User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 234
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ruy
    Jun 15, 2014
    10
    This is Mariah's best effort since Butterfly. I think this album has more feeling than TEOM, it's deeper and more personal, the lyrics are more mature and intelligent. This album can be classified as one of the masterpieces such as Daydream, Butterfly and The Emancipation Of Mimi. My personal favorite songs are Make It Look Good, You Don't Know What To Do, Cry, Camouflage, #Beautiful,This is Mariah's best effort since Butterfly. I think this album has more feeling than TEOM, it's deeper and more personal, the lyrics are more mature and intelligent. This album can be classified as one of the masterpieces such as Daydream, Butterfly and The Emancipation Of Mimi. My personal favorite songs are Make It Look Good, You Don't Know What To Do, Cry, Camouflage, #Beautiful, Meteorite, The Art Of Letting Go, Dedicated and Faded (basically the whole album lol). All of these songs have such amazing lyrics and melodies, Mariah and the producers really did a fine job, most of them are feel good tracks that everybody can relate to and enjoy. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2016
    10
    This is definitely Mariah's strongest work since The Emancipation Of Mimi. The album has some great R&B and pop vibes that just ooze single potential. Me. I Am Mariah had the potential to be a huge commercial success but the wrong singles were chosen. For example, The Art Of Letting Go is a beautiful song but was just not a good single choice. Songs such as You Don't Know What To Do,This is definitely Mariah's strongest work since The Emancipation Of Mimi. The album has some great R&B and pop vibes that just ooze single potential. Me. I Am Mariah had the potential to be a huge commercial success but the wrong singles were chosen. For example, The Art Of Letting Go is a beautiful song but was just not a good single choice. Songs such as You Don't Know What To Do, Thirsty and Faded were snubbed. Definitely give the album a go as it's one of her most solid to date! Expand
  3. May 27, 2014
    8
    Great improvement form her past album MOAIA. This is the R&B that we are used to listen from her, very good lyrics with outstanding vocals. I am not giving this a 10 because there is no evolution, she keeps doing the same style without a more modern kind of R&B and Pop. The best songs that I can recommend are Supernatural, Meteorite, You Don't Know What To Do, Dedicated, Make It Look GoodGreat improvement form her past album MOAIA. This is the R&B that we are used to listen from her, very good lyrics with outstanding vocals. I am not giving this a 10 because there is no evolution, she keeps doing the same style without a more modern kind of R&B and Pop. The best songs that I can recommend are Supernatural, Meteorite, You Don't Know What To Do, Dedicated, Make It Look Good and the first single, #Beautiful. Expand
  4. May 27, 2014
    10
    Back in true form! Mariah is singing like she has not sung since "Butterfly" This album is very reminiscent of that album and I am so excited to listen to this album over and over.

