• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Map of the Soul: Persona Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seven-track mini-album release from the South Korean boy band features a guest appearance from Halsey.
Buy On

Top Track

HOME
방탄소년단 (Bangtan Boys) BTS - Home Lyrics BTS - Home Hangul 미칠듯한 설레임에 인사조차 못했어 Yeah I'm going out baby 온... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 95
    It’s the songs themselves that should guarantee the album’s global success. Throughout the mini-album are references to BTS’ past and reflections on their growth as artists and individuals.
  2. 91
    The EP moves easily through different spheres of young love, young fame and young ambition, all of it audible through coruscating backgrounds and intense vocal deliveries that channel the high-running tensions of technicolor teenage drama.
  3. Apr 12, 2019
    90
    The 7-song album is taut musically and thematically (the group is a septet consisting of RM, Jin, Suga, J-Hope, Jimin, V, Jungkook), although things get into murkier territory lyrically. Fans of the group dig deep into the meanings behind the songs.
  4. Apr 18, 2019
    70
    Map of the Soul: Persona is a bold, if tempered, call to Western media.
  5. Apr 15, 2019
    61
    The arrangements on PERSONA are busy and convoluted, and many lyrical highlights are buried in meta, self-referential schlock rock. ... PERSONA is not a failure, but it’s tough to call it a triumph.
  6. 60
    They’ve formed their own blueprint in which the messages they purvey and the grandiose shows they stage are our main point of interest, but the music, production-wise, falls a little by the wayside when it comes to breaking new ground.
  7. Apr 19, 2019
    60
    A valiant and partly successful attempt from K-pop’s biggest band to move forward in their music. While they undeniably remain a success, the recycled sonics and multiple references to past music makes it hard for old listeners to let go of past glory and for the new to connect with their current music.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Apr 15, 2019
    10
    A modern pop masterpiece.
    One of the things that interested me the most when I've first listened to BTS was their ability to go through
    A modern pop masterpiece.
    One of the things that interested me the most when I've first listened to BTS was their ability to go through different music genres like pop, hip-hop, and even rock. And that's exactly what they did with this album.
    I haven't seen and pop album with this versatility in a long time. Most pop artists these days focus in making hit songs and use trending music styles but forget about the essence, lyrics and share a message with their fans and the gp.
    BTS does that perfectly with this album. They deliver a powerful message of love and debate about their own history and achievments with sincerity and a open heart and with amazing music productions.
    I am really excited to see more from them and from this new era.
    Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2019
    10
    Their just keeps getting better. The very interesting addition of Greek mythology and Jungianism makes the album and its lyrics much moreTheir just keeps getting better. The very interesting addition of Greek mythology and Jungianism makes the album and its lyrics much more fascinating.
    The marriage of rap and vocals continue to impress the listener.
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2019
    10
    With the presence of Greek myths and exploitation of psychoanalysis through Jung, BTS shows what is lacking in the pop artists of today:With the presence of Greek myths and exploitation of psychoanalysis through Jung, BTS shows what is lacking in the pop artists of today: identity. A cohesive album, with music gender variability and production, shows why they are one of the biggest groups nowadays. Collapse
  4. Apr 13, 2019
    10
    Song titles like Persona, Mikrokosmos, Jamais Vu, Dionysus already exhibit how innovative this album is. It's an album that has a story toSong titles like Persona, Mikrokosmos, Jamais Vu, Dionysus already exhibit how innovative this album is. It's an album that has a story to tell. Even if you don't understand Korean lyrics, the music production of each song effectively conveys the message. And if you delve into the meaning behind the lyrics, you'll find beautiful metaphors. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2019
    10
    perfect, is the best album ever, the lyrics, all, so perfect
    jimin with his angel vocals
    the subunit song EVERYTHING IS SO GOOODD a i love it
  6. Apr 12, 2019
    10
    Their album follows their story, and it's really consistent. Looking at the lyrics, the whole thing SEEMS like songs for a lover, but itTheir album follows their story, and it's really consistent. Looking at the lyrics, the whole thing SEEMS like songs for a lover, but it really isn't - there's a shadow about loneliness, life in general, expectations and what we must conceal in order to keep a good appearance.

    There's also a song for the fans which is great itself, but even greater because they point out they're the ones who need the fans, who find comfort in them, and not the other way around. That's pretty cool.

    Also BTS keeps switching sounds and travelling through different music styles, respect!
    Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2019
    0
    BTS has such a capacity to be a star group, but some melodies, compared to old songs let a taste of discase, so i think, bts can do somethingBTS has such a capacity to be a star group, but some melodies, compared to old songs let a taste of discase, so i think, bts can do something better, their title song is very simple, i can't see anything catchy for me, their b-sides let a taste of sadness. i was hoping more. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews