• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2014
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 98
  2. Negative: 15 out of 98
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2014
    5
    Plotë me karamele vesh , Motion është një tjetër shembull i një album EDM shkuar nuk ka ku . Me ndihmën e shumë artistëve të shfaqur , Calvin Harris tërheq një grup të mirë të këngëve për të mbajtur të pushtuar . Duke kërkuar për një LP me një tregim? Shikoni diku tjetër , ose ju do të ndiheni të pakënaqur

    5/10
    i përzier
  2. Nov 7, 2014
    3
    While I really enjoyed "I Created Disco," "Ready For The Weekend," and "18 Months," I'm really disappointed by this album.

    It's not completely without substance - "It Was You" feat. Firebeatz, and "Burnin" feat R3hab stand out as enjoyable tracks. "Together" feat. Gwen Stefani was also reminiscent of older Harris tracks. The rest of this album, however, has a certain hackneyed
    While I really enjoyed "I Created Disco," "Ready For The Weekend," and "18 Months," I'm really disappointed by this album.

    It's not completely without substance - "It Was You" feat. Firebeatz, and "Burnin" feat R3hab stand out as enjoyable tracks. "Together" feat. Gwen Stefani was also reminiscent of older Harris tracks.

    The rest of this album, however, has a certain hackneyed finish to it. Most of the songs are over-compressed, giving the album a "nuked for radio" sound. The majority of the drops sound flat and predictable as a result. There is audible distortion in some of the tracks as well, which is completely unacceptable for an artist of this caliber. "Outside" and "Open Wide" are the biggest examples of audible distortion - the choruses sounds like they were processed through a Boss Metal Zone. This album was the victim of a "loudness war" mix, and an amateur one at that.

    In addition, this album has an all-star line-up, but fails to deliver an all-star product. It's like the 2004 Dream Team or the 2008 Yankees - the mere existence of high caliber talent doesn't make for a championship team. Harris's songs with Alesso, John Newman, Ellie Goulding, Haim, Big Sean, and Gwen Stefani - all great in their own respects - sound more like product extensions than they do artistic collaborations.

    Some of the songs sound a little imitated as well - the syncopated percussive lines in "Dollar Signs" seems to borrow heavily from Martin Garrix's "Animals," and the perfomance from Tinashe that sounds like Rihanna Lite. (Rihanna also had a song about dollar signs, oddly enough.)

    Overall, this majority of this album sounds like a label executive's idea of an electronic music album, more than it sounds like an electronic music album made by one of the best DJs in electronic music. I'm sure it will get plenty of radio spins, and maybe be featured in a few tech product commercials, but that won't make this album any better.