    Stand Out Tracks: Meteorite, Thirsty
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Após 5 anos reclusa, Mariah nos traz um álbum muito bem trabalhado e maduro, todo o tempo em que Mariah ficou-se a experimentar e testar o gosto dos fãs e do seu público serviu e muito para que ela desde ''Triumphant'', música pouco ousada e diferente dos seus trabalhos anteriores, voltasse e começasse do zero a refazer esse disco que pelos fãs tinha outro nome,''The Art of Letting Go''.Após 5 anos reclusa, Mariah nos traz um álbum muito bem trabalhado e maduro, todo o tempo em que Mariah ficou-se a experimentar e testar o gosto dos fãs e do seu público serviu e muito para que ela desde ''Triumphant'', música pouco ousada e diferente dos seus trabalhos anteriores, voltasse e começasse do zero a refazer esse disco que pelos fãs tinha outro nome,''The Art of Letting Go''.
    Mariah acertou em cheio apostando em ''#Beautiful'', que divide os vocais com Miguel e a faixa acabou se tornando o hit do verão de 2013, uma faixa que soa contemporânea e também retrô. ''Cry.'' é uma balada bem construída e um começo excelente e calmo para o disco, ''Faded'' traz o melhor de ''Don't Forget About Us'' e ''We Belong Together'', com produção de Make Will Made It (''Body Party'', ''Kisses Down Low'', ''We Can't Stop''). Outros destaques são ''Supernatural'' onde a Mariah divide os vocais com seus filhos, ''Meteorite'' que também é mais uma das faixas retrô do disco e com uma pegada que já foi crescente em décadas passadas. ''You Don't Know What to Do'' nos traz uma pegada disco/funk e uma sonoridade já conhecida em álbuns como ''Glitter (2001)'', a faixa passaria despercebida se não fosse cativante, tivesse uma participação bem empregada do rapper Wale, participações infladas e desnecessárias que foram erros um pouco frequentes em sua trilha sonora de 2001 e em ''Triumphant'', onde Mariah parecia apenas a convidada. ''Make It Look Good'' traz uma gaita de Stevie Wonder e uma estrutura que consegue abater qualquer possível monotonia da faixa e a deixa harmoniosa do começo ao fim. ''You're Mine (Eternal)'' que é o single de divulgação do disco, dentro deste consegue ter mais liberdade e soar menos açucarada. ''Dedicated'' traz a participação de Nas e ''Money'' com Fabolous vem na missão de ser uma nova ''Honey''. ''One More Try'' que é um cover de George Michael, consegue ter imposta toda a personalidade musical de Mariah e ter uma interpretação muito melhor que sua prima mais próxima ''I Want To Know What Love Is'', cover do ''Memoirs of An Imperfect Angel'' (2009). O disco encerra com ''Heavenly'', uma faixa gospel e a nível de suas anteriores, como ''Fly Like A Bird'' do premiado disco '''The Emancipation of Mimi'' (2005).
    Em ''Me. I Am Mariah...The Elusive Chanteuse'', Mariah nos dá o melhor de seus 24 anos de carreira e mostra o porque de além de ser uma das maiores vocalistas, também é uma grande pioneira entre os gêneros de música pop, r&b e hip-hop e nos traz um retorno mais do que convincente e o melhor trabalho mainstream de uma artista feminina até agora.
    Expand
  6. May 27, 2014
    10
    I was not expecting such a good CD. Mariah usually comes with good material, but this time she delivered one of her best works ever. With the exception of "You're Mine", the album is cohesive and fresh. The collaboration with Nas, 'Dedicated', is definitely a highlight. Also, her cover of George Michael's 'One More Try' is a standout track. Can't picture myself not listening to this CD forI was not expecting such a good CD. Mariah usually comes with good material, but this time she delivered one of her best works ever. With the exception of "You're Mine", the album is cohesive and fresh. The collaboration with Nas, 'Dedicated', is definitely a highlight. Also, her cover of George Michael's 'One More Try' is a standout track. Can't picture myself not listening to this CD for a while. Expand
  7. May 27, 2014
    10
    this is incredible. the album's two unabashedly uptempo ditties are also the forums for Mariah's most serious-minded performances, galaxies away from "loving you long time." "You Don't Know What to Do" is a stunning tribute to the soul-shouting piano gospel of Jocelyn Brown's "Somebody Else's Guy," with swirling disco swings turning Mariah herself into the calm, confident eye of a disco hurricane.
  8. May 27, 2014
    10
    Wow. What an album. Mariah is back and the album is pure Mariah. Amazing vocals, amazing use of featured guests and amazing production. Stand out tracks : Faded, you're Mine, meteorite, beautiful, you don't know what to do, thirsty, heavenly to name a few. This album reiterates why Mariah is the top selling and most successful female artist of all time. A+
  9. May 27, 2014
    9
    Nostalgia plays a huge theme in Mariah Carey’s 14th studio album Me. I Am Mariah.. The Elusive Chanteuse. Conclusively, an album that perfectly embodies her musicality and artistry that doesn’t feel slightly trendy yet aptly timeless. When the pop landscape has been nothing but fickle and unforgiving, Mariah finally let go of chasing the trend and fully realized how musically she’sNostalgia plays a huge theme in Mariah Carey’s 14th studio album Me. I Am Mariah.. The Elusive Chanteuse. Conclusively, an album that perfectly embodies her musicality and artistry that doesn’t feel slightly trendy yet aptly timeless. When the pop landscape has been nothing but fickle and unforgiving, Mariah finally let go of chasing the trend and fully realized how musically she’s trailblazed and paved the way for a lot of what the genre has become and even inspired the female front runners of this current era.
    Starting the album with a ballad that seemingly would fit right from her debut album back in 1990; ‘Cry.’ sets the mood and the trip to nostalgia carry on for the next several tracks: ‘Faded’, ‘Supernatural’ & ‘Dedicated’ are midtempo jams that could’ve find its way in her more current releases- E=MC2 or Memoirs Of An Imperfect Angel. In addition, anyone who is familiar with her more complex work would be glad to find a piece of ‘Butterfly’ in the 90’s house-inspired ‘Meteorite’. And staying true to its theme, the Stevie Wonder surprise cameo ‘Make It Look Good’, we find Mariah relentlessly reminding us that no one can beat her in her own game.
    Whether trying to subtly reference her previous work or not, Chanteuse perfectly and meticulously fuses the classic and the current effortlessly. Taking a hint from last years’ #Beautiful, throwback summer anthem has never been guilt-free in ‘You Don’t Know What To Do’. And predictably, a Mariah Carey album won’t be complete without a classic cover but this time she ante up several notches above with a George Michael classic ‘One More Try’ where her vocal pyrotechnics are on full display. Moreover, the main highlight of Chanteuse is where Carey gets to shine both vocally and lyrically, in tracks like ‘Camouflage’ and ‘Heavenly’, she’s no longer taking the punches and instead, comes undone that both feels hauntingly beautiful and inspiring all at the same time. Me. I Am Mariah might have signaled some serious signs of narcissism but in all actuality, it’s just a body of work of a superstar who has confidently fully realized her place in pop music history, where only a few gets to pioneer and revolutionize.
    Expand
  10. May 27, 2014
    10
    This album is really everything us lambs have been asking for for the past 5 years. It's been a long wait, but it's been completely worth it. This is Mariah's best effort since her 1997 Butterfly album. I'm truly impressed, and very happy with the result.
  11. May 27, 2014
    10
    Mariah made ​​this personal album to show it is still alive and can be distinguished from all the other artists who work in the music scene. Opening the album with "Cry" is destructive, could be a ballad like the others, but no. The music grows until the end, the vocals are perfect. Carey may not have the ravening young fanbase that Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus and others have, but when it'sMariah made ​​this personal album to show it is still alive and can be distinguished from all the other artists who work in the music scene. Opening the album with "Cry" is destructive, could be a ballad like the others, but no. The music grows until the end, the vocals are perfect. Carey may not have the ravening young fanbase that Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus and others have, but when it's time to get into the studio she can still deliver as long as her material is solid. Supernatural for many has become boring by the laughter of the children of the singer, but for me no one has ever made ​​such a beautiful, true and lively song (yes, I gave a lot of laughs at the beginning and end of the song). Mariah will still make many wonderful albums in his career, and will show that not to appeal for charts, but the do good to his fans and admirers music. Quality not lacking in this album! Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2015
    8
    The album sounds challenging as the person Mariah Carey, recognizing their place in ecosystem Pop, both implicit and explicit without mechanize her style for people buying a music lifeless.

    This is not to say that Mariah is reductive and anti-commercial, however, Carey sought his artistic essence while subtly expanded its parameter as an artist even when just wanted to be herself and
    The album sounds challenging as the person Mariah Carey, recognizing their place in ecosystem Pop, both implicit and explicit without mechanize her style for people buying a music lifeless.

