User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 510
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2023
    9
    brought me to tears many times, what a beautiful album, such a new sound. i always love FKA twigs' lyrics, so full of pain, anger, disgesting love and trying to come back up again. her voice is really smthg, she's one of my favorite artists when it comes to just drowning you in emotions, and especially in this album with Home With You.
  2. Mar 24, 2023
    10
    ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎
  3. Jan 3, 2023
    10
    A true masterpiece, this albums is very sad but also empowering at the same time.
  4. Nov 20, 2022
    9
    This album is amazing. Everything from the production to the lyricism to twigs' haunting vocals to the Biblical references throughout and the way twigs relates herself to Mary Magdalene while also dealing with a breakup was amazing. The genre bending sound of the album and twigs' vulnerability and honesty make this one of the best albums from 2019. An amazing piece of work.
  5. Oct 9, 2022
    10
    2 albums in and FKA Twigs is already starting to prove herself as one of the greats in her generation with her album Magdalene. By the way, that Cellophane video is crazy but incredible.
  6. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    FKA twigs is one of the best artist in the 2010s! Rolling Stone only gave this album 80 points! Objectively speaking, 100 points are too little. It deserves to be selected in the rolling stone's 500 greatest albums! But it doesn't matter. Rolling Stone has been regarded as a joke by music fans now.
  7. Aug 22, 2022
    9
    Amo este álbum fka enrealidad creo una pieza de arte de la que todos se van a acordar
  8. Jul 15, 2022
    10
    AOTY 2019. What an artist!!!

    She has grown a lot from her LP1. Queeeeeeeennnnn
  9. Mar 18, 2022
    10
    MAGDALENE is too good a recording job for me, each of the songs makes you explore different atmospheres, in addition to its lyrics allowing us to discover our emotions in different stages or circumstances, it really is a piece of art.
  10. Jan 4, 2022
    9
    1.-excellent production and well polished lyrics
    2.-MAGDALENE is proof that left-field artists like FKA twigs can put accessible efforts and still resulting with greatness.
  11. Dec 3, 2021
    9
    A stunning album with incredible, deep lyrics and transcendent vocals… modern masterpiece
  12. Aug 27, 2021
    10
    amazing lyrics, amazing production. sounds very experimental, yet somehow familiar. it's a whole vibe !
  13. Apr 16, 2021
    10
    Fka twigs merece más reconocimiento, pese a tener sólo dos álbumes y un par de EP's ha demostrado ser lo suficientemente buena para pertenecer a las ligas mayores y MAGDALENE reafirma lo que digo al respecto.
  14. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    wow, this album is a full journey as we feel the raw emotions of twigs herself. Carried by the beautiful production!
  15. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    MAGDALENE is the most different album I've ever heard, and so I was surprised by its content. Nevertheless, this beautiful body of work grew up on me in an intense and fast way. I was captivated. 100/100. Congratulations, FKA twigs!
  16. Mar 11, 2021
    10
    An honest masterpiece curated by an immortal artist. This album resonates with me in so many levels even until today. Twigs did this album superbly!
  17. Feb 10, 2021
    10
    This album is an experience so it makes sense many would be lost in it's complexity. She incorporated the growth shown in 'LP1' and 'Melissa Ep' and delivered an emotional amalgamation of both without repeating what they did best. Her silence came only musically as her life became thrust in the public during her high profile relationship with a certain sparkling vampire that evolved intoThis album is an experience so it makes sense many would be lost in it's complexity. She incorporated the growth shown in 'LP1' and 'Melissa Ep' and delivered an emotional amalgamation of both without repeating what they did best. Her silence came only musically as her life became thrust in the public during her high profile relationship with a certain sparkling vampire that evolved into an engagement that served to unravel the intrinsic racism of British tabloids ,media and society as she was harassed, humiliated and threatened. This trauma reminded her of the misogyny that roots all forms of discrimination, such as racism, to they biblical origins. The story of God's only son's wife:mary Magdalene. She's used as a conduit to address these issues(mary magdalene,home with you)even exploring the stress of the public eye which she makes literal in the ethereal opener. Her pain is the theme of this album:physical, emotional and natural. The stella "cellophane " is about her bought with embryonic cysts which she called her "fruit bowls" and the agony of the end of a relationship that took so much of your time. This is extended into the melancholy of "mirrored heart " and regressed to rage shock and disappointment in the peculiar (evenfor her)"fallen alien" where a break up is equivalent to being shipwrecked from a spaceship into unknown territory. This album is the breakdown of self into it's base pieces so the trauma can be simplified before it's processed. Favourites:home with you,mirrored heart,day bed,cellophane, sad day,fallen alien,holy terrain, mary magdalene **** did i type the entire tracklist, lol. ) Expand
  18. Dec 29, 2020
    10
    The album is a full experience. It can be interpreted as many things including an emotional outbreak, a spiritual quest etc. For me each one of the songs it contains is a masterpiece of each own. To my mind this is as good as art pop music gets.
  19. Dec 13, 2020
    8
    Short and powerfully striking, 'MAGDALENE' is that kind of album that take you by surprise, unexpected and blinding. This is surely the project I had to listen to the most in order to immerse myself deeply into it. It is not accessible to all but every effort you will put in its discovery will be rewarded.

