User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
LP.8 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

  • Summary: The latest full-length release for Welsh electronic artist Kelly Lee Owens was created in Oslo with Lasse Marhaug.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Smalltown Supersound
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Indie Electronic, Experimental Techno, Experimental Electronic
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Uncut
    May 20, 2022
    As thrilling as it is unexpected. [Jul 2022, p.30]
  2. May 10, 2022
    It's a much less linear journey than we would expect from Owens, but it's also a welcome shift, an intriguing pivot from the very human themes of Inner Song. This time around, she invites the listener to wade through the fascinating depths of her imagination. It's hard not to close your eyes and surrender to the figure-eight flow.
  3. Mojo
    May 18, 2022
    Beautifully black. [Jul 2022, p.88]
  4. Apr 28, 2022
    On LP.8, Owens draws from different, seemingly contradictory mystical energies, creating music that challenges and shocks as much as it soothes.
  5. May 3, 2022
    While it's hard not to succumb to the subtle disappointment inherent in hearing an artist you love make such a sudden shift in sound, beyond that initial disappointment is an album that is the artist’s maturest to date. An album that is, somehow, equal-parts icy and warm; which progresses, despite this contrast, with an ease that is masterful; and which, inevitably, leaves me curious and yearning for LPs 3-7.
  6. 70
    LP.8 is certainly roomier than Owens’ previous work. More directed at dedicated dance-heads, more suited to the durgy decrepitude of basement dancefloors, and more abstract in its approach. But LP.8 provides further evidence that Kelly Lee Owens operates in a field entirely of her own.
  7. Jun 7, 2022
    It certainly seems like a work-in-progress, a warts-and-all steppingstone to something better yet to be realised – sadly, it's also the first time Owens has sounded like anyone other than herself.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 18, 2022
    Lovely departure from the previous two albums. An insular, furious, lush, angry, divine collection of tracks free of melody and structure.Lovely departure from the previous two albums. An insular, furious, lush, angry, divine collection of tracks free of melody and structure. This electric entry will turn off a few of her previous fans, but others will lean into this dense and textured post-Covid howl. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2022
    A more challenging album than inner songs, but no the worse for that. Sparser in feel, with a harsher edge. Once I got into it, excellent