User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 510
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2020
    8
    Short and powerfully striking, 'MAGDALENE' is that kind of album that take you by surprise, unexpected and blinding. This is surely the project I had to listen to the most in order to immerse myself deeply into it. It is not accessible to all but every effort you will put in its discovery will be rewarded.

    Electro parts weirdly fit with the pop art side of the album and are used to shed
    Short and powerfully striking, 'MAGDALENE' is that kind of album that take you by surprise, unexpected and blinding. This is surely the project I had to listen to the most in order to immerse myself deeply into it. It is not accessible to all but every effort you will put in its discovery will be rewarded.

    Electro parts weirdly fit with the pop art side of the album and are used to shed light on some words, emotions and/or situations. The way the music violently or smoothly summons our attention is brilliant. Structure and construction of the tracks are such that they make us embark unvoluntarily for an unforeseen trip in FKA twigs' mind and fights.

    There are so many intriging and amazing artists hiding in the shaows behind 'MAGDALENE': we can count on Skrillex, Cashmere Cat and benny blanco among others. The collaboration with Future on 'holy terrain' is as unexpected as dazzling and guts-taking. The fact that FKA twigs was able to bring out this emo side of Future says a lot about how the artist wanted her album to be.
    Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2019
    8
    i'd give a 10/10, if it wasn't the track 'holy terrain' which kinda disappointed me... don't get me wrong, FKA twigs vocals are gorgeous and the lyrics are very poetic, but the feature 'future' ruined the listen for me. he didn't add anything to it, just turned 'mainstream' in a bad way.
  3. Dec 7, 2019
    8
    A very good album obviously inspired by Bjork, but still having originality. Personally i think it gets boring after mary magdalene but gets saved by cellophane
  4. Dec 26, 2019
    8
    Very brilliant mix of art pop, hip hop, and electronic music. FKA Twigs has continued to grow since her last record, looking forward to her future releases.
  5. Feb 1, 2020
    8
    This is a great example of weird sounding but still accessible music. My only complaint is that I would like to hear more energy in FKA Twigs voice on some songs, but when it suits the song her quiet sad singing is unbeatable. Great release, now listen to it
  6. Nov 13, 2019
    7
    I'll start off by saying that this is a very good album. However, I feel like I'm listening to a completely different album from everyone else rating this thing a 10/10. Show anyone 'fallen alien' and I bet they wouldn't be able to get to the end of that song. it is trash. Thankfully, it is the only trash song on the album. 'cellophane' will go down as one of the best songs of the decadeI'll start off by saying that this is a very good album. However, I feel like I'm listening to a completely different album from everyone else rating this thing a 10/10. Show anyone 'fallen alien' and I bet they wouldn't be able to get to the end of that song. it is trash. Thankfully, it is the only trash song on the album. 'cellophane' will go down as one of the best songs of the decade and the intro track does a very good job of reintroducing someone to 'FKA Twigs' since she hasn't released an album in five years. Even though 'fallen alien' is the only trash song, there are still plenty of problems I still have with this album. It's aesthetic is grand and capable of providing an album of 60 minutes. Instead, it only grasps the 38 minute mark. I need more 'Twigs', I beg you! 'sad day' is another song that is pretty average. It's instrumental is great but 'Twigs' is a bit too repetitive, same with 'daybed' and 'mary magdalene'. 'Future' kinda ruins bits of 'holy terrain' but 'Twigs' performance on that track is amazing. Overall, it's hard to judge this album as some of these songs are amazing while others feel very repetitive. I hope 'Twigs' does not take another five years to release her next album and if 'Arca' could produce the next one that would be great too! Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2020
    7
    esse album, ao meu ver, ele é ruim, pode ser q eu n sei diferenciar o que é bom pro que é ruim,, não é algo que me agrada
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 15, 2019
    100
    Magdalene is an album that, like FKA twigs herself, defies both genre and classification. Yet it’s a late contender for album of the year, with songs that will live you for months to come.
  2. Nov 13, 2019
    90
    Magdalene sees FKA Twigs reach a wholly satisfying pinnacle that is unlikely to be rivaled by any of her peers in 2019.
  3. Nov 12, 2019
    100
    It’s beautiful, inventive, catchy, heartbreaking, addictive, and bursting at the seams with ideas. It captures a performer truly at the top of their game, throwing everything into a project so that not one second is wasted. It’s a record that makes you fall in love with music again, a record you feel privileged to experience and a record that imparts fundamental human truths.