• Record Label: G.O.O.D.
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2020
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
Watch Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2021
    9
    Oh lord. How much do I regret listening to this album right after submitting my vote for the best albums of 2020 on Metacritic! This one could easily have reached my top 3.
    Lyrics are deep, emotional, introspective. We can feel that 070 Shake took her time and made a true sacrifice to come up with this. There surely must have been sparks and fire in that Los Angeles studio with Mike Dean.
    Oh lord. How much do I regret listening to this album right after submitting my vote for the best albums of 2020 on Metacritic! This one could easily have reached my top 3.
    Lyrics are deep, emotional, introspective. We can feel that 070 Shake took her time and made a true sacrifice to come up with this. There surely must have been sparks and fire in that Los Angeles studio with Mike Dean. Her voice is marvelous and touching, amazing chanting, awesome rapping (if we can call it that way).
    Overall production is a miracle. There is no other word to qualify it. It is deep, catchy, sharp, soft, hovering and slight at the same time. 070 Shake truly has the taste to let silence speak and invade us. We get through so much varied emotions during the project. It is unbelievable. Mixing perfectly retro and futuristic sounds is another quality shes possess.
    I don't have a favorite song in this project but I just love all the atmosphere.
    The only flaw is repetitiveness, especially in 'Daydreamin' and 'Microdosing' tracks.
    Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2020
    5
    Don't Break The Silence - 6/10
    Come Around - 6/10
    Morrow - 6,5/10
    It's Forever - 4/10
    Rocketship - 6/10
    Divorce - 6/10
    The Pines - 6/10
    Guilty Conscience - 6,5/10
    Microdosing - 5,7/10
    Nice To Have - 6/10
    Under The Moon - 6/10
    Daydreamin - 5,7/10
    Terminal B - 5,8/10
    Flight319 - 5/10
  3. Sep 7, 2020
    10
    I close my eyes and just vibe with this album so magically that I forget about my whole existence
  4. Jul 30, 2020
    9
    cohesive and leads us to what it promises. from beginning to end the album takes us to a nostalgic and at the same time futuristic atmosphere, as already featured on the futuristic retro cover. A great debut.
  5. Feb 21, 2020
    7
    Saw her live. What a woman. Strong songs. Good vibe
    Great lyrics Heartfelt
  6. Jan 26, 2020
    7
    Production on this album is bonkers and since it comes from GOOD Music, that doesn't surprise me. 070 Shake has the potential to make a much greater album. I really would give this a 7.5 if Metacritic allowed me instead of 7. What falls short a little bit is her style of singing/rapping (it sounds like a lot of trap rappers trying to sing like Swae Lee) and vanilla plain lyrics on some ofProduction on this album is bonkers and since it comes from GOOD Music, that doesn't surprise me. 070 Shake has the potential to make a much greater album. I really would give this a 7.5 if Metacritic allowed me instead of 7. What falls short a little bit is her style of singing/rapping (it sounds like a lot of trap rappers trying to sing like Swae Lee) and vanilla plain lyrics on some of the tracks. The best tracks on here, in my opinion, are "Morrow" and "Guilty Conscience." Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2020
    9
    070 Shakes cements herself as an artist to watch with "Modus Vivendi." I went into this album not knowing what to expect as this was my first time ever listening to Shakes. I think that the production on this album is phenomenal and the atmosphere surrounding this album is something that I think everyone should experience at least once. It is quite early in the year, but I can definitely070 Shakes cements herself as an artist to watch with "Modus Vivendi." I went into this album not knowing what to expect as this was my first time ever listening to Shakes. I think that the production on this album is phenomenal and the atmosphere surrounding this album is something that I think everyone should experience at least once. It is quite early in the year, but I can definitely see this making my top albums of the year by year's end. A fantastic debut album. Collapse
  8. Jan 20, 2020
    10
    This album was honestly a work of art. The production was flawless and incorporated several retro-sounding elements which just adds to the greatness of this album. A skipless album.
  9. Jan 18, 2020
    8
    Modus Vivendi is a captivating, dark, yet sweet debut album. Really enjoyable sonically thanks to the production from Mike Dean, lyricism is very much there, and overall a worthwhile listen.
  10. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    The production of the album is amazing. Shake knows how to mix different industrial and retro 80's synths sounds perfectly. It's a surprise that this is a debut album because it sounds like a person who's been here for a while and now experimenting with their sound. I'll be looking forward towards this artist's future work for sure.
  11. Jan 18, 2020
    8
    One of the best recent debut albums. It’s futuristic and has a retro touch at the right times. I wasn’t expecting much but I was surprised at how successful this album is at beautifully communicating both simple and complex topics. It’s truly a listening experience.
  12. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    Overall great experience to just close your eyes, listen to and absorb! Different from her other music, but in many ways, it's better. All the songs flow fluently together and work together to create the whole album.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Q Magazine
    Feb 11, 2020
    80
    While not every idea feels as flesh out, Modus Vivendi teases a talented artist trying something genuinely new. [Apr 2020, p.105]
  2. Feb 10, 2020
    80
    Ultimately, Shake carves out poetic tranquility in the entropy of her messy relationship, showing her audience the art of Modus Vivendi — or the peaceful coexistence of conflicting forces.
  3. Jan 21, 2020
    73
    Modus is essentially the antithesis of the half-baked works that arose from Kanye’s Wyoming sessions in 2018. It is the result of a handful of talented collaborators who provide enough eclecticism to balance out the bombastic sound of G.O.O.D. in-house producer Mike Dean.