• Record Label: Koch
  • Release Date: Jun 29, 2004
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Goodie Mob sounds newly rejuvenated, almost vivified by the tremendous odds they faced coming back instead of impeded by it.
  2. Urb
    70
    Alternately gritty and bouncy beats by Organized Noize and DJ Sleepy can't quell the sensation of attending a school reunion minus the quarterback. [Jun 2004, p.85]
  3. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    Full of banging beats, big noise and abundant wit and joy. [26 Jun 2004, p.55]
  4. Its hardly a classic on par with 1995's Soul Food or 1998's underrated Still Standing, but it's a solid effort from a consistently interesting group.
  5. On their own terms, at least, they deliver.
  6. Uneven, especially compared to their earlier records, and less ambitious than the "bring it on" misinterpretation of the title might make you think.
  7. Vibe
    50
    Cee-Lo's soulful spirituality is sorely missed. [Jun 2004, p.155]
  8. Blender
    40
    The bulk of One Monkey finds the boys trying too hard to distance themselves from their former weirdness. [Aug 2004, p.132]
  9. Mojo
    40
    There's nothing here that elevates the Goodies above the level of the ordinary. [Aug 2004, p.96]
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Apr 24, 2018
    10
    If I had to describe this album in one word, that word would be: Masterpiece. Beautiful from the second the first track plays until the lastIf I had to describe this album in one word, that word would be: Masterpiece. Beautiful from the second the first track plays until the last word sung. Full Review »
  2. awhiteboy
    Sep 19, 2004
    1
    i liked about 3 tracks but the 13th track high & low is racist as shit. khujo's all talkin bout killin whiteboys. man fuck him , if he i liked about 3 tracks but the 13th track high & low is racist as shit. khujo's all talkin bout killin whiteboys. man fuck him , if he sees this .... Don't come up northeast the whiteboys are lookin. Full Review »
  3. LawrenceP
    Jul 25, 2004
    2
    I guess CEE-LO was the brainchild of Goodie Mob. No where as good as "still standing."