    Sorry to say, but this album isn't Harris's best work. The best we can hope for is that the sales from this album will fuel a more earnest effort in the future.
    Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2014
    8
    Calvin continues to do what he knows best. It is great to see him collaborating with other producers including Alesso, Ummet Ozcan, R3HAB and Firebeatz to create something truly amazing. The collaborations with the guest vocalists are great as usual because Calvin creates a sound that will work for the featured artists that can work exceptionally well with their vocals. Also, it is greatCalvin continues to do what he knows best. It is great to see him collaborating with other producers including Alesso, Ummet Ozcan, R3HAB and Firebeatz to create something truly amazing. The collaborations with the guest vocalists are great as usual because Calvin creates a sound that will work for the featured artists that can work exceptionally well with their vocals. Also, it is great to hear Calvin sing on the opening track 'Faith', it works well for his voice. It is good to see him taking risks production wise because he went back to his roots on 'Slow Acid' which is a departure from his usual sound but fans from the 'I Created Disco' era would recognise that instantly. This continues to show that he is a versatile producer, songwriter and singer and definitely not a 'sellout' or a one trick pony which some people would bash on him. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    melhor dj do mundo né gente vai pa merda pq esse album tá topado assim como clarity do zedd vei to digitando a toa 3 vezes pq n atingiu 150 caracteres vai p puta q te pariu
  5. Dec 1, 2014
    9
    I remember hearing the theme Outside at a road cafeteria, that rhythm which moves countless sensations, with Ellie Goulding's particular voice, while I was watching a group of people chatting to each other, the lovely shop decoration, and the vast fields through the windows, and I got to appreciate that beautiful moment.
  6. Dec 20, 2014
    4
    In general, the catchy beats and trendy vocal hooks cover up the fact that there is little, almost none true personality and creativity from Harris in this album. As it turns out, Motion is more than disappointing, leaving a still blank space where a blank space, desirous of expression, used to be. Since I always highlight a few tracks, for Motion it will be "Slow Acid", which is the onlyIn general, the catchy beats and trendy vocal hooks cover up the fact that there is little, almost none true personality and creativity from Harris in this album. As it turns out, Motion is more than disappointing, leaving a still blank space where a blank space, desirous of expression, used to be. Since I always highlight a few tracks, for Motion it will be "Slow Acid", which is the only track that expresses something personal, and "Pray To God", which is the only valuable collaboration of the whole album. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2015
    7
    PT (BR): Inicialmente, eu não tive desejo algum em ouvir o projeto 'Motion'. Achava eu não ter curiosidade por algum qualquer álbum dele até que me propus a ouvir seu mais recente single 'Pray To God' em parceria com a banda HAIM. Eu não tive palavras para definir o quanto aquilo era de certa forma 'diferente' do seu ponto de vista e conforto, sendo assim, isto me deu coragem a embarcarPT (BR): Inicialmente, eu não tive desejo algum em ouvir o projeto 'Motion'. Achava eu não ter curiosidade por algum qualquer álbum dele até que me propus a ouvir seu mais recente single 'Pray To God' em parceria com a banda HAIM. Eu não tive palavras para definir o quanto aquilo era de certa forma 'diferente' do seu ponto de vista e conforto, sendo assim, isto me deu coragem a embarcar numa jornada através de mais pérolas como essa no seu trabalho. E Novamente, me encontrei de queixo caído. Eu simplesmente adorei toda aquela melodia eufórica de um modo que nada era tão indiferente á cada canção. 'Under Control', 'Pray To God', 'Open Wide', 'Ecstasy' e 'Together', com certeza na minha opinião foram a supremacia deste álbum. Na minha opinião, nada mais que clara, 'Together' e 'Ecstasy' devem ser as próximas apostas de Calvin quanto a futuros singles. Além da canção 'Love Now', que também é ótima. Um álbum um tanto bom quanto fraco em certos sentidos, porém maravilhoso em outros.
    EN (US): Initially, I did not have any desire to hear the project 'Motion'. I thought I did not have any curiosity for a live album until I set out to hear his latest single 'Pray To God' in partnership with HAIM band. I had no words to define how much it was somehow 'different' from their point of view and comfort, so this gave me the courage to embark on a journey through more gems like this in their work. And again, I found myself blown away. I just loved all that euphoric melody in a way that nothing was as indifferent will each song. 'Under Control', 'Pray To God', 'Open Wide', 'Ecstasy' and 'Together', certainly in my opinion were the supremacy of this album. In my opinion, nothing but clear, 'Together' and 'Ecstasy' should be the next betting Calvin about future singles. In the song 'Love Now', which is also great. An album quite good as weak in some ways, but wonderful in others.
    Expand
  8. Dec 28, 2015
    8
    Although this album reeks of plain EDM composition and doesn't have much original elements, this album is definitely a winner.
    Songs such as 'summer', 'pray to god', 'outside', 'overdrive', 'under control' etc are good and pleasant to listen to.
  9. Jul 5, 2016
    8
    I would like to start this review off by saying right now this album definitely isn't as good as 18 Months.
    But let me explain why it gets an 8.
    Overall this is a pretty good dance album. Plenty of good songs including the singles ( Summer, Blame, Outside, Under Control, Pray To God etc.) Also songs like Faith and Ecstasy are awesome as well! Really to me, the first half of this
    I would like to start this review off by saying right now this album definitely isn't as good as 18 Months.
    But let me explain why it gets an 8.

    Overall this is a pretty good dance album. Plenty of good songs including the singles ( Summer, Blame, Outside, Under Control, Pray To God etc.)

    Also songs like Faith and Ecstasy are awesome as well!

    Really to me, the first half of this album is a 10, it's just in the second half, it goes downhill a little.
    The second half starts with summer, a pretty awesome start to the second half.
    Overdrive isn't a bad song, but it gets redundant hearing the whole thing.
    Ecstasy is a pretty good song. Awesome vocals.
    Pray To God is awesome
    Open Wide starts off well with Big Sean, but the drop isn't that good.
    Together is a solid song, not the best but solid.
    Burnin is okay, but again kinda redundant
    Dollar Signs is honestly the weakest track here. The drop is completely flat.

    Overall Pretty Good dance album, just thought the back half could have been better.
    Expand
  10. Jul 21, 2018
    10
    With his previous album calvin showed that he was in what was to stay and with Motion tells us that he is one of the best existing djs. A perfect electronic album, a masterpiece of EDM. It is enjoyable, enjoyable, danceable and if that were not enough you will also find a couple of interesting lyrics.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    60
    Ultimately, Motion is somewhat of a scattered album with some shining moments.
  2. Nov 6, 2014
    60
    The big pop hooks and breakdowns are here, but there is little sense of Harris’s personality.
  3. 75
    His largely straight-ahead approach will rankle EDM devotees who are searching for boundary-busting beats, but he's taking his chances with the most unpredictable technology of all: the human voice.