    Electro parts weirdly fit with the pop art side of the album and are used to shed
    Short and powerfully striking, 'MAGDALENE' is that kind of album that take you by surprise, unexpected and blinding. This is surely the project I had to listen to the most in order to immerse myself deeply into it. It is not accessible to all but every effort you will put in its discovery will be rewarded.

    Electro parts weirdly fit with the pop art side of the album and are used to shed light on some words, emotions and/or situations. The way the music violently or smoothly summons our attention is brilliant. Structure and construction of the tracks are such that they make us embark unvoluntarily for an unforeseen trip in FKA twigs' mind and fights.

    There are so many intriging and amazing artists hiding in the shaows behind 'MAGDALENE': we can count on Skrillex, Cashmere Cat and benny blanco among others. The collaboration with Future on 'holy terrain' is as unexpected as dazzling and guts-taking. The fact that FKA twigs was able to bring out this emo side of Future says a lot about how the artist wanted her album to be.
    Expand
  20. Dec 7, 2020
    9
    With breathtaking vocal performances and irresistible production, FKA twigs offers (one of) the classiest albums of 2019.

    Favorite tracks: thousand eyes, home with you, sad day, mary magdalene, fallen alien, cellophane
    Least favorite tracks: daybed
  21. Oct 6, 2020
    10
    Perfeito, literalmente todas as músicas são boas e se conectam de um forma muito boa.
  22. Sep 2, 2020
    10
    A woman's work.. a woman's prerogative... (cantado por felipe).
    Isso aqui é ARTE. Obrigado por toda desgraça feita Robert Pattinson.. pra algo você deveria SERVIR.
    Finjo que holy terrain nao existe caso contrario desceria a nota pra 4
  23. Sep 2, 2020
    9
    primera vez escuchando un álbum de twigs, y no me arrepiento en lo absoluto. las canciones son simplemente magníficas, y el concepto junto con la portada son igual de asombrosos. las colaboraciones no se sienten forzadas y son adecuadas para las canciones. sin embargo, siento siento que algunas canciones no son lo suficientemente buenas, aún así creo es un álbum que puedes escuchar una yprimera vez escuchando un álbum de twigs, y no me arrepiento en lo absoluto. las canciones son simplemente magníficas, y el concepto junto con la portada son igual de asombrosos. las colaboraciones no se sienten forzadas y son adecuadas para las canciones. sin embargo, siento siento que algunas canciones no son lo suficientemente buenas, aún así creo es un álbum que puedes escuchar una y otra vez sin sentirse hostigado. mis canciones favoritas son a thousand eyes, holy terrain, cellophane, home with you, mary magdalene (Y LA MEJOR DE TODAS POR LA PUTAMADRE) y fallen alien Expand
  24. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Love, hate, strength, weakness: this album contains all the joy and pain of living in a body, and justice is done to that complexity by twigs and her 10 producer collaborators, who include Nicolas Jaar, Benny Blanco and Oneohtrix Point Never.
  25. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Unos de los mejores álbumes de fka twigs con sonidos muy buenos como nos tenía acostumbrado
  26. Jun 10, 2020
    10
    Simplesmente incrível, cinematográfico, arquetípico, bem produzido vocal, instrumental e visualmente. Twigs conseguiu expressar sua mensagem e conexão com a personagem histórica em cada detalhe e camada sonora do conjunto do álbum. Com destaque para "Home with you", onde ela a cada mudança instrumental ela mostra uma faceta de seus sentimentos e; "Mary Magdalene", que é de fato o pontoSimplesmente incrível, cinematográfico, arquetípico, bem produzido vocal, instrumental e visualmente. Twigs conseguiu expressar sua mensagem e conexão com a personagem histórica em cada detalhe e camada sonora do conjunto do álbum. Com destaque para "Home with you", onde ela a cada mudança instrumental ela mostra uma faceta de seus sentimentos e; "Mary Magdalene", que é de fato o ponto alto do álbum e na qual Twigs serve excelentes vocais e um catálogo rico de efeitos vocais e instrumentais, kick bem executados, percursoes distorcidas e sons de espada que ambientam a letra num cenário fora de qualquer coisa já produzida nesta década. Impecável Expand
  27. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    This album is called an electronic album, which I usually don’t like. But this one captivated me. The lyrics are deep and meaningful, and the melodies flow so well during the whole time. It’s an experience. I would give it a 9.5 because “daybed” wasn’t my favorite but I can only give it a 10.
  28. Apr 22, 2020
    10
