Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Spin
    91
    Deep cuts like "Man or Animal" are as hot as anything this side of Led Zeppelin II. [Jul 2005, p.95]
  2. No other big band out there makes their pieces fit like this. Not Queens of the Stone Age, not Nine Inch Nails, certainly not Crossfade, Seether, or Chevelle. Audioslave are officially in a league of their own.
  3. Lean, hard, strong, and memorable, a record that finds Audioslave coming into its own as a real rock band.
  4. Los Angeles Times
    75
    "Out of Exile" is mostly grand and aggressive, riding the old-fashioned appeal of pipes and chops. [5 Jun 2005]
  5. As solid a listen as it may be, one can't help but yearn for a little bit more of the testosterone-charged hard-rock muscle that the band members' resumes evoke.
  6. Mojo
    70
    [Audioslave] display[s] a welcome lightness of touch. [Jul 2005, p.96]
  7. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    On the one hand it's easy to knock; on the other it's difficult to dismiss. [4 Jun 2005, p.58]
  8. The foursome has still not found a common sound to call its own.
  9. At times, the four seem to move parallel to each other rather than as one.
  10. Blender
    60
    Even the fiercest moments never fully detonate. [Jul 2005, p.114]
  11. Q Magazine
    60
    A muscular piece of work... [but] a tangible sense of genuine passion is, ultimately, absent. [Jul 2005, p.112]
  12. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    The album ends up in the same spinning-wheels muck that often bogged down Soundgarden. [27 May 2005, p.136]
  13. Out of Exile finds Audioslave moving closer to finding their identity as a band; however they still have one or two more albums before they get there.
  14. As Out Of Exile carries on, the songs sound repetitious and a little formulaic; each guitar solo seems to arrive at a preordained moment, and both the album and the individual songs drag on too long.
  15. Middling music that shoots for epic and edgy, but takes far too few chances and falls short of its fans' expectations.
  16. Uncut
    40
    The likes of "Be Yourself" lack much of a dimension beyond 'Let's rock out!' [Aug 2005, p.105]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 91
  2. Negative: 12 out of 91
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    3
    What a disappointment. The first audioslave album was just an amazing rock album, with the zeppelin and sabbath influences clearly visible. InWhat a disappointment. The first audioslave album was just an amazing rock album, with the zeppelin and sabbath influences clearly visible. In this album...not so much. The album starts off fair enough, with a decent opening track called your time has come. then it goes to an even better title track, both keep to the bands hard rock roots. But after that, the album just went downhill. Be yourself sounded like something my highschool counselors would listen to. Doesnt remind me might have been a nice slow rock song, something which i can respect, but the rest of the album just isnt worth listening to. Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    3
    Because they're good musicians, they are able to perform this sub-par material well enough to fool the average listener into thinking they'reBecause they're good musicians, they are able to perform this sub-par material well enough to fool the average listener into thinking they're on to something decent. And by that, I mean it had me fooled. But after enough spins I caught on; the songwriting is bland and uninspired. With all the good music out there, I can't find a good enough reason to ever play this album again. Full Review »
  3. Apr 14, 2020
    8
    While the first album, although it's good reception, had issues with Tom Morellos guitar playing (I'm saying this as a huge fan!), he seems toWhile the first album, although it's good reception, had issues with Tom Morellos guitar playing (I'm saying this as a huge fan!), he seems to have fixed this issue in a few spots on the album and that increased it's enjoyabality to a much higher level. Doesn't Remind Me and Drown Me Slowly had me rocking hard! Full Review »