    This is not to say that Mariah is reductive and anti-commercial, however, Carey sought his artistic essence while subtly expanded its parameter as an artist even when just wanted to be herself and join all she has done before this album.

    Simply amazing.
    Expand
  13. May 27, 2014
    9
    This album is simply amazing! I would say this is her 2nd best album overall (behind 1997's Butterfly). It combines originality, great vocals and production, and inspiring lyrics all in one CD. I also personally like the long, but clever title - though I do believe taking out 'Me. I Am Mariah...' and just naming it 'The Elusive Chanteuse' would've been better.

    Anyways, the CD breaks
    This album is simply amazing! I would say this is her 2nd best album overall (behind 1997's Butterfly). It combines originality, great vocals and production, and inspiring lyrics all in one CD. I also personally like the long, but clever title - though I do believe taking out 'Me. I Am Mariah...' and just naming it 'The Elusive Chanteuse' would've been better.

    Anyways, the CD breaks away from her tradition lately of starting an album with an upbeat song (Emancipation - 'It's Like That', E=MC2 - 'Migrate', and Memoirs - 'Obsessed'). She instead begins with 'Cry.', a powerful ballad (which is what she did with her debut album using 'Vision of Love'). I'd rate the song a 10/10. A great opener and timeless at the same time. The next song 'Faded', to me, sounds like a leftover from her 'Memoirs' album - this isn't a bad thing because I actually loved that album and think it's underrated. Overall, I'd rate the song an 8/10. The next song 'Dedicated' has an infectious production. Though the lyrics are a little unoriginal in my opinion, it's still great - 9/10. '#Beautiful', the next song, was the perfect choice for a lead single. Mariah's and Miguel's voices blend together perfecting; the swearing is a little unnecessary though - 9.5/10.

    'Thirsty' is the only song on the album I don't care for. It doesn't flow with the album and is too mainstream - 6/10. 'Make It Look Good' is perfect in all aspects. Who incorporates harmonicas in their music anymore? The song is funky and has a fun name - 10/10. 'You're Mine (Eternal)' is a fun, sweet ballad. Its production is simple and soothing - 8/10. 'You Don't Know What to Do' is an almost-perfect song. Wale's inclusion in the first minute of the song is distracting to me; just a personal preference. But the song as a whole is really good and REALLY catchy - 9.5/10.

    'Supernatural' is a cute, relaxing song dedicated to her twins. Though sweet, I think the song drags a little, especially with the outro - 7.5/10. 'Meteorite' is definitely an album highlight. It's the most danceable song on the album and is subtly inspirational. Sounds like you're in a different world - 10.5/10. 'Camouflage' is my 2nd favorite on the album. Another ballad, its deep lyrics and emotional connection make it memorable - 11/10. 'Money ($ * / ...)' is the final hip hop infused, upbeat song on the album. It has clever lyrics and Fabolous' appearance is the perfect touch - 8.5/10.

    'One More Try' is next. While the lyrics on this song make it a great cover, I actually hate its production. However, it's a great inclusion and definitely adds to the album's greatness - 8/10. 'Heavenly (No Ways Tired/Can't Give Up Now)' is my favorite on the album. It is undoubtedly the most inspirational song on the album. Everything about it makes me happy - 100+/10. Finally, 'The Art of Letting Go' closes the album. Released at the end of 2013, this song is what made me excited for the album to come out. Definitely one of her best ballads - 10.5/10.

    All of these ratings are just my OPINION. Overall, I give the album a 9/10. I've loved the album ever since it became available to stream. Even the album cover (while obviously retouched - though who cares!) is good. Mariah has come a long way. With most music nowadays being overly electronic and vague, she stuck to her roots and released an album that definitely has staying power. Really proud of her!
    Expand
  14. May 27, 2014
    8
    Não é novidade que Mariah Carey é impecável quando se trata de poderio vocal. Neste álbum, mais uma vez, ela nos presenteia com um conjunto de canções que vão desde o clássico R&B à baladas acompanhadas de piano. A forma como as canções são interpretadas, somada a habilidade de sua exímia performer, o álbum se torna um destaque na discografia de Mimi. Recomendo: Cry, Faded, One More Try.Não é novidade que Mariah Carey é impecável quando se trata de poderio vocal. Neste álbum, mais uma vez, ela nos presenteia com um conjunto de canções que vão desde o clássico R&B à baladas acompanhadas de piano. A forma como as canções são interpretadas, somada a habilidade de sua exímia performer, o álbum se torna um destaque na discografia de Mimi. Recomendo: Cry, Faded, One More Try.
  15. May 27, 2014
    10
    One of her best albums ever. This album is a perfect balance of everything. Mariah has such a diverse fan base of all age and race. This album is for all of them. There are songs that are slower and have more soul like Cry and Dedicated and there are songs that are more upbeat like Thirsty and Money. And there are some very interesting and experimental tracks like Meteorite and #Beautiful.One of her best albums ever. This album is a perfect balance of everything. Mariah has such a diverse fan base of all age and race. This album is for all of them. There are songs that are slower and have more soul like Cry and Dedicated and there are songs that are more upbeat like Thirsty and Money. And there are some very interesting and experimental tracks like Meteorite and #Beautiful. Standout tracks are #Beautiful, Dedicated, Thirsty, Money and Camouflage. Amazing album. The vocal is great as well! 10/10 Expand
  16. May 27, 2014
    10
    Mariah is truly back to form. Gone are the gimmicks(except for thirsty), the catchy sounds for a quick hit. She's is really just doing what she does best, SINGING. Every song on this album has a meaning behind it and you can relate to the lyrics. Great album, great melodies and off cause great lyrics.
  17. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    PANORAMA
    É definitivamente um dos melhores álbuns que ela fez nos últimos tempos - eu diria comparável à qualidade de Butterfly.
    A maturidade e crescimento da artista MARIAH CAREY é impressionante nesse cd. Através deste álbum, ela deixou claro que ela não é apenas consciente do que está acontecendo musicalmente hoje em dia, mas ela também fez o que muitos artistas não conseguem fazer -
    PANORAMA
    É definitivamente um dos melhores álbuns que ela fez nos últimos tempos - eu diria comparável à qualidade de Butterfly.
    A maturidade e crescimento da artista MARIAH CAREY é impressionante nesse cd. Através deste álbum, ela deixou claro que ela não é apenas consciente do que está acontecendo musicalmente hoje em dia, mas ela também fez o que muitos artistas não conseguem fazer - ela olhou para trás e se permitiu ser inspirada, mesmo tendo quase 25 anos de carreira na industria da música.

