• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jan 27, 2015
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Jan 22, 2015
    100
    The touchstones here, such as Dusty in Memphis, are all records that revel in a particular kind of musicality, yet this is a record that never feels retro, just timeless.
  2. 91
    This is music inspired by what you remember hearing as a kid from your parents’ and grandparents’ record collections, but it’s been made fresh and totally original again.
  3. Feb 24, 2015
    90
    The rich production and ambitious, multi-faceted arrangements provided by White’s Spacebomb crew are the perfect foil for Prass’s soft, exquisite voice and expressive, tear-stained songs, such that the overwhelming impression of the LP is, against the odds, one of triumph; of beauty both wrangled out of and amplified immeasurably by loss.
  4. Feb 2, 2015
    90
    Prass' stunning self-titled debut has been a long time coming.
  5. 90
    The most wonderful, positive ending, a paean to the power of song and the song that closes this modern classic of an album.
  6. Jan 26, 2015
    90
    Given the expressions of vulnerability and exploration of heartache here, this album has had timely release. It makes for a glorious companion to Björk’s Vulnicura but also stands as a confident, masterly debut album in its own right.
  7. Jan 27, 2015
    84
    After just a nine-song introduction, we care about Natalie Prass.
  8. 83
    Hats off to this fantastic singer-songwriter for not only emerging from the fog so quickly, but also for crafting a dynamic album that is bigger than its size and very deserving of the praise it will undoubtedly receive.
  9. Jan 27, 2015
    83
    What makes it good is her sophisticated ear for pop arrangements. What sets it apart is her gracefully authoritative, hyper-emotive, and at times semi-animal personality brought out through a masterfully controlled and gloriously weird set of pipes.
  10. Jan 26, 2015
    83
    A warm, intimate debut album that leaves space for darker contemplation—those stray thoughts that light you up at the end of the night.
  11. 80
    This dream of an album sounds like little else currently in the pop field, and the fact that it’s a debut from a relative newcomer makes it even more impressive.
  12. Feb 3, 2015
    80
    While the tracks rarely challenge the listener with bold experimentation or chord progressions that range much beyond major-and-minor resolves, Natalie Prass provides a concise amalgamation of R&B, funk, baroque pop, and soul with a consistent through-line.
  13. Feb 3, 2015
    80
    Her eye for telling romantic details and gift for gorgeous, lilting melodies mean this debut sinks its hooks in deep and soon seems to belong alongside the classics it so plainly resembles.
  14. Mojo
    Feb 2, 2015
    80
    Natalie Prass's debut luxuriates in the same effortlessly timeless space as Rumer's Seasons Of My Life and I Am Shelby Lynne. [Feb 2015, p.94]
  15. Jan 29, 2015
    80
    The slower, sentimental ballads can veer into maudlin territory, and the spoken-word Reprise seems utterly unnecessary, but such minor missteps are easily overlooked when the rest is such a satisfying listen.
  16. Jan 26, 2015
    80
    Natalie Prass is a beautiful record that does best when it prods the sweet ache of failed romance.
  17. Jan 26, 2015
    80
    The thrush-like Natalie Prass, 28, has written a heartbreak album that reminds you why such albums are so wonderful and necessary in the first place.
  18. Q Magazine
    Jan 23, 2015
    80
    It's a record that announces its creator as a true force. [Feb 2015, p.113]
  19. 80
    Prass confirms her unique, tremulous contralto mining depths of despairing devotion on songs clearly triggered by romantic crisis.
  20. Uncut
    Jan 22, 2015
    80
    It is ambitious music, even compared with Big Inner and it also sounds rich with potential. [Feb 2015, p.67]
  21. Feb 11, 2015
    70
    Natalie Prass shows she’s got the complex stuff down pat, but getting back to the basics might be the next stage of development that takes her to another level.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70
  1. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    Been a while since I have not heard an album so pure and calm as this. Natalie shows her feelings as a magnificent and majestic form. So lightBeen a while since I have not heard an album so pure and calm as this. Natalie shows her feelings as a magnificent and majestic form. So light and soft voice and the album lyricism is amazing. Indeed, this is one of the best albums I've heard so far. Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2015
    6
    This album is okay. I was definitely intrigued by Natalie's delicate voice and the throwback 70s easy-listening style, but ultimately I wasThis album is okay. I was definitely intrigued by Natalie's delicate voice and the throwback 70s easy-listening style, but ultimately I was hoping for something a bit more innovative. Aside from the first two songs and maybe a few others, much of the album sounds like something my parents or grandparents would listen to. Nothing is wrong with it, per se, it just sounds a bit dated and generic. Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2015
    7
    While Natalie is obviously the star of her self-tited debut, it is in fact Matthew E. White's extensively detailed production job that keepsWhile Natalie is obviously the star of her self-tited debut, it is in fact Matthew E. White's extensively detailed production job that keeps me coming back. The horns blare with triumph, the strings are grandiose, the woodwinds flutter around, mimicking Prass' vocal styling. Tracks like 'It Is You' and 'Christy' are so dramatic and carefully studied to sound carefree that they resemble a theatre production number. Some tracks are forgettable, but the gems, particularly the opener, are really great. A solid debut record that prompts me to look forward to her follow-up, in hopes the entire project will be as lively as the high-notes of this one. Full Review »