User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
No Burden Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the Virginia singer-songwriter was recorded in one day.
Buy Now
Buy on

Top Track

...Familiar Place
I came through the backyard. You let the garden die. How did I get here? How did I get here? What did I do to deserve this? The mountain was taller... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 18, 2016
    Her smooth, rich voice dances gracefully over the rougher guitar riffs and drums found all over No Burden, her extremely confident first full-length.
  2. Sep 9, 2016
    With No Burden, Lucy Dacus challenges the little boxes everyone seems forced into at one time or another, exposing them for the weak material they’re built from. In the process, she’s created a debut record with an abundance of heart that should speak to anyone with a pulse of their own.
  3. 83
    On No Burden, Dacus follows up the stellar opening track with a wonderful debut album full of bigger, bolder slow-burn anthems and subtle epics.
  4. Mar 18, 2016
    “Direct Address” fails to make sticking mantras of “Honesty is like a kiss on the lips” or “I don’t believe in first sight” or “I fall in love with everyone I see,” but there’s plenty of promise here that she’ll move past them, and it’s sometimes fulfilled.
  5. Sep 30, 2016
    No Burden's Nineties crunch plus its writer's youthful sageness/naiveté fosters a propitious career launch.
  6. Mar 18, 2016
    No Burden is an uncommonly warm indie rock record.
  7. Sep 6, 2016
    As far as the music goes, rhythm guitar is the foundation here, and it ranges from Strokes-ian down strokes to slow-core. The drums are mixed prominently, giving adequate room to Dacus’ towering voice. The lead guitar is mixed oddly low, though. Many times throughout the album, when a blast of lead guitar is expected, we get it, but dang is it quiet and a little deflating.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of