    FAIXA-A-FAIXA

    CRY.
    Introduz o álbum com muita classe e com ar sombrio/melancólico/intimista. É uma superbalada rara para os dias de hoje, parecendo mais como uma "prelude" da música LOOKING IN, do maravilhoso cd DAYDREAM, de 1995. Cry. Apresenta as habilidades de uma verdadeira composista, e coloca uma melodia suavemente sinuosa e é refrescante ouvir essa faixa.

    FADED
    Faded é uma espécie de "MÚSICA INTANGÍVEL". A faixa pode parecer descartável, mas quando ouvimos a próxima faixa DEDICATED, fica evidente o quão necessária e estratégica se torna a existência de tal música no cd e figurando na posição 2 da execução do mesmo.

    DEDICATED
    Esta é uma faixa suave e lírica, com a participação de Nas.

    # BEAUTIFUL
    Não há realmente nada que eu poderia dizer sobre esta faixa que já não tenha sido dito, mas vou repetir isso por uma questão de exaustividade. Apesar de #BONITA ter quase um ano de idade, essa música parece não ter envelhecido em nada. Essas guitarras rumbling suaves evocam uma grande roadtrip americana e um ambiente aconchegante, refresh-out verão - exatamente o que precisamos agora.

    THIRSTY
    É uma boa música, com batidas marciais e nervosas, com pegada twerk. Esta canção é uma prova de sua capacidade de transformar qualquer batida em uma obra vocal - aquelas harmonias em todos os cantos e suas arrebatadoras vocalizes no final de cada frase do refrão é uma habilidade rara, e 'nem todo mundo tem isso', convenhamos né.

    MAKE IT LOOK GOOD
    O início desta canção soa como um filme-noir dos anos 40, soando como uma trilha sonora clássica. É como uma espécie de atualização retrô pros dias atuais; as letras divertidas e batida trazem um pouco de "comédia musical" à mente de quem escuta essa música. É um mashup interessante, e gaita (cortesia do Sr. Stevie Wonder) e o resultado é bastante diferente de tudo o que eu ouvi de Mariah.

    YOU'RE MINE (ETERNAL)
    É compreensível que Mariah poderia ter feito esta música na esperança de que ela fosse capaz de recapturar a mágica de We Belong Together. Mas, honestamente, está faixa ficou um pouco artificial e desnecessária, só que no contexto do cd ela se encaixa.

    YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO
    Uma das melhores músicas do álbum e, definitivamente, uma de suas melhores canções up-temps de todos os tempos! A introdução é de estilo gospel, e depois descamba pra uma batida contagiante, nossa, ficou fenomenal. Wale realmente não soa confuso em tudo sobre o rap sobre esta versão de estúdio do que na versão ao vivo do Today Show, então isso é uma coisa boa que ele realmente tem uma voz muito agradável para combinar a batida.

    SUPERNATURAL
    Se você tem um fraco por crianças vai amar escutar os filhos da Mariah cantando em suaves batidas R&B/slow-jam, esta é a melodia preponderante. Isso é uma sobrecarga de fofura.

    METEORITE
    Essa música poderia ter sido facilmente um sucesso no início dos anos 90.
    Uma música estilo HOUSE pulsante. Juntamente com os acordes "synth" e os vocais crescentes, esta é o mais próximo que temos de uma Mariah old-school Uptemp. E, provavelmente, poderia ter sido escrito por Madonna.

    CAMOUFLAGE
    Os efeitos do vento no começo soam um pouco perturbadores no início, mas depois vem os vocais e pianos que fazem essa música brilhar. Com vocais e camadas de voz super produzidas, nos remetem à algumas músicas do Butterfly e Rainbow (Interlude Vulnerabilidade e Against All Odds - por exemplo). É uma faixa assombrosamente bela.

    MONEY
    Eu adoro quando Mariah faz essas faixas retroS porque a voz dela se encaixa com maestria. MONEY é comparável à #BEAUTIFUL. É uma música em parceria com Fabolous, e este está muito bem colocado na música. Uma música realmente "atemporal".

    ONE MORE TRY
    Neste ponto Mariah é uma veterana. A versão de Mariah de One More Try soa sem esforço ainda meticulosamente produzida.

