• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Lose Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the New York indie rock band led by Joseph D'Agostino was produced by John Agnello.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Barsuk
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Experimental Rock
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Pennants stiffen on the strip Wind is whipping through the tinsel Fixed to the dealership And you're looking mighty ghostly Just like Bowie on Soul... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    Each of the nine songs here (this album, unlike Why There Are Mountains or Lenses Alien, feels less like a suite and more like a collection of individual songs working together toward a theme) merits extensive and attentive lyrical consideration, though such an analysis deserves a treatment not feasible in a standard-length review.
  2. 85
    Cymbals Eat Guitars certainly have done right with LOSE; it’s an impeccably beaten, teary-eyed but smiling document to a frighteningly exhilarating time of one’s life and beacon to march onward--momentous to anyone in their 20s, and even us still neurotic old guys.
  3. 83
    The band may love the sounds of Built to Spill and Superchunk a little too much, but they’re also far too adventurous to settle for apery, least of all on LOSE. It’s their best work yet.
  4. Alternative Press
    Aug 20, 2014
    It all makes for a remarkable, incredibly moving piece of work. [Sep 2014, p.106]
  5. Magnet
    Sep 18, 2014
    This third LP corrals sophomore sprawler Lenses Alien without killing its spirit. [No. 113, p.53]
  6. Aug 25, 2014
    The band swings for the fences with the first two songs.
  7. Aug 26, 2014
    Handspringing between the rowdy folk-punk antics of "XR" and the sweetly sordid "Child Bride," it's a riveting elegy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 18, 2014
    This album has gone criminally unheard by the rock world. As someone who listens to 150-200 new records every year, this is one of the bestThis album has gone criminally unheard by the rock world. As someone who listens to 150-200 new records every year, this is one of the best I've heard in the last 2-3 years. There are subtle stylistic shifts from song to song, but they piece together incredibly well. I'm not a lyrics guy, but this is a record whose lyrics deserve a close look. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2018
    Sprawling, passionate, and catchy - what more could you want from an Indie record?
  3. May 8, 2020
    Other than the drums being a little too open sounding this album is beautiful. Get the lyric book and settle into the layers of the guitar.