• Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2014

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Uncut
    Jun 9, 2014
    Thrillingly heavy and direct it may be, but there are great tunes here. [Jul 2014, p.77]
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    While the lovelorn energy of Mayfield’s country ballads are often obfuscated by guitar fuzz, the new crunch fits her nicely.
  3. Those heavier cuts are the album’s best--dark, dreamy and abrasive.
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    Her sweet and sweltering guitar playing and forked-tongue revelations are exactly what 24 should sound like.
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    It's not a perfect record, but noteworthy for its musical risk-taking and assertive attitude.
  6. Apr 16, 2014
    Mayfield has insisted for years that love is treacherous and obliterating, and on Make My Head Sing... her guitar enacts that romantic violence. It provides an intriguing counterpart to her vocals, turning her inner monologues into something like an argument.
  7. 60
    What she’s come up with isn’t always completely successful, but it keeps you wanting more.
  8. Apr 15, 2014
    As a whole, the album is monochromatic, too single-minded about Ms. Mayfield’s new sound--and, at times, a little too determined to reverse-engineer Nirvana’s flanged guitar effects. And her laconic new lyrics don’t always offer the subtleties and paradoxes of her earlier songs.
  9. Apr 15, 2014
    Oftentimes, it’s an odd juxtaposition, and one that isn’t always in sync.

There are no user reviews yet.