User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    The most accessible Mastodon album to date -- Catchy and groovy like 'The Hunter' to keep new fans happy, and just enough old school vibes to keep veteran fans happy with tunes such as 'Diamond In The Witch House' and 'Feast Your Eyes'. Only reason this isn't a 10 is due to originality, nothing here will overly surprise a seasoned Mastodon fan.
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    8
    Don't expect this album to be like Crack the Skye or Leviathan, but this is still a great album. When I first listened to this album I wasn't to sure about it, but after a couple of listens it has grown on me. I enjoy every song on here. Mastodon still has all the unique vocals and instrumentals like past albums and there are a great songs on here like Tread Lightly, The Motherload,Don't expect this album to be like Crack the Skye or Leviathan, but this is still a great album. When I first listened to this album I wasn't to sure about it, but after a couple of listens it has grown on me. I enjoy every song on here. Mastodon still has all the unique vocals and instrumentals like past albums and there are a great songs on here like Tread Lightly, The Motherload, Asleep in The Deep. Overall it is a great album, but listen to it first to make sure its for you. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    On first listen Once More 'Round The Sun didn't blow me away, It certainly did the next 20. This is a huge return to form after an ok album in The Hunter. A Classic Metal album, so fans of early Mastodon only be warned, this album definitely isn't for you. While the opening 4 songs, have great riffs and soaring chorus melodies they feel a little more by the numbers than the rest of theOn first listen Once More 'Round The Sun didn't blow me away, It certainly did the next 20. This is a huge return to form after an ok album in The Hunter. A Classic Metal album, so fans of early Mastodon only be warned, this album definitely isn't for you. While the opening 4 songs, have great riffs and soaring chorus melodies they feel a little more by the numbers than the rest of the album. Starting with 'Chimes At Midnight' to the end of the album is Mastodon at their Prog finest, the guitar and vocal work here is leaps and bounds above any of their other work with Brann taking over even more on vocal duties. It really helps lift the whole album to another level. Huge big riffs permeate the whole album, but stand out track 'Asleep In The Deep' is a laid back groove fest that I can't get enough of. Can't wait to see these songs live, Once More stellar work from the 'Don. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2014
    8
    At album number six, it's hard to expect Mastodon to keep outdoing themselves which, in my opinion, didn't happen after Crack the Skye. OMRTS is widely accepted as a sequel to the Hunter, but is a case of the sequel being better than the original.

    It feels more like an album than the Hunter did, as you can tell where you would flip a record. A lot of reviews say "It's more hard rock
    At album number six, it's hard to expect Mastodon to keep outdoing themselves which, in my opinion, didn't happen after Crack the Skye. OMRTS is widely accepted as a sequel to the Hunter, but is a case of the sequel being better than the original.

    It feels more like an album than the Hunter did, as you can tell where you would flip a record. A lot of reviews say "It's more hard rock than heavy metal" and/or "there's no innovation here". They took a risk and did something different; they went for chart success. However, at the same time, it is still easily distinguishable as a Mastodon album. As a fan since Leviathan, I expect Mastodon to switch things up and they did.

    It does feel that Bron is featured a little too much on vocals, especially on the first half. High Road was poised to be a classic Troy-verse/Brent-chorus, but gave us a laughable chorus that just doesn't fit with the rest of the song.

    The Motherload is a good song, but it is obviously there to be put on the radio and get overplayed to hell.

    Aunt Lisa has the odd inclusion of the Coathangers which could've gone over better if not placed at the very end of the song.

    The album truly shines in the middle. Although not re-inventing the wheel, songs like Once More 'Round the Sun, Chimes at Midnight, Feast Your Eyes, and Diamond in the Witch House are definitely songs that will stay in their live rotation for years to come.

