User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 510
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2023
    9
    brought me to tears many times, what a beautiful album, such a new sound. i always love FKA twigs' lyrics, so full of pain, anger, disgesting love and trying to come back up again. her voice is really smthg, she's one of my favorite artists when it comes to just drowning you in emotions, and especially in this album with Home With You.
  2. Mar 24, 2023
    10
    ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎
  3. Jan 3, 2023
    10
    A true masterpiece, this albums is very sad but also empowering at the same time.
  4. Nov 20, 2022
    9
    This album is amazing. Everything from the production to the lyricism to twigs' haunting vocals to the Biblical references throughout and the way twigs relates herself to Mary Magdalene while also dealing with a breakup was amazing. The genre bending sound of the album and twigs' vulnerability and honesty make this one of the best albums from 2019. An amazing piece of work.
  5. Oct 9, 2022
    10
    2 albums in and FKA Twigs is already starting to prove herself as one of the greats in her generation with her album Magdalene. By the way, that Cellophane video is crazy but incredible.
  6. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    FKA twigs is one of the best artist in the 2010s! Rolling Stone only gave this album 80 points! Objectively speaking, 100 points are too little. It deserves to be selected in the rolling stone's 500 greatest albums! But it doesn't matter. Rolling Stone has been regarded as a joke by music fans now.
  7. Aug 22, 2022
    9
    Amo este álbum fka enrealidad creo una pieza de arte de la que todos se van a acordar
  8. Jul 15, 2022
    10
    AOTY 2019. What an artist!!!

    She has grown a lot from her LP1. Queeeeeeeennnnn
  9. Mar 18, 2022
    10
    MAGDALENE is too good a recording job for me, each of the songs makes you explore different atmospheres, in addition to its lyrics allowing us to discover our emotions in different stages or circumstances, it really is a piece of art.
  10. Jan 4, 2022
    9
    1.-excellent production and well polished lyrics
    2.-MAGDALENE is proof that left-field artists like FKA twigs can put accessible efforts and still resulting with greatness.
  11. Dec 3, 2021
    9
    A stunning album with incredible, deep lyrics and transcendent vocals… modern masterpiece
  12. Aug 27, 2021
    10
    amazing lyrics, amazing production. sounds very experimental, yet somehow familiar. it's a whole vibe !
  13. Apr 16, 2021
    10
    Fka twigs merece más reconocimiento, pese a tener sólo dos álbumes y un par de EP's ha demostrado ser lo suficientemente buena para pertenecer a las ligas mayores y MAGDALENE reafirma lo que digo al respecto.
  14. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    wow, this album is a full journey as we feel the raw emotions of twigs herself. Carried by the beautiful production!
  15. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    MAGDALENE is the most different album I've ever heard, and so I was surprised by its content. Nevertheless, this beautiful body of work grew up on me in an intense and fast way. I was captivated. 100/100. Congratulations, FKA twigs!
  16. Mar 11, 2021
    10
    An honest masterpiece curated by an immortal artist. This album resonates with me in so many levels even until today. Twigs did this album superbly!
  17. Feb 10, 2021
    10
    This album is an experience so it makes sense many would be lost in it's complexity. She incorporated the growth shown in 'LP1' and 'Melissa Ep' and delivered an emotional amalgamation of both without repeating what they did best. Her silence came only musically as her life became thrust in the public during her high profile relationship with a certain sparkling vampire that evolved intoThis album is an experience so it makes sense many would be lost in it's complexity. She incorporated the growth shown in 'LP1' and 'Melissa Ep' and delivered an emotional amalgamation of both without repeating what they did best. Her silence came only musically as her life became thrust in the public during her high profile relationship with a certain sparkling vampire that evolved into an engagement that served to unravel the intrinsic racism of British tabloids ,media and society as she was harassed, humiliated and threatened. This trauma reminded her of the misogyny that roots all forms of discrimination, such as racism, to they biblical origins. The story of God's only son's wife:mary Magdalene. She's used as a conduit to address these issues(mary magdalene,home with you)even exploring the stress of the public eye which she makes literal in the ethereal opener. Her pain is the theme of this album:physical, emotional and natural. The stella "cellophane " is about her bought with embryonic cysts which she called her "fruit bowls" and the agony of the end of a relationship that took so much of your time. This is extended into the melancholy of "mirrored heart " and regressed to rage shock and disappointment in the peculiar (evenfor her)"fallen alien" where a break up is equivalent to being shipwrecked from a spaceship into unknown territory. This album is the breakdown of self into it's base pieces so the trauma can be simplified before it's processed. Favourites:home with you,mirrored heart,day bed,cellophane, sad day,fallen alien,holy terrain, mary magdalene **** did i type the entire tracklist, lol. ) Expand
  18. Dec 29, 2020
    10
    The album is a full experience. It can be interpreted as many things including an emotional outbreak, a spiritual quest etc. For me each one of the songs it contains is a masterpiece of each own. To my mind this is as good as art pop music gets.
  19. Dec 13, 2020
    8
    Short and powerfully striking, 'MAGDALENE' is that kind of album that take you by surprise, unexpected and blinding. This is surely the project I had to listen to the most in order to immerse myself deeply into it. It is not accessible to all but every effort you will put in its discovery will be rewarded.

    Electro parts weirdly fit with the pop art side of the album and are used to shed
    Short and powerfully striking, 'MAGDALENE' is that kind of album that take you by surprise, unexpected and blinding. This is surely the project I had to listen to the most in order to immerse myself deeply into it. It is not accessible to all but every effort you will put in its discovery will be rewarded.

