User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
News of the Universe Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The latest full-length release from California rock band La Luz is the first with drummer Audrey Johnson and the last from bassist Lena Simon and keyboardist Alice Sandahl.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 24, 2024
    This is not groovy indie finery; there’s a rock-as-high-art vision at work here.
  2. May 24, 2024
    The album is a darkly sweet exploration of heavy themes like cancer, death, and motherhood, delivered with a newfound confidence and maturity. On News of the Universe, La Luz has crafted an album that sounds timeless yet fresh, pushing their boundaries while maintaining the hypnotic beauty that defines their music.
  3. May 24, 2024
    The album’s warm airiness is achieved through their signature flourish of glowing, densely layered harmonies—a sound so golden that it seems to bathe you in light. It is also a sound like hope, evidence that Cleveland has managed to locate beauty in darkness.
  4. Mojo
    May 24, 2024
    With its captivating melodies and sci-fi charm, News Of The Universe is as poignant as it is hopeful. [Jul 2024, p.88]
  5. May 24, 2024
    There’s generally less immediacy on this record than seen on previous albums, and this will no doubt turn off a few fair-weather fans. The flip side is a band pushing its boundaries, grabbing some serious Warp artist vibes, and evolving into something more cinematic and mature.
  6. Uncut
    May 24, 2024
    “Poppies” is an aching, Beatle-esque waking dream, half-heard car radio for company, prime Aimee Mann a comparison. Cleveland’s distorted electric guitar, cool, Stereolab-like synth glides and dub Ethio-jazz further colour the scene. [Jul 2024, p.35]
  7. May 24, 2024
    Cleveland's vocals are unfortunately low in the mix and it's often difficult to make out the lyrics, but approached simply as another instrument in the ensemble, her soft, breathy tone is lovely and enigmatic, and the layers of echoey guitars and '60s-style keyboard sounds blend wonderfully with her vocals.