    In conclusion, after repeat listens to get used to Aunt Lisa's end and High Road's chorus, it's an album you can listen to from beginning to end. There's no "Creature Lives" which I thought derailed The Hunter at the end. Is it their best album yet? Sadly, no. That crown still belongs to Crack the Skye (or Blood Mountain).
    Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Perhaps the least dynamic or interesting of any Mastodon album to date, this album suffers from mixing that denies dynamism as well as songs that lack defining and interesting moments akin to the intensity of their earlier releases. That being said, the band is tighter than ever and the album is perhaps the most cohesive overall package than in the past. However, the bands highly polishedPerhaps the least dynamic or interesting of any Mastodon album to date, this album suffers from mixing that denies dynamism as well as songs that lack defining and interesting moments akin to the intensity of their earlier releases. That being said, the band is tighter than ever and the album is perhaps the most cohesive overall package than in the past. However, the bands highly polished prog approach and increasingly hook-oriented pop focus may be a sign that Mastodon is no longer willing to experiment within their niche.

    This album may not be easy to swallow for early fans, but the band has been slowly moving out of the intense, metal-focused direction since Blood Mountain. The sound that Mastodon has developed seems more to pay homage to their earlier stylistic approach to songwriting, rather than expand upon it. I recommend listening to Once More Around the Sun and Remission in a single setting to illustrate the transition.

    Despite my negative view on this album and the bands current direction, I still recommend giving this album a listen to form your own opinion. It's a highly accessible album (a pro and a con) and has some entertaining moments, but is overall hurt by a lack of risk taking from a band that used to be excellent at keeping its listeners on their toes.
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Another beautifully brutal release from resident prog-metal masters Mastodon gives their audience even more catchy riffs to rock out to. On their sixth studio album, the viciousness may have diminished slightly, but the group hasn't lost its touch.

    Jumping from track to track, Mastodon has created an all-out fun experience for any type of metal lover. There's a bit of something for
    Another beautifully brutal release from resident prog-metal masters Mastodon gives their audience even more catchy riffs to rock out to. On their sixth studio album, the viciousness may have diminished slightly, but the group hasn't lost its touch.

    Jumping from track to track, Mastodon has created an all-out fun experience for any type of metal lover. There's a bit of something for everyone: "High Road" has a cataclysmic chorus to hum along to, "Once More 'Round The Sun" has epic vocal harmonies, and "Aunt Lisa" has grueling, ear-shattering shrieks. The album is not quite a revolution (it's not quite at Crack The Skye status), but it does encompass the raw talent of the band.
    Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    After 'The Hunter' I was hoping, that 'Once More 'Round The Sun' will be at least as awesome, as 'Crack the Skye'. And truly it is, maybe even better! For me, their best song is 'Tread Lightly' (which is also first album track), however all of the album songs are worth listening, the singles 'High Road' and 'Chimes at Midnight' made me very hyped. A must-listen for all Mastodon, Prog andAfter 'The Hunter' I was hoping, that 'Once More 'Round The Sun' will be at least as awesome, as 'Crack the Skye'. And truly it is, maybe even better! For me, their best song is 'Tread Lightly' (which is also first album track), however all of the album songs are worth listening, the singles 'High Road' and 'Chimes at Midnight' made me very hyped. A must-listen for all Mastodon, Prog and Alternative metal fans! Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    THIS ALBUM! is such epic masterpiece. I feel that it continues from The Hunter, with sound and feeling, but still its completely different and on such higher level. We waited for long and it was worth it. Mastodon focused on singing and melodies and album will be more open for new listeners imho. But its good thing, good singing makes good song almost every time. So i think they did itTHIS ALBUM! is such epic masterpiece. I feel that it continues from The Hunter, with sound and feeling, but still its completely different and on such higher level. We waited for long and it was worth it. Mastodon focused on singing and melodies and album will be more open for new listeners imho. But its good thing, good singing makes good song almost every time. So i think they did it again and its awesome! Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    For me, The Hunter was a 10/10 album, because it came completely out of nowhere. It was so different and unique, it blew my mind.

    This album is not as experimental or moody. It uses the same template but it's more straight forward and accessible. But, this doesn't mean its any worse than previous ones. I know it's not fair to ask Mastodon to come up with a revolutionary album every 3
    For me, The Hunter was a 10/10 album, because it came completely out of nowhere. It was so different and unique, it blew my mind.

    This album is not as experimental or moody. It uses the same template but it's more straight forward and accessible. But, this doesn't mean its any worse than previous ones.