    Beautiful voice mixed with a refined execution and mind-dazzling lyricism turned FKA Twigs' new album a masterpiece. The mix between experimental and R&B and electronica shows her amazing and unique persona and I couldn't be more proud
  29. Apr 13, 2020
    10
    masterpiece. what an AMAZING album. it is so emotional and twigs really knew what she was doing while working on this album. every track is beautifully produced and the lyrics are so detailed and beautifully written. i cant even put my feelings into words because this albums shakes me up each time i listen to it. my top 3 songs include holy terrain, mary magdalene, and sad day.
  30. Apr 11, 2020
    9
    I think the world is not ready to understad what Fka does, she is from other planet, is so strange and incredible, i love her.
  31. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    In MAGDALENE, FKA Twigs show how powerfull and emotional she can go through the music. Despite every track being a different experience, it still cohesive and complete.
    MVP: mary magdalene.
  32. Mar 27, 2020
    7
    esse album, ao meu ver, ele é ruim, pode ser q eu n sei diferenciar o que é bom pro que é ruim,, não é algo que me agrada
  33. Feb 13, 2020
    10
    MAGDALENE cannot be compressed in a single music genre or any time and place. It is art in its purest form.
  34. Feb 1, 2020
    8
    This is a great example of weird sounding but still accessible music. My only complaint is that I would like to hear more energy in FKA Twigs voice on some songs, but when it suits the song her quiet sad singing is unbeatable. Great release, now listen to it
  35. Jan 28, 2020
    10
    One of my favorite album releases of 2019 and I really enjoyed it and still do, she really did something with this album. Almost every single song had me feeling a certain kind of emotion whether it be good or bad. This album really spoke to me, in ways I didn't know. Glad I gave this album a shot and will be looking forward to more releases by her.
  36. Jan 28, 2020
    10
    is just amazing the whole work, everything that she made is absolutely amazing. Very contemporaneous too
  37. Jan 26, 2020
    10
    Such an amazing album. Twigs is at her peak with this beautiful album written from the heart. An emotional alternative r&b masterpiece with no duds.
  38. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    Es uno de los álbumes más hermosos que he escuchado desde hace mucho tiempo, su letra, su estructura, la combinación de sonidos, todo se junta y forma el arte que es Mary magdalene
  39. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    MAGDALENE es una de las mejores delicias del 2019; así como también una de las mejores joyas de la música. Mejoro su voz, su musicalidad y su genialidad, ¡Es magnifico!.
  40. Jan 15, 2020
    10
    Immaculate production coupled with compelling storytelling and stunning vocal performances makes this an absolute masterpiece.
  41. Dec 30, 2019
    10
    Original, revolutionary, very well produced and sung! Fantastic! One of the best of this year!
  42. Dec 26, 2019
    8
    Very brilliant mix of art pop, hip hop, and electronic music. FKA Twigs has continued to grow since her last record, looking forward to her future releases.
  43. Dec 21, 2019
    10
    FKA twigs takes us to the journey of exploring contemporary women's inner world with a magnificent album,which combines the religion and electronic elements perfectly.
  44. Dec 16, 2019
    10
    An exceptional album, which works through the pain, the losss and the revival (about what? You need to decide, once you need to understand what is this album about)
  45. Dec 7, 2019
    8
    A very good album obviously inspired by Bjork, but still having originality. Personally i think it gets boring after mary magdalene but gets saved by cellophane
  46. Dec 6, 2019
    9
    most likely to be in my top 5 albums of 2019, to say the least it was captivating and leeched on to every fibre of attention i have in my easily distracted body. a masterpiece, period.
  47. Nov 30, 2019
    10
    Masterpiece, Twigs’s best work to date period
  48. Nov 24, 2019
    10
    I have always wanted to and finally I have something to call a tour de force!
  49. Nov 23, 2019
    10
    Unique, emotional and lush, Twigs delivered one of the best albums of the year. Art at its finest.
  50. Nov 23, 2019
    10
    Intense, sensitive and intelligent. Very refreshing to see an artist being so vulnerable and translating it not only on the lyrical content but also on the visuals and the live performances. One of the best musical experiences of 2019.
  51. Nov 22, 2019
    10
    I usually review video games on this account. This is the first time I've reviewed a music album. I've only ever deviated from video games for like, maybe 2-3 movie reviews.

    Great album. Again, first music review, first album that made me care enough to do so. I love how she fluctuates from vulnerable to caretaker to ascendant to absolutely just wanting to show some skills on this
    I usually review video games on this account. This is the first time I've reviewed a music album. I've only ever deviated from video games for like, maybe 2-3 movie reviews.

    Great album. Again, first music review, first album that made me care enough to do so.

    I love how she fluctuates from vulnerable to caretaker to ascendant to absolutely just wanting to show some skills on this album.

    Real talk, I feel like I hear different nuances after still so many listens.

    Can't recommend more highly, it's really nice watching so much that seems so different come together so harmonically, yet there feels like there's a core, a story here, that's about something hard to define:

    Something distinctly feminine, abstract, wishful AND mournful. But also catchy as hell about 5-6 times throughout the album. The nuance guides you through what isn't just simple math, though.

    Enjoy!
    Expand
  52. Nov 19, 2019
    10
    It's really a great album! It's interesting and it is one of the best albums of 2019
  53. Nov 17, 2019
    8
    introspective and poetic lyrics expressed with tenacity over clunky and ambient electronic beats; it's a flawed but beautiful album with moments of sheer brilliance.
  54. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    My album of the year. In love, everytrack is amazing, raw and emotional, instrumentals are pure classic
  55. Nov 13, 2019
    7
    I'll start off by saying that this is a very good album. However, I feel like I'm listening to a completely different album from everyone else rating this thing a 10/10. Show anyone 'fallen alien' and I bet they wouldn't be able to get to the end of that song. it is trash. Thankfully, it is the only trash song on the album. 'cellophane' will go down as one of the best songs of the decadeI'll start off by saying that this is a very good album. However, I feel like I'm listening to a completely different album from everyone else rating this thing a 10/10. Show anyone 'fallen alien' and I bet they wouldn't be able to get to the end of that song. it is trash. Thankfully, it is the only trash song on the album. 'cellophane' will go down as one of the best songs of the decade and the intro track does a very good job of reintroducing someone to 'FKA Twigs' since she hasn't released an album in five years. Even though 'fallen alien' is the only trash song, there are still plenty of problems I still have with this album. It's aesthetic is grand and capable of providing an album of 60 minutes. Instead, it only grasps the 38 minute mark. I need more 'Twigs', I beg you! 'sad day' is another song that is pretty average. It's instrumental is great but 'Twigs' is a bit too repetitive, same with 'daybed' and 'mary magdalene'. 'Future' kinda ruins bits of 'holy terrain' but 'Twigs' performance on that track is amazing. Overall, it's hard to judge this album as some of these songs are amazing while others feel very repetitive. I hope 'Twigs' does not take another five years to release her next album and if 'Arca' could produce the next one that would be great too! Expand
  56. Nov 12, 2019
    10
    One thing !!! This is a master piece !!!! She deserves a Grammy right now... if you didn’t see her performance in Jimmy Fallon go watch it right now !!!!
  57. Nov 11, 2019
    10
    Quite possibly album of the year. Some of the production seriously reminds me of Melodrama and Masseduction. These 'M'-starting albums seem to be these three artist's magnum opus works. Insightful lyrics, interesting production, and a cohesive body of work.
