• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Aug 21, 2020
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. Aug 20, 2020
    90
    Music may not by itself cure all these ills, but the virtue of superb electropop is that it helps make them seem a bit less insurmountable.
  2. Aug 20, 2020
    80
    The Neon is stacked with what Erasure does best: Sharp melodic hooks, efficient, hip-shaking beats, and yearning lyrics that both relate and motivate.
  3. Mojo
    Aug 20, 2020
    80
    There's nothing here to shock or surprise, but that's a major part of the attraction and Erasure remain a guiltless pleasure. [Sep 2020, p.91]
  4. Uncut
    Aug 20, 2020
    70
    Erasure has yet to really match the duo's early imperial phase, but here Andy Bell and Vince Clarke dish out the cosmic showstoppers with all the elan of their 30-year-old selves. [Oct 2020, p.31]
  5. 67
    The Neon delivers mostly carefree synth-pop comfort food calibrated to appeal more to our feet and our hearts than our already overtaxed brains. The record is certain to thrill devotees and potentially catch the ear of an unsuspecting Release Radar listener or two; whether we’ll still need it once these current hard times end remains to be seen.
  6. Aug 21, 2020
    60
    The album may not carry the sort of dance-fused electro-pop magnificence they’ve made before, but moving away from the more ‘expected’ type of pop song you think of when Erasure crops up in conversation seems to have worked wonders.
  7. Aug 21, 2020
    58
    The Neon nestles the duo back into their musical comfort zone when they’re exceedingly capable of more.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    This album is fire! Sounds similar to Bananarama's In Stereo (their last record). Erasure could collaborate with them! It would be amazing.This album is fire! Sounds similar to Bananarama's In Stereo (their last record). Erasure could collaborate with them! It would be amazing. They created a fantastic pop gem. Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2020
    0
    What is this? Если бы мы знали но мы не знаем не знаем как это было на вершине
  3. Aug 28, 2020
    0
    I don't like the sound of the word at all. It used to be better. Bring back the sound we remember