• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 15, 2014
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Jul 15, 2014
    100
    Mandatory Fun is a stone cold masterpiece.
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    83
    Despite these missteps ["Sports Song" annd "Inactive"], the album is a rousing success; it’s both a smart meta-commentary on pop music and a collection that never takes itself too seriously.
  3. Jul 21, 2014
    80
    Wonders never cease on Mandatory Fun, and neither do the laughs.
  4. 80
    Mandatory Fun is not necessarily among his must-have albums, but it's another solid addition that with satisfy any fan and win over some new kids through these big hit parodies and viral videos.
  5. Jul 15, 2014
    80
    Dollars to donuts, there's not one song or style here that "Weird Al" doesn't enhance with his sly social commentary or absurdity. All hail the weird king.
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    77
    Mandatory Fun is a good, humorous album that shows that Yankovic is not slowing down in the slightest.
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    76
    The Weird One delivers the reprocessed goods, though it's his original tunes — done in the idiosyncratic styles of his favorite artists--that truly warrant repeat listening.
  8. Jul 18, 2014
    70
    It’s impossible to predict which of today’s hit songs will become tomorrow’s classics, but at least Mandatory Fun, Weird Al’s 14th studio album, delivers on the laughs.
  9. 67
    Sure, Mandatory Fun is cheap, juvenile, and often downright grating, but damn if it isn’t good for a couple of laughs.
  10. Jul 24, 2014
    60
    Mandatory Fun is not his best album (even if it, by far, has his most well-conceived meticulous promotional launch), but it is still very fun, virtually every parody being completely on point and capable of holding up to at least a few replays.
  11. Jul 15, 2014
    60
    Sure, there’s a touch of hypocrisy in a guy as gloriously tacky as Al taking shots at the shameless but who really cares when it’s this much fun.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 67
  2. Negative: 6 out of 67
  1. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    Weird Al albums tend to be a a bit patchy; his work is more digestible song-by-song. However, he really hit a mark of relevancy andWeird Al albums tend to be a a bit patchy; his work is more digestible song-by-song. However, he really hit a mark of relevancy and cohesiveness with this release. All of the parodies are very current for the time period and are among his most well-written funniest songs. A massive improvement over Alpocalypse, which was more of a collection of half previously released songs and half new songs that weren't all that relevant either. Full Review »
  2. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    All the original tunes are great however the songs chosen to be parodied leave a little to be desired. This isn't Mr. Yankovic's fault sinceAll the original tunes are great however the songs chosen to be parodied leave a little to be desired. This isn't Mr. Yankovic's fault since the popular music of today is truly god-awful. I just wish he would have parodied a few rock songs or at least a few artists that are actually good. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2017
    9
    I've always been a fan of Weird Al. This is my favorite album from him so far. As much as I liked his previous projects, I wanted someI've always been a fan of Weird Al. This is my favorite album from him so far. As much as I liked his previous projects, I wanted some parodies of songs that I knew. This album granted that wish. Great production on his original songs, and great lyrics poking fun at (mostly.) good artists. 9/10 Full Review »