User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Music Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

  • Summary: The seventh full-length release for the Dutch alternative pop artist Tim van Berkestijn features guest appearances from Cautious Clay, Mac DeMarco, Emily King, KYLE, and Tom Misch.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Stones Throw
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Indie Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 13, 2021
    While '70s and early-'80s pop informs all of Music, there's still something contemporary and deeply sincere in Benny Sings' songs. He's a quirky indie rocker drawing upon his vinyl heroes for inspiration and reassurance.
  2. Apr 13, 2021
    ‘Music’ is clean listening at its finest. The formula works well but that doesn’t mean the LP is lacking in surprises.
  3. Apr 13, 2021
    'Music' is an album that shines its brightest light on Sings himself. Often lending his talents to the work of others - including Rex Orange County’s ‘Loving Is Easy’ and Free Nationals’ ‘Apartment’ - Sings often had to be comfortable on the sidelines. 'Music', however, sees this prolific musician finally move centre stage.
  4. Apr 13, 2021
    At its best, Music brings other artists full of their own personality into the fold and highlights Benny’s songwriting.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of