• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Sep 3, 2002

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Alternative Press
    A blissed-out menagerie of subtly morphing beats and elegant melodies within a dub framework. [Oct 2002, p.88]
  2. 80
    A good chunk of soulful melody tinged with delightful, lackadaisical vocals and reggae vibrations.
  3. Uncut
    The perfect soundtrack to summer in the city. [Oct 2002, p.111]
  4. This time out, the beats are more energetic, the tunes feature more vocals, and there's a slightly poppier feel that makes it harder to get lost in than some of their previous, more spaced-out efforts.
  5. Mojo
    The cumulative effect is wildly narcotic. [Oct 2002, p.100]
  6. Mixer
    If you liked previous Nightmares On Wax material, this one won't do it for you, as Evelyn's music has grown more vocal-based and less "stony."
  7. Q Magazine
    This friskier, fresher take on Evelyn's previous fare is especially well judged bearing in mind that the last thing the world needs is another chill-out album. [Sep 2002, p.111]
  8. Maybe while stoned it makes sense, but sober, Mind Elevation is more confusing than uplifting.
  9. Magnet
    The album fares best when Evelyn lets his sampler do the talking. [#56, p.101]
  10. Urb
    While meticulously arranged, Mind Elevation contains its share of anonymous, carbon-copy beats. [Sep 2002, p.104]
  11. Most of this album, basically, doesn't work.
  12. Ironically, the fact that there are so many vocals really saves Mind Elevation from being the first bland record by Nightmares on Wax; as it is, there's something to focus on for those few tracks where the old production genius just doesn't seem to be there anymore.
  13. Blender
    Like Morcheeba at their worst. [#10, p.124]
User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. BrianJ.
    Sep 12, 2002
    lots of brilliant beats and vocals but in general a bit confusing