User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Mark of the Blade Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

  • Summary: The sixth full-length release for the Tennessee deathcore band led by Phil Bozeman was produced by Mark Lewis.
Buy Now
Buy on

Top Track

Bring Me Home
I close my eyes and count to ten The seconds turn to years and slowly I've been recognizing everything Through an adolescent mind It's so dark... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2016
    Mark of the Blade is a 21st century album that reinvents the sound of heavy.
  2. Jun 24, 2016
    There is so much more offered in this collection of 11 songs than we’ve seen of Whitechapel previously, making Mark Of The Blade an exciting milestone.
  3. Jun 24, 2016
    Even if it doesn’t all hit the bullseye, at least they’ve dared to stray from the beaten path.
  4. Jun 29, 2016
    Sequence and flow, moods and styles, all form a coherent whole--albeit one that might have used a tad more judicious editing. But it's hard to fault a band for trying new things, especially when what they deliver is an album with far more hits than misses.
  5. Jun 24, 2016
    Mark of the Blade is a bit hit-and-miss. Musically, the new touches work well and flow with the rest of the album, but the clean vocals in particular feel forced and sorely out of place.
  6. Kerrang!
    Jun 24, 2016
    They might not be as abrasive as they once were, but Whitechapel still know how to bulldoze the opposition. [25 Jun 2016, p.52]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of