  58. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    Nothing short of stunning - nothing short of extraordinary - nothing short of remarkable—MAGDALENE is unlike any album you’ll hear this year. It is bound by no genre, yet incredibly cohesive - its beats, melodies, and lyrics incredibly rich, theatric, dark, beautiful, and mystical. It echoes the somberness of a Del Rey record, as well as the avant-garde pop of Charli XCX and Grimes - andNothing short of stunning - nothing short of extraordinary - nothing short of remarkable—MAGDALENE is unlike any album you’ll hear this year. It is bound by no genre, yet incredibly cohesive - its beats, melodies, and lyrics incredibly rich, theatric, dark, beautiful, and mystical. It echoes the somberness of a Del Rey record, as well as the avant-garde pop of Charli XCX and Grimes - and strangely works as an unintentional companion to Nick Cave’s equally majestic Ghosteen. Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    This has to win a grammy, it's a masterpiece that cannot be ignored like that. Favorite tracks: thousand eyes, home with you, sad day, fallen alien, mirrored heart and cellophane.
  60. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    TE AMO MAMÃE FKA TWIGS, VC EH UMA LENDA PERFEITA, MAGDALENE ALBUM DO ANO SIM!
  61. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    MELHOR ÁLBUM DO ANO E QUEM NÃO CONCORDAR QUE PAGUE MINHAS CONTAS, TE AMO MAMÃE TWIGS
  62. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    So innovative...
    Right from the day of EP1 & LP1.
    The album is like a new genre of musicis created.
  63. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    É um álbum triste, sobre tristeza e sentimentos constantes, tristemente maravilhoso. Abre de uma forma coesa e termina de outra espetacular. A escolha de música pra fecha o álbum foi perfeita e só reforça a áurea perturbadora e linda que esse álbum tem do começo ao fim.
  64. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    An absolute stunning masterwork that will be looked at years from now as a classic. Listen several times before making a judgment. Complex,heartfelt and sung with heavenly beauty.

    This could be the best album of 2019.
  65. Nov 9, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Speechless Expand
  66. Nov 9, 2019
    8
    i'd give a 10/10, if it wasn't the track 'holy terrain' which kinda disappointed me... don't get me wrong, FKA twigs vocals are gorgeous and the lyrics are very poetic, but the feature 'future' ruined the listen for me. he didn't add anything to it, just turned 'mainstream' in a bad way.
  67. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    "Magdalene" reminds me of all the pain I have felt for a long time, just as it reminds me of what I have learned from it, FKA Twigs shows us the pain that it has inside so perfectly In this album, it exceeded my expectations and gave us the best album of 2019.
  68. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    Pure art! Intense combination. Lyrics, vocals, production everything's perfect in this album. It also has a beautiful message
  69. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    Definitely, album of the year. Twigs is always delivering us her art, and this wasn't the exception. MAGDALENE is an amazing album, lyrics and production are genius, and she also proves us that she won't stop growing up as an amazing artist.
  70. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    Such a work of art!!!! This album is a masterpiece, I love how her left for us a perfect combination between the lyrics and the production of each track, Holy Terrain was not my favorite track but the full album covered this song.
  71. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    o album tá muito bom, mary magdalene merece um grammy... que musica perfeita
  72. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    FKA twigs has outdone herself in the most excellent, earth-shattering way with this album. The lyrics and themes resonate, the production transcends the boundaries of genre, and twigs' voice carries an emotional gravity previously untapped by the artist. MAGDALENE, simply put, is a magnificent body of work and a legitimate contender for album of the year.

