hits. Disappointing. Full Review »