    I know it's not fair to ask Mastodon to come up with a revolutionary album every 3 years. That's why I'm happy with an easy-to-listen album this time. But I want my experiments back on the next album!
    Expand
  10. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Mastodon has delivered an all out beefy follow-up to The Hunter. Once More 'Round The Sun shows a side of Mastodon that has rarely been explored this far in-depth, it was touched on in The Hunter, however Once More delves deeper into the psychedelic side of this band. Notable tracks include the album's title track 'Once More 'Round the Sun', as well as 'Aunt Lisa', 'Ember City' and 'TheMastodon has delivered an all out beefy follow-up to The Hunter. Once More 'Round The Sun shows a side of Mastodon that has rarely been explored this far in-depth, it was touched on in The Hunter, however Once More delves deeper into the psychedelic side of this band. Notable tracks include the album's title track 'Once More 'Round the Sun', as well as 'Aunt Lisa', 'Ember City' and 'The Motherload'. This album is a non-stop journey into the proggy-riff heavy Mastodon with a more radio-friendly side added to it. Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    I've been listening to this album every night two days after it came out. Bar far the best from the band and I'd go as far as to say its the best metal album in the last ten years. That's why it get's a 10/10. My only complaint is that it's a bit over produced and can sound slightly muffled on some songs.
  12. Jun 24, 2014
    1
    Everything from the evident lack of interest in the songs from the musicians (stale dynamics, much?) to the flattest, most bland production to the lamest, most cheesy lyrics I've heard from a good band in a while points to one thing: the end of the Mastodon their most devout early fans used to know and love.

    Any single moment on this album is a stale rip-off of motifs they covered much
    Everything from the evident lack of interest in the songs from the musicians (stale dynamics, much?) to the flattest, most bland production to the lamest, most cheesy lyrics I've heard from a good band in a while points to one thing: the end of the Mastodon their most devout early fans used to know and love.

    Any single moment on this album is a stale rip-off of motifs they covered much better and with more heart and soul in previous albums. Disagree? See Remission, Leviathan, Blood Mountain, or even Crack the Skye. Even the good-at-best The Hunter outshines this in almost all respects.
    Expand
  13. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    Although menacing and urgent, Mastodon's Once More 'Round the Sun has to be one of the most uplifting albums that has been released by the Atlanta quartet. It is sure to create a stir with fans of old, but most likely push them further toward mainstream popularity while losing ZERO street credibility. Like Deftones latest Koi No Yokan (which showcases Chino's best vocal performance), theAlthough menacing and urgent, Mastodon's Once More 'Round the Sun has to be one of the most uplifting albums that has been released by the Atlanta quartet. It is sure to create a stir with fans of old, but most likely push them further toward mainstream popularity while losing ZERO street credibility. Like Deftones latest Koi No Yokan (which showcases Chino's best vocal performance), the vocal's on OMATS take a quantum leap from the previous efforts; harmonizing like never before, it actually works on tracks like Tread Lightly, Asleep in the Deep and Feast Your Eyes.
    Strong from start to finish, Once More 'Round the Sun becomes more memorable on repeat listens. This is especially true for the second half of the album. The standouts for older Mastodon fans will be the tracks Chimes at Midnight and the album closer Diamond in the Witch House. It's moments like these that give a nod to the past, while still keeping an ever increasing pace toward the future. This is headphone material at its best! I can't believe it, but THEY DID IT AGAIN! ANOTHER MASTERCLASS ALBUM!

    Track Ratings:
    Tread Lightly 9/10
    The Motherload 10/10
    High Road 8.5/10
    Once 'Round the Sun 10/10
    Chimes at Midnight 10/10
    Asleep in the Deep 10/10
    Feast Your Eyes 8/10
    Aunt Lisa 9/10
    Ember City 10/10
    Halloween 10/10
    Diamond In the Witch House 10/10 (on par, but not quite Heart's Alive)

    Final Rating: 95 out of 100 (Round it up to a 10) Not quite perfect, but its close!
    Expand
  14. Jul 10, 2014
    4
    When you want to sell more albums, and get a bigger fan base, you need to water down your music. You need to get closer to the middle of the bell curve because that's where more money is. This is what Mastodon did: They made an album that is safe. And now they sound like every stock, hard rock / metal band.
  15. Sep 16, 2014
    4
    There was a time when you could always count on Mastodon to do something special, an extreme rarity in the metal world.
    It seems they've given up trying as they approach old age. Extinction is imminent once again for the mastodon.
  16. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    http://bit.ly/mastoomrs Mastodon have created what I hope is a transitional album. Being an excellent representation of what they've achieved so far, Once More 'Round The Sun seems like it could be a perfect bridge for new ideas and sounds. But either way, it's a superb effort by the greatest band of the last 15 years.
  17. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Once More ‘Round the Sun is a fantastic, fun listen, which tips and turns with incredible drum work, guitar work and the best performed vocals to date – probably – in a slightly inconsistent, but instantly recommendable album — and one of my favourite to listen to nowadays.