    HEAVENLY (NO WAYS TIRED / CAN 'T GIVE UP NOW)
    Mariah não fez segredo de que sua espiritualidade é uma grande parte de sua vida, e essa música é uma manifestação disso. Com um pequeno coro gospel e com uma sonoridade old-school e batida de funk "lo-fi" agitada, deixou essa faixa muito bem produzida.
    Expand
  18. Aug 2, 2014
    8
    Ok, let's go, what about the most underrated album since Aguilera's Bionic? Wroted and produced mostly by the one and only R&B queen, Me. I Am Mariah bring us how classic music should sound as hard as Back to Basics brought in 06.
    We can see the old good music that Mariah do since 90' in You're Mine and can see she trying new catchy styles in You Don't Know What To Do (the best song in
    Ok, let's go, what about the most underrated album since Aguilera's Bionic? Wroted and produced mostly by the one and only R&B queen, Me. I Am Mariah bring us how classic music should sound as hard as Back to Basics brought in 06.
    We can see the old good music that Mariah do since 90' in You're Mine and can see she trying new catchy styles in You Don't Know What To Do (the best song in the album so far) and the multi-shade Meteorite. Working with rappers, Mariah didn't recorded The Elusive Chanteuse to peak #1 all over world or to prove that she still the queen of her style, she just wrote this to prove us that she still alive and she's here to stay much, much more.
    Expand
  19. May 27, 2014
    10
    One of her best albums of all career, proving that she can still do some great music. #Beautiful, Money, You Don't Know What You Do and Heavenly overtakes for complete her last two albuns and put her in another level that we didn't see since The Emancipation Of Mimi.
  20. May 30, 2014
    9
    Mariah Carey delivered her best album since The Emancipation of Mimi (2005). It opens in a very unusual way with a ballad led by a piano and a soulful tone, which reminds us of her "Emotions" album (1991). Some of the gems are '#beautiful' (widly known and loved), 'You don´t know what to do' (kind of disco', and probably my favorite because of how good and how different it is from Carey:Mariah Carey delivered her best album since The Emancipation of Mimi (2005). It opens in a very unusual way with a ballad led by a piano and a soulful tone, which reminds us of her "Emotions" album (1991). Some of the gems are '#beautiful' (widly known and loved), 'You don´t know what to do' (kind of disco', and probably my favorite because of how good and how different it is from Carey: 'Make it look good', which includes a cameo by Steve Wonder. Of course there´s this epic gospel ending with 'Heavenly' and much more stuff. Cuteness and fresh sound in 'Supernatural', traditional hip hop 'Dedicated' and disco 'Meteorite'. It´s an amazing body of work which grows the more you listen and discover. Thankfully, critics are saying the same. Congrats to Mariah. Expand
  21. May 27, 2014
    10
    Mariah is back in top form on Me. I Am Mariah: The Elusive Chanteuse, her first 'REAL' exciting set since 2005's monster comeback The Emancipation of Mimi. Since then she's given us two offerings, 2008's E=Mc2 and 2009's Memoir's of An Imperfect Angel. Both albums suffered from desperation and trying too hard to live up to the greatness of the Emancipation album, that they both fell flatMariah is back in top form on Me. I Am Mariah: The Elusive Chanteuse, her first 'REAL' exciting set since 2005's monster comeback The Emancipation of Mimi. Since then she's given us two offerings, 2008's E=Mc2 and 2009's Memoir's of An Imperfect Angel. Both albums suffered from desperation and trying too hard to live up to the greatness of the Emancipation album, that they both fell flat with re-hashed versions of the mega-hit We Belong Together, with only glimmers of the Mariah we fell back in love with while she was Emancipated.. But gone is the desperation, the gimmicks, the over saturated features and back is the organic, confidence that Emancipation gave us.

    Me. I Am Mariah is the perfect showcase for Mariah at this stage in her career. Its mesmerising, melancholy, exciting but most of all its just simply GOOD GOOD music. From tracks like the explosive opening number 'Cry', 'Faded' a melancholy love anthem sure to be played all through to autumn, to throwback tracks like the ever fresh 'Beautiful', 'Make It Look Good' (where Stevie Wonders lends his harmonic skills), Explosive breakup anthem 'Thirsty', The hip hop celebrating nostalgic 'Dedicated' which is so delightful it will be replayed time and time again and the amazing 'You Don't Know What To Do' - where Mariah lives up to 'The Voice" slogan that she has been labelled with.. One of the albums best moments comes in the form of Meteorite, a blazing hot smooth club anthem, complete with jazzy saxophones and a delicious throwback vibe, which still remains typically Mariah. We even get an amazing George Michael cover, complete with a choir and once again those vocals and Dem babies - Mariah's twins even make an appearance on the gorgeously cute Supernatural.

    Overall the album is an absolute must hear for any R&B music lover. Its cohesive, storytelling, focused and an inspirational feat, when just last year many where writing our Mimi off. She bounces back and proves she is still a force to be reckoned with.

    SUPPORT MARIAH NOW AND PURCHASE THE ALBUM NOW!
    Expand
  22. Jul 11, 2014
    7
    O décimo quarto álbum da carreira da Mariah Carey é o seu retorno ao mundo da música na sua melhor forma desde o seu último retorno em 2005 com The Emancipation of Mimi. Porém, o novo trabalho não tem (aparentemente) nenhuma canção que se destaca que podemos dizer: "Essa vai ser um imenso sucesso!". Só que Me. I Am Mariah… é um álbum tão coeso e sólido como The Emancipation. O trabalhoO décimo quarto álbum da carreira da Mariah Carey é o seu retorno ao mundo da música na sua melhor forma desde o seu último retorno em 2005 com The Emancipation of Mimi. Porém, o novo trabalho não tem (aparentemente) nenhuma canção que se destaca que podemos dizer: "Essa vai ser um imenso sucesso!". Só que Me. I Am Mariah… é um álbum tão coeso e sólido como The Emancipation. O trabalho também não vai ser o arrasa quarteirões em termos de vendagens como o retorno anterior. Todavia, Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse mostra uma Mariah renovada sem perder a sua identidade original. Sendo assim, Mariah Carey entrega o seu melhor trabalho em anos com uma dignidade ímpar.