    Highlights include 'thousand
    FKA twigs has outdone herself in the most excellent, earth-shattering way with this album. The lyrics and themes resonate, the production transcends the boundaries of genre, and twigs' voice carries an emotional gravity previously untapped by the artist. MAGDALENE, simply put, is a magnificent body of work and a legitimate contender for album of the year.

    Highlights include 'thousand eyes,' 'mary magdalene,' and 'cellophane'.
    Expand
  73. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    The first full-length studio album from FKA twigs since her 2014 debut, LP1 (which was excellent in its own right), and her first project following 2015's M3LL155X, "MAGDALENE" is undoubtedly one of the best, if not the best record released in 2019. It is not only concise in length and number of tracks, but also concise in the feelings it conveys and the messages it gets across.

    The
    The first full-length studio album from FKA twigs since her 2014 debut, LP1 (which was excellent in its own right), and her first project following 2015's M3LL155X, "MAGDALENE" is undoubtedly one of the best, if not the best record released in 2019. It is not only concise in length and number of tracks, but also concise in the feelings it conveys and the messages it gets across.

    The themes vary from heartbreak, to loneliness, to pain (not only emotionally, but also physically) (Barnett was diagnosed with uterine fibroid tumours and has undergone surgery to get them removed, a subject addressed on 'home with you'), to womanhood and strength (cf. 'mary magdalene'). FKA twigs' delivery is undeniably spectacular, showing even more maturity and versatility than ever before. Starting with 'thousand eyes', which serves as a great introduction for what's to come, twigs plays with sounds and synths all throughout the record, expanding her collaborations circle to people like Sounwave, Jack Antonoff, and Future on 'holy terrain', which, even though is the most accessible song on the record, still feels exotic in a way that only FKA twigs can pull off. 'home with you' finds her going crescendo then decrescendo, just until the splendid, world-encompassing chorus hits, and it hits hard. 'fallen alien' features her spitting her lines out, almost shouting them, and 'mirrored heart' sees her pour her heart out, singing her most personal and confessional lyrics ever ('Did you truly see me? / No, not this time / Were you ever sure? / No no no, not with me'). It all tosses and turns and builds up, till the grand finale, 'cellophane' comes and closes the record in the most subtle, and the most magical way possible.

