• Record Label: S-Curve
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveP
    Jan 24, 2005
    3
    This is a nightmare of a CD. If I want to listen to old-school soul and blues, I can put on my Aretha or Etta CDs anytime. I don't need to listen to a teen age soul imitator. She has no understanding on how to interpret a song. It's like listening to someone in a karaoke bar with good vocal chops but no heart or brain.
  2. o.Jones
    Oct 1, 2004
    2
    Every note sounding like it's been vomited up may seem soulful to some (probably the same folks who love Micheal Bolton), but for me, that's a big no. Joss Stone is being sold as a "blue-eyed soul" prodigy with Roots back-up (what were y'all thinking?!) being used to add some street cred. Don't be fooled...It's faux soul at it's worst. She's a one trick Every note sounding like it's been vomited up may seem soulful to some (probably the same folks who love Micheal Bolton), but for me, that's a big no. Joss Stone is being sold as a "blue-eyed soul" prodigy with Roots back-up (what were y'all thinking?!) being used to add some street cred. Don't be fooled...It's faux soul at it's worst. She's a one trick pony, all husky vocal runs, zero emotion. A whole CD of it gets really old and monotous, really quickly. If you want what Joss desperately wishes she could be, pick up Teena Marie. Expand
  3. margored
    Oct 6, 2004
    8
    enjoyed it, even after 3 listens.
  4. thyscalitss
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    best album ever
  5. KonradR
    Nov 6, 2004
    4
    Joss Stone has the looks, the voice and the originality to make it in the post-Norah Jones pop industry, but she needs to be careful not to stay to precisely to the image/sound she's in at the moment, because what in The Soul Sessions came across as strikingly authentic interpretations of old soul classics now comes across as kitsch.
  6. YVANG
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    One word, Incredible. Joss's incredibly soulful and classy voice is just unresistable. Anyone who says that her voice soon becomes monotonous does not know the marks of a true artist. Her songs are meaningful and deep and will leave you humming and singing your heart out. Joss has sensational range and can sing any song to it's fullest potential. Favoritism is not at its work One word, Incredible. Joss's incredibly soulful and classy voice is just unresistable. Anyone who says that her voice soon becomes monotonous does not know the marks of a true artist. Her songs are meaningful and deep and will leave you humming and singing your heart out. Joss has sensational range and can sing any song to it's fullest potential. Favoritism is not at its work here, this is a completely fair and correct review. Expand
  7. LautenceH
    Oct 3, 2004
    7
    Yeah, pretty similar to "The Soul Sessions" despite a poppier sound. Good album.
  8. PimpS
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    Forget about what critics say, trust your own ear. This sista put the S on Soul..Maginificent
  9. Benton
    Jan 4, 2005
    8
    Awesome. Joss Stone is a one of a kind vocalist. Style and talent like her's is rare these days. Stone's taps into emotions that most artist neglect and are slow to confront. She has a way of putting the inexpressable into music, a trait that need not be overlooked. The single element that prevents a 10 on this album is Stone's tendency to "over riff." There is too much Awesome. Joss Stone is a one of a kind vocalist. Style and talent like her's is rare these days. Stone's taps into emotions that most artist neglect and are slow to confront. She has a way of putting the inexpressable into music, a trait that need not be overlooked. The single element that prevents a 10 on this album is Stone's tendency to "over riff." There is too much movement in many of the songs. They would have been better off left straight toned. Other than that, this album has all of the elements of a solid record: from quality lyrics, to musicality. Expand
  10. YvanG.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    Great album from an incredible talent!
  11. StevenC
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    Great album! Very soulful and truely one of a kind!
  12. anabele
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    I Love this cd!
  13. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    This was a very pleasent surprise. Joss steps out of her comfort zone and succeeds in briliantly mixing different styles of music with her soul roots she tackles reggae, R&B, blues and even throws a little hip hop into the first single "you had me" she showcases her amazin voice in a understated subtle way wich leaves you room to apprtiate not only her voice but her lyrical ability, the This was a very pleasent surprise. Joss steps out of her comfort zone and succeeds in briliantly mixing different styles of music with her soul roots she tackles reggae, R&B, blues and even throws a little hip hop into the first single "you had me" she showcases her amazin voice in a understated subtle way wich leaves you room to apprtiate not only her voice but her lyrical ability, the live band, and the fabuolous production. Expand
  14. StevenT
    Nov 26, 2004
    2
    Overpolished, overextended and hideously boring, Josh Stone is the Britney of blues. Do yourself a favor and listen to the real stuff.
  15. ErickaR
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is a cd everyone must listen! All the songs are beautiful, and cleaverly orchestrated! One of my all time favourites!
  16. Keisha
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    I think this is a fantastic album and even better than her first. She's got a great voice and she's got some special lyrics on there. I REALLY like Don't cha wanna ride, Jet Lag and Snakes and ladders.
  17. MugiMTV
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    It is very rare that I can listen to a whole album without skipping a track or losing interest. "Mind, Body & Soul" is the only album I can carry on listening to again and again and again. I guess it's just my type of voice, my type of music, my kind of vibe. To this date (August 2009) this is my personal all-time favourite album. So that's a heart-felt 11 from me.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Blender
    60
    Split[s] the difference between guaranteed hook appeal and a decent simulation of emotional truth. [Oct 2004, p.129]
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    There are rather too many old-fashioned slow songs here, and as a result, the album is predictable. [Oct 2004, p.114]
  3. Rolling Stone
    60
    As on her last album, tasteful retro organs and wah-wah dominate this batch of originals. [28 Oct 2004, p.99]