• Record Label: Rhino
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2018

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 19, 2018
    Loving the Alien--despite some truly cringe-inducing moments--is an enjoyable look back at when David Bowie put on his red shoes and danced the blues.
  2. Oct 16, 2018
    The fascinating thing about Loving the Alien is how it makes this period seem more interesting than the individual albums, and that's entirely due to the dance mixes, ephemera, and awkward live material. On these byways, it's possible to hear Bowie grapple with both his past and present in a hungry fashion and that desperation is alien to Bowie, so an immersion into this unease makes for compelling listening.
  3. Mojo
    Oct 11, 2018
    The box set's main selling point is the inclusion of a completely different version of Never Let Me Down, recorded posthumously. [Nov 2018, p.100]
  4. Oct 11, 2018
    While few would suggest that there’s material here rivalling Bowie’s 70s peak, there are more than enough elegant, standout moments. You may not exactly fall in love with it, but you’ll certainly strongly admire the work here.
  5. Dec 6, 2018
    Original remixes are collected as Dance, though non-album singles, edits, B-sides, and soundtrack inclusions collected as Re:Call 4 deliver a stronger curio, including the gloomy "This Is Not America" with the Pat Metheny Group and a soft rock remix of "Loving the Alien."
  6. Oct 31, 2018
    The Loving the Alien reissue displays Bowie's true showmanship in the studio and onstage--with live reworkings of album tracks, one can get a sense of how Bowie approached the storied performance component of his career.
  7. Oct 22, 2018
    Loving the Alien offers a reset for listeners--to hear these albums fresh, liberated from their composer’s dismissive opinions.
  8. Uncut
    Oct 11, 2018
    The LPs collected here lack the punch of his previous efforts. But they do have their charms. ... Most revealing are two live LPs, from '83 and '87, that show an artist reconsidering his old hits--and his old selves--for new fans. [Nov 2018, p.45]
  9. 70
    Let’s Dance is the highlight of this 11- disc compilation which finds Bowie moving from that high point to some of his most unsatisfactory, misguided, uninspired and at times even embarrassing music (the ear-wincing Mick Jagger duet on “Dancing in the Streets,” anyone?). ... Two more discs of 1987’s Glass Spider tour with Peter Frampton on guitar document a successful jaunt where Bowie rescued some of the newer material in a flashy, elaborate, well received live show. A Dance platter of extended 12 mixes included here is for diehards only and the fourth volume of Re: Call collects another two platters of rarities, single edits, hard to find live tracks and the like.
  10. 50
    Padded out with uneven live albums, indifferent remixes and anodyne film soundtrack songs, this 120-track package makes for depressingly arid listening in places. That said, no anthology that includes the heart-soaring Absolute Beginners or the high-gloss Let’s Dance can be considered a total wash-out.

There are no user reviews yet.