    "MAGDALENE" is not only an excellent alternative avant-pop record. This is the sound of a woman who awakened and rose from the ashes like a phoenix, and decided to sing about how both melancholic and glorious it was.
    Expand
  74. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    my album of the year is here! brutal yet soft and sensible, a beautiful journey led by FKA’s vocals and amazing production as well.
  75. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    Era o álbum que a gente precisa escutar antes de fechar a lista de melhores do ano.
  76. Nov 9, 2019
    9
    This album is one of the best of the year, the organic instrumentation is amazing, the vocals and the lyrics are consistently great, I just wish holy terrain was less generic and that the future feature was better...
  77. Nov 8, 2019
    9
    The album is an exuberant melancholy that fits in with the whole cohesion of the work, giving an air of lust to FKA twins. It is a perfect work from start to finish, a great emotional work that touches the listener. Perfect!
  78. Nov 8, 2019
    9
    Wow! An instant classic. Beautiful singing and production paired with a simple knack for melody and sound. Just live it.
  79. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Hearing the singles on their own truly doesn't do justice to how incredible and cohesive the end result is. Incredibly beautiful, haunting, mesmerizing, and enchanting. We have no choice but to stan.
  80. Nov 8, 2019
    8
    MAGDALENE is proof that left-field artists like FKA twigs can put accessible efforts and still resulting with greatness.
  81. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Magdalene es un álbum perfecto, cada sonido, la voz de su autora, es una joya, las criticas negativas me la pelan, y que carajo con los que le están dando negativo?
  82. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The future of music is here, Magdalene is a trip through night feelings and pillow talks. Twigs is a one of a kind artist that has created a whole new imaginarium that penetrates into wounds you thought had heeled. Expand
  83. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Na primeira faixa já somos encaminhados para o que Twigs quer falar, usando influências líricas, eletrônicas fazendo uma ótima música de introdução pra uma obra coesa e tecnicamente sem falhas. Grande aposta para o AOTY 2021.
  84. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    such a personal work, such a good work, the album starts with a melody that almost feels like an intro but it’s actually 5 minutes length, you enjoy the sounds on every song that suddenly you’re at the end of the album and you want more so you listen to it again. This is such a good work and experience. Bravo to FKA Twigs and her new piece of art.
  85. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!!!

    years ago i experienced something that has traumatised me til this very day, and this album was the first time i ever felt like i had control of it. thank you fka twigs for being a saviour.
  86. Nov 8, 2019
    9
    One of the best pop records of the decade, FKA Twigs is in top form, even after 5 years of album silence.
  87. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Em cellophane eu já sabia que esse álbum seria um hinario, quando ouvi Daybed foi a confirmação.
  88. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Wow album of the year, ten times better that Lana del Rey one. I'm not surprised if her stupid fans come to **** the user score. If you're one of them **** YOU!
  89. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    FKA twigs never stops surprising us, she made a whole new concept with this album and you can feel the congruence and consistancy with every track, definitely one of the best albums of the year, or even the decade.
  90. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    It's perfect. This girl know whats she's doing. Lovely album and a lovely person.
  91. Nov 8, 2019
    9
    I am a huge fan of self-doubting, insular pop albums, and this is probably the best album I have heard all year. It's clear FKA twigs has had years of being 2nd string to her ex-fiance and depression in her life that she is now able to come to the forefront and emote and release it all for us her audience.
  92. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    Magdalene is a beautiful masterpiece at Bjork level. This album is one of my favorite releases in 2019.
  93. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    What the hell ist this? Thanks Twigs for turning **** people did to you into gold. I loved every single song. Daybed is something... one of my favorites.
  94. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    This....is what art is converted into sound. The beautiful yet chaotic waves of emotions that FKA brings to the listener is astounding. This is an evolutionary album for the times. One of the best albums in years.
  95. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    one of best 2019 albums. fallen aliens my favorite song in this album. Love.
  96. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    A beautiful piece of work and one of the most beautiful albums that i've ever heard.
  97. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    I felt like literally Mary Magdalene whilr listening this great album.I really love the vibe she gave us with this album
  98. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    A wonderfully crafted record that shows a complete new side of twigs: vulnerability, pain, heartbreak. All these so called imperfections make the album a force to be reckoned with.
  99. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    One of the best albums I’ve ever heard in my life. I cannot stress how good this is enough
  100. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    simply one of the most beautiful albums that has ever been done. i admire her strength to put out this body of work and sing about her deepest feelings throughout these years.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 15, 2019
    100
    Magdalene is an album that, like FKA twigs herself, defies both genre and classification. Yet it’s a late contender for album of the year, with songs that will live you for months to come.
  2. Nov 13, 2019
    90
    Magdalene sees FKA Twigs reach a wholly satisfying pinnacle that is unlikely to be rivaled by any of her peers in 2019.
  3. Nov 12, 2019
    100
    It’s beautiful, inventive, catchy, heartbreaking, addictive, and bursting at the seams with ideas. It captures a performer truly at the top of their game, throwing everything into a project so that not one second is wasted. It’s a record that makes you fall in love with music again, a record you feel privileged to experience and a record that imparts fundamental human truths.