• Record Label: Bighit
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2020
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 100
    It is an impressive, exciting and moving album with slick production, accompanied by thought-provoking art (the interpretative dance performance in the “Black Swan” video, the CONNECT BTS art exhibitions), but it is so much more than a shiny pop album. It is a love letter to pain, to the shadows that live within us.
  2. Feb 27, 2020
    92
    Taut and primal, “MOTS: 7” is a kind of self-referential homage. ... Each get solo turns to shine here, their collective work is what stands out.
  3. Feb 24, 2020
    83
    Their cultural impact is undeniable, and their work continues to push forward conversations about genre, language, and much more. There’s no telling what BTS will do next, but that’s what’s so compelling.
  4. Feb 24, 2020
    80
    The group made a conscious decision to experiment and give more of themselves rather than a rinse and repeat of what's worked before. 7 smartly makes the decision to focus on exactly what makes BTS special: its members.
  5. Feb 24, 2020
    80
    Map of the Soul: 7 is their most smashing album yet, showing off their mastery of different pop styles from rap bangers to slow-dance ballads to post-Swedish electro-disco to prog-style philosophizing.
  6. Feb 21, 2020
    80
    With each album, they continue on the path of self-discovery and maturity, pulling off yet another effortless display of pop prowess without forgetting the fans that have helped them along the way.
  7. Feb 21, 2020
    80
    The album is also a fantastic summary of BTS’ accomplishments so far, and charts a path forward in a tumultuous but exciting new era for K-pop. It’s an album about being in a band, about the relationships that form and get tested in the crucible of insane fame, all set to some of the most genre-invigorating music of their career.
  8. 80
    An album full of big ideas, strong conviction and unguarded emotion, it’s more than worth the wait.
  9. 80
    What’s impressive on 7 is how they show a fascination with genres that should have no business being on the same album, but without the “smash and grab” attitude of so many Western artists. When it comes to music, 7 is is cast-iron proof we all speak the same language.
  10. Feb 21, 2020
    80
    Although the sound of the album is wide-ranging, it holds continuity through its lyrics and general sentiment. K-Pop after all is an inherently genre-blending style of music, so it’s no surprise.
  11. 70
    As a whole, the strong but not particularly unruly “7” is less sure-footed than “Love Yourself: Tear,” the group’s last full-length, from 2018, and the first K-pop album to debut atop the Billboard album chart.
  12. Feb 25, 2020
    63
    Persona lacked the natural fluidity and chicness of their best music. Those problems aren’t exactly mitigated here, since most of those songs appear on this album too, but within this new context, they feel like a flashback before the saga continues. Many of the new songs are better about balancing Easter eggs for day-ones with new entry points for more casual listeners.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 9177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 21, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums ever released. The expectation is not lost on each track. The instrumental is incredible along with the lyricsOne of the best albums ever released. The expectation is not lost on each track. The instrumental is incredible along with the lyrics completely inspiring and real. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2020
    10
    I really enjoyed this. The solo songs were especially stand out for me, my time is probably #1 from those. I think the song i like the mostI really enjoyed this. The solo songs were especially stand out for me, my time is probably #1 from those. I think the song i like the most (for now) is louder than bombs. That’s such a special track. Ugh goes crazy, friends is super cute and zero o’clock is pretty as hell. Im just in shock Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2020
    10
    The album is a splendid job, you can feel the soul of the group in each song, each solo, each beat. A mix of musical genres that is pleasantThe album is a splendid job, you can feel the soul of the group in each song, each solo, each beat. A mix of musical genres that is pleasant to accompany and listen to, and the maturity of BTS is noticeable. Full Review »