    92/100.
  18. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    People tend to think of accessible and straight forward as bad things when it comes to metal. Its understandable with a band like Mastodon who were known for their technicality and heaviness. However we will always have albums like Remission and Leviathan, when it comes to heaviness. We will always have Blood Mountain and Crack the Skye when it comes to prog. The Hunter really is a goodPeople tend to think of accessible and straight forward as bad things when it comes to metal. Its understandable with a band like Mastodon who were known for their technicality and heaviness. However we will always have albums like Remission and Leviathan, when it comes to heaviness. We will always have Blood Mountain and Crack the Skye when it comes to prog. The Hunter really is a good time album and so is Once More Round The Sun. Just like the Hunter it really is a culmination of everything Mastodon has done, with more emphasis on songwriting, catchiness. Its just fun. Even in its weaker moments the album manages to shine. Cannot wait to hear how these songs mix with the rest of their music in a live setting! Expand
  19. Sep 15, 2014
    8
    I've been on the fence with Mastodon for quite some time now. They've usually been one of those bands that I have to be in the mood to listen to. When I first heard both "Remission" and "Leviathan," I was impressed by how heavy they were, yet had a prog influence that differentiated them from some of their peers (Lamb of God, Red Chord, et al). It seemed to me that as they made moreI've been on the fence with Mastodon for quite some time now. They've usually been one of those bands that I have to be in the mood to listen to. When I first heard both "Remission" and "Leviathan," I was impressed by how heavy they were, yet had a prog influence that differentiated them from some of their peers (Lamb of God, Red Chord, et al). It seemed to me that as they made more albums, the prog influence overwhelmed their inherent heaviness. It seems to me that with "Once More 'Round the Sun," they've struck the perfect balance. This is an album I can listen to and totally get on board with. Expand
  20. Jul 16, 2018
    7
    Cover art is so weird but the same time so beautiful and creative, such as band sound which, although sounding a little bit tired and more commercial, continue not disappointing. This one is the less best Mastodon album. Such band's quality which the weakest album can still sound quite good.
  21. Jun 26, 2014
    7
    While this is certainly an honest-to-God Mastodon, with everything you would expect from Mastodon, that's all it is. Mastodon is a band that I see as running out of ideas, starting with The Hunter. The song structures are very predictable and the instrumentation is very business-as-usual. They've streamlined their sound, making them content and familiar in their songwriting, which isn't aWhile this is certainly an honest-to-God Mastodon, with everything you would expect from Mastodon, that's all it is. Mastodon is a band that I see as running out of ideas, starting with The Hunter. The song structures are very predictable and the instrumentation is very business-as-usual. They've streamlined their sound, making them content and familiar in their songwriting, which isn't a very good thing. But that's not their fault; I think it's just something that happens to bands that have been around for as long as they have. The heaviness, the aggression, the innovation, the incredible musical savvy that marked albums like Crack The Skye and Blood Mountain just isn't quite there on Once More 'Round The Sun.

    However, with that said I think this is still an album that has a lot to love. First of all, it's catchy as hell. One thing Mastodon haven't lost is their ability to write great riffs, great leads, and great solos. While The Hunter was a bit TOO catchy, making the listener more comfortable than they should be, Once More 'Round The Sun returns the listener to the discomfort that was so appealing about their earlier albums. Nothing was straightforward then, and this album finds Mastodon getting back to a more Blood Mountain-esque sound.

