Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. 80
    On her debut, Sleepless Dreamer, the folk-soaked, pedal steel tinged sound felt like a familiar friend knocking on your door. With Magic Mirror, that friend has returned, with some stories to tell while ready to dazzle with a sparkle.
  2. Jan 15, 2021
    80
    While similar in feel to her debut, Magic Mirror is a significant step forward for Charles, who really steps up her game here.
  3. Jan 15, 2021
    80
    On Magic Mirror, Charles may be self-doubting and even gloomy at times, but she never loses her glowing spirit and hope for the many more adventures her life will lead her on.
  4. 80
    Magic Mirror is an impressive and mature debut.
  5. Jan 19, 2021
    79
    As transformation takes over and her approach to creativity changes, Magic Mirror shines boldly and brightly as the testimony of an adulthood that didn’t come at the cost of losing her spark of child-like enthusiasm. Pearl Charles has taken hold of that raw and bubbly energy, and skillfully turned it into a perfect silver sequin of her very own disco ball.
  6. Feb 5, 2021
    70
    Her art doesn't offer easy resolutions to internal or external crises, but as Charles works through her ideas (and her sounds), she leads us to somewhere better, a little way out of the maze and into a place where we can at least imagine some good weather.
  7. Jan 15, 2021
    60
    When emotions warm, Charles loses command of her musical touchstones, the potential for nostalgia and poignancy smothered by sentimental pastiche.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 6, 2021
    7
    Not impressed with the initial and outro tracks but Pearl Charles made me turn on because of Magic Mirror, Take Your Time, and Sweet SunshineNot impressed with the initial and outro tracks but Pearl Charles made me turn on because of Magic Mirror, Take Your Time, and Sweet Sunshine Wine. Not a bad album but not my cup of tea. Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2021
    9
    As soon as I heard the first song, “Only for Tonight” from the second full-length album, “Magic Mirror” from the LA singer-songwriter PearlAs soon as I heard the first song, “Only for Tonight” from the second full-length album, “Magic Mirror” from the LA singer-songwriter Pearl Charles it instantly brought me to a magic place, this song is so infectious, sunny, and dreamy, it has a retro sound and vibe which reminds me of Abba, this is an incredible opener to this album. Pearl Charles continues her cool sunny disposition in the second track, “What I Need” she tackles the joy of being in love and don’t want to lose her partner. When I reached the third track, “Imposter” I was already hooked and invested I realized I am already humming and singing the chorus, “I keep looking for myself” while bopping my head.

    Pearl Charles deep dive into the up and down emotions caused by a broken relationship in the slower tempo tracks like “Don’t Feel Like Myself", "Magic Mirror", and “Take Your Time”. Pearl Charles presented them in a way where I still get an optimistic vibe from these sentimental songs and staying true to her dreamy aesthetics reminiscent of the Carpenters and Fleetwood Mac. While the last two songs: “Sweet Sunshine Wine” and “As Long as You’re Mine” is ending on a higher note and going back to the feeling of being in love again.

    The strong trait of Pearl Charles in this new LP is her voice, which is complemented very well with her dreamy lyricism and psychedelic instrumentation. This new album is so nostalgic. Every track is such a bop. Many of these tracks are catchy, makes you wanna dance and just let loose. I find this as a great album to bond with your parents. You can hum to the lyrics and dance with them while helping for prepping the dinner or listen to this album as an escape on a lazy weekend afternoon just relaxing and feeling nostalgic. Overall, this album genuinely makes me HAPPY, giving this a personal rating of 8.5/10.

    Favorite tracks are Only for Tonight and Sweet Sunshine Wine.
    Full Review »