• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 4, 2012
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    80
    Frontman Rob Thomas has not lost his fastball as a craftsman. Listeners will be humming several songs off "North" before the second chorus even begins, whether they like it or not.
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    80
    Matchbox 20 has never made a record as cheerful or appealing or satisfying as this.
  3. Though it is far from perfect and has far more filler than one would hope, North is indeed a fine effort.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Sep 6, 2012
    75
    In its owm swerve-to-the-middle way, it mostly works. [7 Sep 2012, p.75]
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    60
    Every song here goes for immediate payoff – as Thomas broadcasts on "Radio," they have been built for lifetimes.
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    50
    There are a few decent songs.
  7. 40
    North seems destined to forever relegate Matchbox Twenty into the next generation of unremarkable dad rock.
  8. 30
    It's unclear what the band has been doing during its lengthy hiatus (their last full-length was released in 2002), but keeping up with current music trends was evidently not on the to-do list.
  9. Q Magazine
    Sep 6, 2012
    20
    Not good. [Oct 2012, p.106]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 12, 2019
    8
    Rob Thomas carries over his great songwriting abilities with this album in my opinion. However, I have a few issues with it. For one, itRob Thomas carries over his great songwriting abilities with this album in my opinion. However, I have a few issues with it. For one, it follows the trends of 2012 like using computerized sounds which is something that I am not a fan of personally. That being said, I enjoy She’s So Mean, Parade, and Our Song. The rest of the album borders somewhere between mediocre and great. Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2016
    5
    It's a solid album in it's own way I guess, but way too poppy for my taste. They band is "selling out" sadly...looking to hit it off on theIt's a solid album in it's own way I guess, but way too poppy for my taste. They band is "selling out" sadly...looking to hit it off on the radio and the mainstream...and this album achieved that in a way. This is basically a continuation of Rob Thomas's solo career. I can't say that I particularly enjoyed it and I didn't buy it when it came out. Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    It is so funny that i disagree with many critics so thoughtful, such wonderful melodies, and the tone of the whole cd is so inviting one ofIt is so funny that i disagree with many critics so thoughtful, such wonderful melodies, and the tone of the whole cd is so inviting one of my favorites of 2013. Full Review »