    Se não podemos esperar uma revolução na sonoridade de MC, Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse é um trabalho certeiro no que a cantora sabe fazer de melhor: R&B/pop com a sua personalidade incrustada do começo ao fim. O que faz o CD ganhar pontos positivos, entretanto, além do competente time de produtores que, liderados por Mariah, tem nomes como Hit-Boy, Jermaine Dupri, Bryan-Michael Cox e Q-Tip, é o fato de mesmo respeitando o DNA de Carey foi possível adicionar nuances novas em sua sonoridade. São nesses momentos que o álbum ganha vida de maneira inspiradora com o flerte com R&B mais moderninho e com o dance pop. Não é por menos que vem dessas misturas os melhores momentos do álbum: o single #Beautiful ao lado do cantor Miguel e You Don't Know What To Do com o rapper Wale em que Mariah faz um excepcional dance com forte influência de funk/disco music dos anos setenta. Só que Mariah não seria Mariah sem entregar seus momentos que a fizeram quem é. Com a produção fazendo um trabalho eficiente em quase todos os momentos, Me. I Am Mariah… mostra que a cantora ainda é a diva que sempre foi, talvez menos potente, mas, com a força emocional intacta. Logo de cara tem a boa balada pop/gospel Cry. Por falar em gospel, esse deve ser o trabalho mais orientando nessa direção: além da canção já citada, tem ainda a legal Camouflage e Heavenly (No Ways Tired / Can't Give Up Now), gospel do começo ao fim. Repito o que já foi escrito: Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse é um trabalho sólido que traz o melhor da cantora a tona. Todavia, há certos momentos não tão bons, ou melhor, momentos não tão sólidos. O pior deles é a regravação de One More Try do George Michael. Ótima música que é transformada em uma arrastada faixa com influência gospel. Outros momentos são: a bem intencionada, mas fraca Dedicated com o rapper Nas que pretende ser uma homenagem ao "passado" só que não tem a força que deveria ter e o confuso single You're Mine (Eternal) que parece perdido dentro do álbum.

    Outro positivo é a atuação vocal de Mariah: mesmo sem nenhum momento grandiosamente inesquecível, a cantora está contida em performances equilibradas e bem produzidas. Claro, ainda podemos ouvir os velhos (e as vezes, bons) maneirismos em vários momentos que devem deixar fãs da cantora com arrepios na espinha. O que não mudou e continua sendo uma coisa que ainda gera criticas são as composições vindas de MC. As faixas em Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse são escritas com cuidado e são trabalhos bons, mas que não avançam no esquema romântico água com açúcar e/ou diva cantando com rapper. Uma decisão questionável é colocar na versão deluxe duas canções de Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel apenas adicionando participações especiais de nomes consagrados da música. Enquanto a adição de Mary J. Blige melhora It's a Wrap, R.Kelly não faz justiça a Betcha Gon' Know. Mesmo com essa escolha, Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse tem outros momentos que compensam como a bonita "parceria" com o casal de gêmeos da cantora em Supernatural, a irônica e dançante Meteorite e a The Art of Letting Go. Parafraseando Beyoncé em Ghost: talvez Mariah Carey não vá fazer dinheiro com Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse. Bem, o que importa é que Mariah entrou um trabalho com qualidade verdadeira. E isso é o que importa, não é?
    Expand
  23. May 29, 2014
    8
    This is indeed Carey's best album post Glitter! it even has more memorable jams than the Emancipation of Mimi and is her most solid work in years! Best Tracks are Dedicated, Faded, Thirsty, Heavenly, You Don't know what to do & Meteorite!
    Next potential hits: You don't know what to do & Dedicated
  24. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    We have been waiting for over 2 years now for an album and it was definitely worth the wait, Me I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse is true perfection. Almost every song is amazing. 9.510 REMARKABLE.
  25. May 30, 2014
    7
    What are YOU hoping for from Mariah Carey? That, that is the primal question before you listen to 'Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse', the singer's long delayed, 14th studio effort. If you're looking for club pop, or top 40 hits.... you're in for disappointment. If you're looking for the R&B infused pop that made Mariah a legend in the 90s.... You're ALMOST in luck! If 2004's 'WeWhat are YOU hoping for from Mariah Carey? That, that is the primal question before you listen to 'Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse', the singer's long delayed, 14th studio effort. If you're looking for club pop, or top 40 hits.... you're in for disappointment. If you're looking for the R&B infused pop that made Mariah a legend in the 90s.... You're ALMOST in luck! If 2004's 'We Belong Together' was a return to form for Mariah, and the finest point of her career throughout the 00s, then consider 'MIAMTEC' her first big moment of this decade. Though the original title of the project, 'The Art of Letting Go' was infinitely better, and nothing on this album completely delivers to the nostalgic prowess of Mimi's 90s vocals, there are several notable moments that might just get you to that point of musical ecstasy that you've been longing for.

    The pitfall of this album is that it doesn't quite return to Mariah's most intimate form.... unfortunately, it's more of a combination of 90s R&B/pop meets 00s urban pop, which ultimately makes it feel a little dated, because it certainly isn't fresh, yet it also isn't brilliant enough to be called a throwback. All in all though, it's a much more enjoyable listen than Carey's previous two attempts, and leaves you ultimately excited for the future and a possible tour.... I mean let's face it, Mimi's vocals are better than they've been in years.

