• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2015
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 160
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2015
    7
    The 10 year hiatus hasn’t tempered their resolve for innovation. As taut, and musically confrontational as anything from their back catalogue. Love them or loathe them, there is no band that sound likes Sleater Kinney, and they remain just as valuable as they have ever been
  2. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    We seem to be in the midst of a post-punk revival. Last year we had Ought, the year before that, Savages, and now this year Sleater-Kinney is back with their first album in a decade, and it is a great one. If there is one word to describe No Cities to Love, it is unapologetic. 33 minutes of hard hitting punk guitar and vocals, memorable and catchy melodies and riffs, and aggressive lyricsWe seem to be in the midst of a post-punk revival. Last year we had Ought, the year before that, Savages, and now this year Sleater-Kinney is back with their first album in a decade, and it is a great one. If there is one word to describe No Cities to Love, it is unapologetic. 33 minutes of hard hitting punk guitar and vocals, memorable and catchy melodies and riffs, and aggressive lyrics make this album a hard one to put down. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    I didn't think that the metascore would be so high, honestly, but it's good to see that this excellent, excellent, album gets the reviews that it deserves. And, hopefully, the attention S-K deserves.

    I loved it, focused and thrashing punk, always with the meaningful lyrics that represents them. This is quintessential Sleater-Kinney, with Janet precise drumming, Carrie's very creative
    I didn't think that the metascore would be so high, honestly, but it's good to see that this excellent, excellent, album gets the reviews that it deserves. And, hopefully, the attention S-K deserves.

    I loved it, focused and thrashing punk, always with the meaningful lyrics that represents them. This is quintessential Sleater-Kinney, with Janet precise drumming, Carrie's very creative riffs, and Corin's powerful voice. I don't think there's gonna be something better in rock this year.
    Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    This album is great. It both glamorizes and pokes fun a hipster culture while parodying and taking part in that post-punk genre of music. An excellent album about losing fame through age and tiredness and regaining it back, breaking idols, so on and so forth. Add some sick guitar solos and you have a killer pop album that is a great start off for 2015.
  5. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    The 10 years they've been away have likely provided fertile ground for the subject matter of this brand new opus of theirs. Also easily has their most riveting compositions, musically speaking, since The Hot Rock. Leave it to Sleater-Kinney never rest on laurels, even when they've got too many to comfortably lay on. 32 minutes of laser-cut precision striking with the force of a sledgehammer.
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    Sleater-Kinney is one of my favorite bands of all-time -- the fact that they regrouped and created a new album is amazing to me, it's as if Joe Strummer never died and The Clash got back together ... and what's more, in doing so, they released an album that feels like there wasn't 10 years in between The Woods and this. It feels completely natural, a S-K album through and through - and yetSleater-Kinney is one of my favorite bands of all-time -- the fact that they regrouped and created a new album is amazing to me, it's as if Joe Strummer never died and The Clash got back together ... and what's more, in doing so, they released an album that feels like there wasn't 10 years in between The Woods and this. It feels completely natural, a S-K album through and through - and yet it also feels like an evolution in the best way possible. I've missed Corin Tucker's screaming/singing (and her solo work is good but not here). I like Portlandia but this is where Carrie Brownstein is at her very best, and Janet Weiss pounds the drums as well or better than anyone else.

