• Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: Sep 14, 2004
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AileenB
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    I think its GREAT! I love it. A terrific follow on from their first Album.
  2. MoT
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Agree with Andrew R. Loved the first album and this one just as much.
  3. MikeV.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    i don't understand why the datsuns get ratings like 40% if you would know anything about music you would understand that this band is all about rockn' roll coming back to life!! rockn' roll isn't dead!! look at franz ferdinand they are dead! have you ever listened to their second album? I doubt it if i read your comment! but yeah i know everybody likes something else i don't understand why the datsuns get ratings like 40% if you would know anything about music you would understand that this band is all about rockn' roll coming back to life!! rockn' roll isn't dead!! look at franz ferdinand they are dead! have you ever listened to their second album? I doubt it if i read your comment! but yeah i know everybody likes something else but the datsuns deserve better and should be appreciated more!! Expand
  4. markr
    Jul 21, 2004
    7
    not as bad as the reviews would have you think. worth a listen.
  5. SomervellK
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    The Datsuns rule!! They are the best live rock band in the world today!
  6. liamP-M
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    The Datsuns are a band who came too late. If this album had been released in the 90's, the Datsuns would've been HUGE! This album is brilliant messy rock, but people don't want that anymore, and while that's sad, all it should mean is that the people who hate rock shouldn't review it.
  7. CarlosB
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    Just really good music, sick and tired of the crap from the Hives, the Vines, need some new stuff to really bring rock and roll back!!!!!!!!
  8. SamM
    Jul 28, 2004
    8
    I don't know why this album has received such bad reviews, it's as good as if not better than the first! Probably because this kind of rock just isn't as fashionable now as arty bands like Franz Ferdinand. But for people who really enjoy good music rather than following trends, it's great!
  9. mmalcolm
    Aug 11, 2004
    0
    The Datsuns were part of the garage rock trend (yes garage rock was fashionable during this period), set years ago by groups like the hives, etc... But garage rock is now dead and subpar bands like THE datsuns (and others "THE" bands), are now in process of extinction. By the way, Franz Ferdinand are not in any sense, a kind of trend or fashion as Sam M pretends. Franz Ferdinand are simply good.
  10. AndrewR
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Great sounding second album which once again shows similarities between them and music form the early 70's! This album is alot more produced than the first but shows a wordclass band developing in its ever moving stride! The Datsuns are currently the best rock band (that is still together) there is! Great music with great riffs! Also have energetic and amazing live shows! Buy this Great sounding second album which once again shows similarities between them and music form the early 70's! This album is alot more produced than the first but shows a wordclass band developing in its ever moving stride! The Datsuns are currently the best rock band (that is still together) there is! Great music with great riffs! Also have energetic and amazing live shows! Buy this album and the first one - which is also fucken brilliant!! Expand
  11. AlexandraW
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    this is the best cd, since the datsuns self-titled cd. All their cds and singles are unbelievable, but this cd has amazing guitar solos on all the tracks... I love them all and I can't pick a favorite! it's like led zeppelin meets deep purple and forms a band with young, talented, sexy men today! LOVE THE DATSUNS!!!!!!
  12. DellB
    Nov 21, 2004
    8
    I enjoyed this album better than their first one. Its been well thought out and would appeal to young of course but also more mature audiences.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Q Magazine
    60
    Halfway through... it becomes a directionless mess. [Jul 2004, p.113]
  2. Blender
    70
    They are still greasy rock & rollers who know how to keep a party going. [Oct 2004, p.120]
  3. For people awaiting that second Jet album, this should prove a welcome distraction from their crayons. For the rest of us it's a look of bemusement and a scratched head.