    All in all, I'd say Once More 'Round The Sun is without a doubt better than The Hunter, and depending on what you like, better than Remission. (Personally, I love Remission so I wouldn't subscribe to that, but some people aren't into it.) If you're a Mastodon fan, go buy it and listen to it. You won't be disappointed, but then again, you won't be shocked like you were when you first listened to Crack The Skye, or even Leviathan.
    Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Good Tunes is Good Tunes. Sometimes the worst thing about a band is their fans. Mastodon Rocks. If you can't put on a Mastodon record (any of them) and have a good time, then you are doing something wrong. The mix on this album blends the band perfectly - rather than making each instrument the "lead". It sounds like a well oiled machine - the mix is intended for the song as a wholeGood Tunes is Good Tunes. Sometimes the worst thing about a band is their fans. Mastodon Rocks. If you can't put on a Mastodon record (any of them) and have a good time, then you are doing something wrong. The mix on this album blends the band perfectly - rather than making each instrument the "lead". It sounds like a well oiled machine - the mix is intended for the song as a whole rather than just boosting levels. Muy Bueno. Expand
  23. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    All it is subjective, our opinions depend of our emotions so i very happy for Mastodon because slowly they come to find the equilibrium between the old music and they new sound.
    The excellent strategy was the voice of Brann Dailor because give a originality and new refresh. The melodies was a hard work and thanks to that sound they give a new perspective for the metal. It is no more
    All it is subjective, our opinions depend of our emotions so i very happy for Mastodon because slowly they come to find the equilibrium between the old music and they new sound.
    The excellent strategy was the voice of Brann Dailor because give a originality and new refresh. The melodies was a hard work and thanks to that sound they give a new perspective for the metal. It is no more sludge or other style it is just Mastodon.
    Expand
  24. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I rate Mastodon's "Once More 'Round The Sun" a 10 not because they are among my top favorite bands (of all time, active or inactive), but because of how consistently these four musicians are taking advantage of their continued success to record noticeably evolved (and refined), progressive music, regardless of how overused or obvious 'progressive' may be in this context.
    Detractors of "The Hunter" and this album possibly rate the two lower because of a perceived downturn or lack of the previously displayed dizzying-ly technical achievements of "Remission" through "Crack The Skye." Some mark that the decline in 'odd-time signature' frenzied excursions has been paralleled by an improvement of recorded vocals starting with "Leviathan," and reaching the continued-through-present moment evolution of "Crack The Skye" (with Brann Dailor singing on the opening track of "Oblivion," one of the greatest, most memorable, and unique heavy metal/progressive music radio singles/videos ever released, 20th or 21st century).
    I will acknowledge that still, in my mind (and I have listened to this album in its entirety, in one sitting, at least 7 times by this point), Mastodon's pinnacle achievement (i.e., their "Led Zeppelin IV," or Rush's "Moving Pictures," Metallica's "Master Of Puppets," etc.), "Crack The Skye," fused all the strongest qualities of Mastodon that fans and listeners can still depend upon: beautiful and unexpected chord changes/dynamics; incredible drumming, diverse and instantly evocative/fantastic lyrics; audibly recorded bass (proving an exception to the rule in much of metal, regarding Troy Sander's great sound & playing); idiosyncratic guitar solos and harmonies; and this could go on and on...
    To summarize my review, Mastodon, like Rush or Faith No More (two of my other favorite bands; and I can't help throwing FNM in because of the "Be Aggressive" chanted-section contrast with "Aunt Lisa!"), does what they want to do, musically and lyrically. The adventurous and highly conscious musical spirit of Mastodon is, in itself, defiant of convention, and that is why they are important, in my mind at least.
    Expand
  25. Jun 11, 2015
    10
    Easily my favourite Hard Rock/Metal album of 2014. Can take a few listens to get into but every listener is rewarded in the end. Apart from Diamond In The Witch House every song on this album is simply superb, lyrically, musically and production wise. A mixture of alternative fans, metal fans, and rock n roll fans are attracted to this album and this sound, and it is not hard to see why.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 18, 2014
    60
    For their fans accustomed to the clattering joyride only Mastodon provide, this will suffice for now. [Summer 2014, p.92]
  2. The Wire
    Dec 2, 2014
    80
    The 11 songs here are energised, chest beating anthems that are positively soul elevating. [Oct 2014, p.61]
  3. Kerrang!
    Jul 22, 2014
    80
    It's the first time that Mastodon have followed up an album with its next logical step. [21 Jun 2014, p.48]