    Highlights include the ballads 'Cry', 'Faded', and 'One More Try', as well as the upbeat numbers 'Thirsty', 'Meteorite', and 'Make it Look Good'.
    Expand
  26. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Amazing! I DONT CARE FOR HITS! I wanna talent and I saw it in this album! I love it! Amazing! Her best album since The Emancipation of Mimi and the more personal od her career 10
  27. May 29, 2014
    9
    "Elusive Chanteuse" is probably Carey's most prolific work since 2005's "Emancipation," and hearkens back to the creative experimentation with "Butterfly." Her vocals are no where near what they were in the 90s, and that's okay. Her newer material is written with her present abilities in mind, instead of having to push to sing the classics like "Always Be My Baby" and "Hero." The album"Elusive Chanteuse" is probably Carey's most prolific work since 2005's "Emancipation," and hearkens back to the creative experimentation with "Butterfly." Her vocals are no where near what they were in the 90s, and that's okay. Her newer material is written with her present abilities in mind, instead of having to push to sing the classics like "Always Be My Baby" and "Hero." The album is a dichotomy - it sounds steeped in the past, but looks to the future - the bridge of "Cry." has a similar progression as "One Sweet Day;" "Make It Look Good" is similar to "It's a Wrap" from "Memoirs;" "You Don't Know What To Do" is a revamp of "I'm That Chick" from "E=MC2;" and "Camouflage" reads like "Petals" from "Rainbow;" the album succeeds in its nostalgia, its nod to Carey's prolific past and uncertain future - the diva is a dying art form, and Carey is one of the last to embody it. This album won't add to the laundry list of records and awards she's received, though it most definitely should. I find it difficult to isolate and listen to only ONE track - this is truly an ALBUM, and Carey should be proud of creating something so consistent and solid. Expand
  28. Jun 27, 2014
    4
    Really?
    Her worst album, she don't sing like before, you can hear horribles belts, i think there are only a few songs that fit in Mariah quality... Cry, #Beautiful, You don't know what to do... Poop!
  29. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    Mariah hat echt ein tolles album kreiert, man muss die lieder mehrmals hören um sie zu mögen, so war es z.b bei 'Deadicted und Make It Look Good' die lieder klangen wie aus den 70er und 80er, aber nachdem ich sie mehrmals gehört habe, mochte ich sie....zu meinen Lieblingslieder zählen aufjedenfall 'You Don't Know, Heavenly und Camouflage..........Um ehrlich zu sein kann ich die NegativeMariah hat echt ein tolles album kreiert, man muss die lieder mehrmals hören um sie zu mögen, so war es z.b bei 'Deadicted und Make It Look Good' die lieder klangen wie aus den 70er und 80er, aber nachdem ich sie mehrmals gehört habe, mochte ich sie....zu meinen Lieblingslieder zählen aufjedenfall 'You Don't Know, Heavenly und Camouflage..........Um ehrlich zu sein kann ich die Negative Kritik nicht nachvollziehen, nur weil Mariah nicht zu ein Mainstream album wie Beyoncé gemacht hat, mögen die anderen es nicht. Es ist ein tolles Contemporary RnB album.....das einzige was sie hätte noch besser machen können, wäre es mit weniger Rapper zu Kollaborieren und ich hätte mehr Balladen statt Dance lieder gemocht. Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2014
    7
    "Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse", es para muchos uno de los mejores discos de Mariah Carey.Presenta temas pegadizos y unas baladas impresionantes, los puntos fuertes del álbum son "#Beautiful", "Meteorite" o "Money". Mariah tiene unos vocales increíbles y los demuestra en este álbum.
  31. Jul 8, 2014
    8
    It was worth having waited almost five years for the album release. This album has a more than perfect Built between Hip-Hop, R & B, Soul, Blue, Disco and Pop Contemporary... It's a great work, worthy of critical acclaim, but Mariah is not to change your prized artistic concept is a bit of the past mixed with the present, and unfortunately it falls short...
  32. Feb 4, 2015
    4
    She has lost the star power and the star quality she once had, nowadays only but a few songs fit her voice. Her belts aren't stunning anymore and her whistle notes sound hoarse, maybe because of age? Also her voice lost power and she often strays from the correct pitch/note.
  33. GSF
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    I think it's pretty obvious at this point Mariah's vocals are severely damaged. She can't even attempt to hit the vocal highs of her 90's self, but that's quite alright when the material itself is this good. "The Elusive Chanteuse" plays as a trip down memory lane; a nostalgic keepsake, from the disco-tinged "You Don't Know What to Do" to the ode to old school hip hip "Dedicated" to theI think it's pretty obvious at this point Mariah's vocals are severely damaged. She can't even attempt to hit the vocal highs of her 90's self, but that's quite alright when the material itself is this good. "The Elusive Chanteuse" plays as a trip down memory lane; a nostalgic keepsake, from the disco-tinged "You Don't Know What to Do" to the ode to old school hip hip "Dedicated" to the throwback R&B/soul "#Beautiful" (ugh,why #? why?#?#).
    Certain #missteps aside, this is by far Mariah's best offering since "The Emancipation of Mimi" 10 years ago
    Expand
  34. May 28, 2014
    9
    They say that the best albums are the ones that you hate at the beginning, but that slowly win you over with every listen. Me. I Am Mariah..... The Elusive Chanteuse is one of these. Do not judge the album solely by its first track Cry., because that is not what it is all about. On the contrary, most of the album is an R&B, power ballad spectacle that showcases l'incroyable voix de notreThey say that the best albums are the ones that you hate at the beginning, but that slowly win you over with every listen. Me. I Am Mariah..... The Elusive Chanteuse is one of these. Do not judge the album solely by its first track Cry., because that is not what it is all about. On the contrary, most of the album is an R&B, power ballad spectacle that showcases l'incroyable voix de notre chateuse Mariah. After several listens, I have come to the realization that she truly blew me away and I can confidently say that this album re-establishes her as the artist we have come to know her as and places her back on the pedestal; her rightful place. I am actually surprised that her singles she had already released did not perform as well as the Emancipation era singles because they are just as great. My favorite songs off the album would have to be Faded and You Don't Know What to Do. There's something about the piano instrumental in Faded that draws you right in like a maritime tide. As for YDKWTD, it's disco influenced and showcases Mariah's vast vocal talent and is just so fun to dance to. Although, I must say that the songs on the second half of the album are not as compelling as the first half (mostly the deluxe edition tracks) but I am pretty sure that they will grow on me, just like the first half. Mariah definitely has something to brag about this time around. Now all that is missing is a Billboard Hot 100 #1 Announcement and a tour (one can only hope). Expand
