Moonshine Freeze Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the alternative folk rock project of Kate Stables was produced by John Parish.
Buy Now
Buy on

Top Track

Moonshine Freeze
As the change sets in We are separate As the game begins We are separate Some strings slackening Others giving in Change sets in Cycles of... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 5, 2017
    After three previous albums, Moonshine Freeze is finally the sound of a storyteller of a musician finding her niche. And it is a joy to behold.
  2. Jul 10, 2017
    This is an album that deserves big headphones and large sweeping views of grey coastal days.
  3. Jul 5, 2017
    Sparkling banjos arpeggios; freak-out saxophjone; John Parish's inventive production; a wealth og strong, beautifully-enunciated vocal melodies--tons has gone into the latest work from Kate Stables, aka This Is The Kit, and all of it is good. [Aug 2017, p.91]
  4. 80
    Moonshine Freeze is an album that sparkles with exuberance and energy, but it also subtly and steadily gives up its deeper secrets. Stables has always had a knack for accomplished melody and intriguing lyrics, and as you dive under the surface, you can’t help but find a wealth of inspiring rewards.
  5. Jul 26, 2017
    Even in its busiest moments, the album has a soothing effect. Its rough charms begin to feel like an acceptance of a world in disarray, refining its chaos into compact moments of beauty.
  6. Aug 3, 2017
    Though it lacks some of the more memorable hooks that have appeared throughout Stables’ previous work, each song here has its own particular heartbeat, thus painting a portrait of an artist at her most reflective, if not always her most accessible.
  7. Jul 5, 2017
    An enjoyable if low-key listen that consolidates rather than shakes Stables’ current status.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of