    Electro parts weirdly fit with the pop art side of the album and are used to shed light on some words, emotions and/or situations. The way the music violently or smoothly summons our attention is brilliant. Structure and construction of the tracks are such that they make us embark unvoluntarily for an unforeseen trip in FKA twigs' mind and fights.

    There are so many intriging and amazing artists hiding in the shaows behind 'MAGDALENE': we can count on Skrillex, Cashmere Cat and benny blanco among others. The collaboration with Future on 'holy terrain' is as unexpected as dazzling and guts-taking. The fact that FKA twigs was able to bring out this emo side of Future says a lot about how the artist wanted her album to be.
    Expand
  20. Dec 7, 2020
    9
    With breathtaking vocal performances and irresistible production, FKA twigs offers (one of) the classiest albums of 2019.

    Favorite tracks: thousand eyes, home with you, sad day, mary magdalene, fallen alien, cellophane
    Least favorite tracks: daybed
  21. Oct 6, 2020
    10
    Perfeito, literalmente todas as músicas são boas e se conectam de um forma muito boa.
  22. Sep 2, 2020
    10
    A woman's work.. a woman's prerogative... (cantado por felipe).
    Isso aqui é ARTE. Obrigado por toda desgraça feita Robert Pattinson.. pra algo você deveria SERVIR.
    Finjo que holy terrain nao existe caso contrario desceria a nota pra 4
  23. Sep 2, 2020
    9
    primera vez escuchando un álbum de twigs, y no me arrepiento en lo absoluto. las canciones son simplemente magníficas, y el concepto junto con la portada son igual de asombrosos. las colaboraciones no se sienten forzadas y son adecuadas para las canciones. sin embargo, siento siento que algunas canciones no son lo suficientemente buenas, aún así creo es un álbum que puedes escuchar una yprimera vez escuchando un álbum de twigs, y no me arrepiento en lo absoluto. las canciones son simplemente magníficas, y el concepto junto con la portada son igual de asombrosos. las colaboraciones no se sienten forzadas y son adecuadas para las canciones. sin embargo, siento siento que algunas canciones no son lo suficientemente buenas, aún así creo es un álbum que puedes escuchar una y otra vez sin sentirse hostigado. mis canciones favoritas son a thousand eyes, holy terrain, cellophane, home with you, mary magdalene (Y LA MEJOR DE TODAS POR LA PUTAMADRE) y fallen alien Expand
  24. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Love, hate, strength, weakness: this album contains all the joy and pain of living in a body, and justice is done to that complexity by twigs and her 10 producer collaborators, who include Nicolas Jaar, Benny Blanco and Oneohtrix Point Never.
  25. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Unos de los mejores álbumes de fka twigs con sonidos muy buenos como nos tenía acostumbrado
  26. Jun 10, 2020
    10
    Simplesmente incrível, cinematográfico, arquetípico, bem produzido vocal, instrumental e visualmente. Twigs conseguiu expressar sua mensagem e conexão com a personagem histórica em cada detalhe e camada sonora do conjunto do álbum. Com destaque para "Home with you", onde ela a cada mudança instrumental ela mostra uma faceta de seus sentimentos e; "Mary Magdalene", que é de fato o pontoSimplesmente incrível, cinematográfico, arquetípico, bem produzido vocal, instrumental e visualmente. Twigs conseguiu expressar sua mensagem e conexão com a personagem histórica em cada detalhe e camada sonora do conjunto do álbum. Com destaque para "Home with you", onde ela a cada mudança instrumental ela mostra uma faceta de seus sentimentos e; "Mary Magdalene", que é de fato o ponto alto do álbum e na qual Twigs serve excelentes vocais e um catálogo rico de efeitos vocais e instrumentais, kick bem executados, percursoes distorcidas e sons de espada que ambientam a letra num cenário fora de qualquer coisa já produzida nesta década. Impecável Expand
  27. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    This album is called an electronic album, which I usually don’t like. But this one captivated me. The lyrics are deep and meaningful, and the melodies flow so well during the whole time. It’s an experience. I would give it a 9.5 because “daybed” wasn’t my favorite but I can only give it a 10.
  28. Apr 22, 2020
    10
    Beautiful voice mixed with a refined execution and mind-dazzling lyricism turned FKA Twigs' new album a masterpiece. The mix between experimental and R&B and electronica shows her amazing and unique persona and I couldn't be more proud
  29. Apr 13, 2020
    10
    masterpiece. what an AMAZING album. it is so emotional and twigs really knew what she was doing while working on this album. every track is beautifully produced and the lyrics are so detailed and beautifully written. i cant even put my feelings into words because this albums shakes me up each time i listen to it. my top 3 songs include holy terrain, mary magdalene, and sad day.
  30. Apr 11, 2020
    9
    I think the world is not ready to understad what Fka does, she is from other planet, is so strange and incredible, i love her.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 15, 2019
    100
    Magdalene is an album that, like FKA twigs herself, defies both genre and classification. Yet it’s a late contender for album of the year, with songs that will live you for months to come.
  2. Nov 13, 2019
    90
    Magdalene sees FKA Twigs reach a wholly satisfying pinnacle that is unlikely to be rivaled by any of her peers in 2019.
  3. Nov 12, 2019
    100
    It’s beautiful, inventive, catchy, heartbreaking, addictive, and bursting at the seams with ideas. It captures a performer truly at the top of their game, throwing everything into a project so that not one second is wasted. It’s a record that makes you fall in love with music again, a record you feel privileged to experience and a record that imparts fundamental human truths.