  35. May 27, 2014
    5
    Reading the professional reviews, I thought I'd be blown away. The first thing that should've warned me that I wouldn't be blown away was the first track being "Cry". I don't understand why this is the lead track. Going through the album, there are too many ballads. Now if they were ballads like "We Belong Together" I wouldn't mind them but they're nowhere near that caliber. Not everythingReading the professional reviews, I thought I'd be blown away. The first thing that should've warned me that I wouldn't be blown away was the first track being "Cry". I don't understand why this is the lead track. Going through the album, there are too many ballads. Now if they were ballads like "We Belong Together" I wouldn't mind them but they're nowhere near that caliber. Not everything was bad about the album. "Thirsty" is a standout as great as the smash lead single "#Beautiful". The vocals & uptempo of "You Don't Know What To Do" are EXACTLY the songs we need more of here! "Meteorite" is another standout that there needs to be more of. The George Michael cover of "One More Try" is a great ballad & choice to make. Other than those songs, I don't see anymore of them making it to my iPod. This is a huge step UP from Memoirs of An Imperfect Angel but we have heard better from the Elusive Chanteuse. Expand
  36. Apr 6, 2015
    0
    Mariah Carey is the WORST MUSICIAN EVER, next to Justin Bieber. Her music is so trashy. I hate all of her songs SO MUCH!! But still in person, she isn't as idiotic as JB who got detained and arrested by the cops. Avoid this album at ALL COSTS!! Buy Mario Kart Wii, 7 or 8 instead. I also beat her up in SSB4.
  37. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    This is not her best and she's not been in her prime for a long time, but this is still a joyful album that's really better than a lot of **** out there.
    So yes.
  38. Apr 13, 2015
    0
    Lame, boring, crappy, and Mariah Carey is the worst musician ever! But in person, She is a heck of a lot better than JB whom is a dumb kid that got arrested for assault after an ATV collision, threw eggs at his fans, DUI, etc. Avoid MC and JB at ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!! I also beat both in SSB 3DS / Wii U. Curse ya Bieber and curse ya Carey!!!!
  39. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    The universal management pessima we have played hymns in the trash without disclosure without any support from the record company released the best album of R & B's all played out today.
  40. Feb 9, 2016
    8
    This album sound very intimate. The lyrics are very beautiful and the vocals sound mature. The only flaw is the lack of potential singles, but it´s a great album that diserves attention.
  41. Feb 13, 2016
    10
    Brilliant from head to toe. Despite only giving it a 60 score, even RS ranks it among the best R&B releases of 2014. It's personal, beautiful, well written and produced. It features some of Mariah's best melodies in years.
  42. May 24, 2016
    10
    Este é o melhor álbum de Mariah em anos, ela soube mostrar muito bem que continua sendo a maior artista do gênero R&B, Mariah trouxe no disco músicas com letras fortes e emocionantes como Cry., Camouflage, The Art Of Letting Go e Faded e músicas bastante alegres como Thirsty, Meteorite, Make It Look Good e várias outras fora a maravilhosa Supernatural com os DemBabies, este CD ficou muitoEste é o melhor álbum de Mariah em anos, ela soube mostrar muito bem que continua sendo a maior artista do gênero R&B, Mariah trouxe no disco músicas com letras fortes e emocionantes como Cry., Camouflage, The Art Of Letting Go e Faded e músicas bastante alegres como Thirsty, Meteorite, Make It Look Good e várias outras fora a maravilhosa Supernatural com os DemBabies, este CD ficou muito melhor do que o último dela lançado em 2009 (MOAIA), Me I Am pode figurar no top 5 de melhores álbuns da carreira de Mariah, nele contém o R&B gostoso de ouvir que só a Mariah consegue fazer, melhor álbum lançado em 2014!!! Expand
  43. Dec 21, 2016
    9
    Mariah Carey vuelve a experimentar con nuevos géneros en este álbum, lo cual es evidente en canciones cómo "Thirsty", "Dedicated", "You Don't Know What to Do" y "Meteorite". El álbum es bueno, tiene baladas realmente inspiradoras como "Cry.", "Faded", "The Art of Letting Go" y "You're Mine (Eternal)". Me gusta mucho este disco a comparación de su antecesor "Memoirs of An Imperfect Angel"Mariah Carey vuelve a experimentar con nuevos géneros en este álbum, lo cual es evidente en canciones cómo "Thirsty", "Dedicated", "You Don't Know What to Do" y "Meteorite". El álbum es bueno, tiene baladas realmente inspiradoras como "Cry.", "Faded", "The Art of Letting Go" y "You're Mine (Eternal)". Me gusta mucho este disco a comparación de su antecesor "Memoirs of An Imperfect Angel" es un muy bailable y a la vez muy diferente y tiene colaboraciones muy bien escogidas. Creo que el tiempo que nos hizo esperar Carey fue oro, ya que nos dió un álbum súper genial. // Mariah Carey returns to experiment with new genres in this album, which is evident in songs like "Thirsty", "Dedicated", "You Don't Know What to Do" and "Meteorite". The album is good, has really inspiring ballads like "Cry.", "Faded", "The Art of Letting Go" and "You're Mine (Eternal)". I really like this record compared to its predecessor "Memoirs of An Imperfect Angel" is a very danceable and very different and has very well chosen collaborations. I think the time that made Carey wait for us was gold, since it gave us a great super album. Expand
  44. Aug 21, 2018
    10
    Um álbum pessoal de uma artista de verdade, que além de cantar também participa de todo o processo de criação, desde a letra até a produção. Mostrando que apesar do tempo continua muito boa com o que faz, sendo original e ao mesmo tempo não perdendo a sua essência.
  45. Aug 14, 2018
    8
    Although it had a stormy release, Mariah delivered one of the best R&B albums of 2014. It had the classic Mariah ballads while also including fresh and breezy dance numbers. Her versatility shines through.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 7, 2014
    60
    She’s just a comfortable [singer], and that’s a good thing for her. She doesn’t need to be, nor should she ever be elusive. This album proves that in spades.
  2. Jun 16, 2014
    77
    The album sounds exactly, defiantly like Mariah, acknowledging her place in the pop ecosystem both implicitly and explicitly without chomping at the bit.
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    50
    Even for all its collaborations, bringing in Mary J Blige and R Kelly, the desperate skirting around for identity leaves this album feeling underwhelming.