    Like most great albums, this gets better and better with each listen. So glad this is getting the press and attention it deserves - Sleater-Kinney was and is again one of the very best bands in the world.
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2015
    8
    Their first release in ten years and eighth album overall. Many only released just how good they were until they took an indefinite break after 2005's The Woods. They weren't just the best all-female band of their era, but were easily one of the best bands around during the ten year period from 1995 to 2005. Formed initially as a side project, they decided to become a full band afterTheir first release in ten years and eighth album overall. Many only released just how good they were until they took an indefinite break after 2005's The Woods. They weren't just the best all-female band of their era, but were easily one of the best bands around during the ten year period from 1995 to 2005. Formed initially as a side project, they decided to become a full band after recording their debut album. With a sound that can be described as a mix of 90's alt-rock, punk and feminism, they went on to release seven albums in ten years. No Cities to Love is a great return. It's short, at just over 30 mins, and packs one hell of a punch. No Cities is more than just a revival by an old band who hammer out some half-assed tunes, get paid but are unable to capture anything close to what made them great in the first place. The band worked on No Cities for two years and ditched anything that sounded too much like their past work. It's hooky and full of energy, with complex rhythms, creative riffs, powerful vocals and excellent drumming. Whether you're a big fan from the past or relatively new to them, there's something here for all to love. Expand
  8. Jan 27, 2015
    8
    What a catchy and unique album. The songs don't hang around long enough, but what they lack in length they make up for with hooks, melodies, and variety.
  9. Feb 3, 2015
    5
    Cannot for the life of me understand the overwhelmingly positive reviews this album is getting. No doubt, it's a sophisticated work, just like everything else in Sleater Kinney's past--the two-punch guitar attack of Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein is still as dynamic as it ever was--and the album still retains the defiant spirit of punk feminism that characterized their early works. ButCannot for the life of me understand the overwhelmingly positive reviews this album is getting. No doubt, it's a sophisticated work, just like everything else in Sleater Kinney's past--the two-punch guitar attack of Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein is still as dynamic as it ever was--and the album still retains the defiant spirit of punk feminism that characterized their early works. But this album does nothing more than reaffirm strengths that were established 15 years ago, and the melodies are for the most part generic pop melodies that sound too radio-friendly to be Sleater-Kinney. I'm not saying this album had to be a follow-up to The Woods, but damn this is boring. You can listen to the album once and you've heard everything you already need to hear. Expand
  10. Feb 8, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. just excellent! luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuvvvvvvv it!!! Really rocking, beautiful melodies and really great production. Does not feel overproduced, songs are strong! Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2015
    7
    I was underwhelmed by the impact this album made on me. Sonically, it's one of their strongest works, but some songs went on too long and the feelings/ideas came off a bit tired and/or straining; these punk-steeped composers should be well-versed in being brief and leaving us wanting. Truthfully, I think I was more excited as a fan to explore a just released Sleater-Kinney record for theI was underwhelmed by the impact this album made on me. Sonically, it's one of their strongest works, but some songs went on too long and the feelings/ideas came off a bit tired and/or straining; these punk-steeped composers should be well-versed in being brief and leaving us wanting. Truthfully, I think I was more excited as a fan to explore a just released Sleater-Kinney record for the first time. That being accomplished, I'd rather listen to their past records than revisit No Cities to Love. Expand
  12. Dec 9, 2015
    10
    I haven't loved an album so much on first listen since Nirvana's Nevermind. It might have dropped al the way back in January but it's been fresh in mind throughout the year because of just how good it is
  13. Jan 31, 2015
    7
    A sharp set of post-punk songs, this album is as satisfying as it is clever and with that an incredible comeback from a band that's been on hiatus for almost ten years. Bar Sleater-Kinney's timing, at it's worst it's unsurprising but intensely enjoyable. At it's best No Cities to Love is raw and poignant and sure to entertain.
  14. Jun 14, 2015
    7
    The guitar riffs sear, the drums punch, and Corin Tucker's vocals emote with conviction. This is a great return for fem-rock three-piece Sleater-Kinney. The mastering delicately balances the instrumentation and the cuts here are concise and structurally stable. They stay their welcome the approximate length of time, no track here drags. The hooks are catchy and display a legitimate edgeThe guitar riffs sear, the drums punch, and Corin Tucker's vocals emote with conviction. This is a great return for fem-rock three-piece Sleater-Kinney. The mastering delicately balances the instrumentation and the cuts here are concise and structurally stable. They stay their welcome the approximate length of time, no track here drags. The hooks are catchy and display a legitimate edge that hasn't worn over the band's hiatus and Sleater-Kinney's sound has been refined and focused with a modern sensibility. However, I can't help but feel that the three-piece aesthetic limits the group, and this album from pushing things further. It's not necessarily stale, just ordinary, preventing much stylistic variety and rendering the whole sound a tad homogenous. Still, great album. Expand
  15. Apr 4, 2015
    7
    I listened to this one a couple times on Spotify simply because the critics like it so much. I think it's OK, but I think the Metacritic rating is a tad high. But to each their own...
  16. Oct 1, 2017
    9
    Albúm con el que conocí a esta grandiosa banda y que hizo que me interesara por su música, "A New Wave" canción pegajosa que nunca me quite de la cabeza en 2015.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 9, 2015
    89
    The Oregonians' confident comeback is balls-out bold, the threepiece returning with fresh vitality.
  2. Magnet
    Feb 20, 2015
    80
    It's a furious, loud, unbridled, relentless album. [No. 117, p.60]
  3. Mojo
    Feb 2, 2015
    100
    No Cities To Love stares down its troubles, power and joy ultimately lying in the hands of the people who can write such songs. [Feb 2015, p.86]