• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Aug 4, 2014
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Aug 5, 2014
    90
    Gorgeous melodies are painted across a variety of instrumental backgrounds, forming an ideal blend of his more traditional emotionally-charged ballads and bolder, more unfamiliar pieces.
  2. Mojo
    Sep 12, 2014
    80
    The immediacy and bare-wire fizz suit his lyrical candour. [Oct 2014, p.96]
  3. Aug 13, 2014
    80
    Despite being only a side project, the sheer quality and array of styles found on Owl John's self-titled debut is testament to the prolific songwriting skills of Scott Hutchison.
  4. Alternative Press
    Aug 8, 2014
    80
    Emptiness has rarely sounded so fulfilling. [Sep 2014, p.108]
  5. Aug 1, 2014
    80
    Owl John: low on self-esteem, but high on ambition.
  6. Aug 5, 2014
    78
    Fans of Frightened Rabbit will feel right at home with the dynamic song structures and visceral lyricism while newcomers will be able to appreciate this album as much more than a one-off solo release, but rather a refreshing take from a songwriter looking to jump out of his comfort zone.
  7. Under The Radar
    Sep 5, 2014
    75
    While similar extra-curricular efforts tend to do little more than appease a frontman's runaway ego, Owl John is the sound of Scott Hutchison returning to his roots. [Sep/Oct 2014, p.78]
  8. Aug 4, 2014
    70
    Hutchison may seem down on himself on this record, but the music is full of creative energy.
  9. Aug 1, 2014
    70
    A more than worthy gesture from a distinctive, engrossing voice.
  10. Aug 1, 2014
    70
    Despite being released in weather incongruous to its content, there's so much heart to this record that it simply demands to be absorbed.
  11. Q Magazine
    Sep 3, 2014
    60
    It's when Hutchison's sinister demeanor matches the darkness of the music that Owl John works best. [Oct 2014, p.116]
  12. Uncut
    Aug 1, 2014
    60
    [The album] is not so much a radical departure as a dalliance with a marginally more brooding, textural musical aesthetic. [Sep 2014, p.75]
  13. Aug 1, 2014
    60
    The album is a mismatch of styles, moods and tempos. There is little cohesion and each song feels like a thought or idea alone on the record--like a collection of B-sides or rarities.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 13, 2018
    7
    Scott Hutchison's death made me revisit this album recently and I'm glad I did. After seeing him say in an interview before this album cameScott Hutchison's death made me revisit this album recently and I'm glad I did. After seeing him say in an interview before this album came out that he wanted to make something that specifically wasn't Frightened Rabbit I thought it was going to hold him back. I admittedly put it on while doing something else. I didn't give it my full attention and didn't think much of it when it was released. However, upon listening to it again recently I've realized while maybe not as complex and well put together instrumentally as say Midnight Organ Fight, It still has a ton of soul from Scott. I think this is my favorite work from him since The Winter Of Mixed Drinks. Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    What an outstanding return-to-form. Very heavy on the bitter-sweet melodies that we have come to hope for from Hutchison. The melodies hereWhat an outstanding return-to-form. Very heavy on the bitter-sweet melodies that we have come to hope for from Hutchison. The melodies here are far more infectious than Pedestrian Verse and sound like they fit somewhere between TMOF and TWOMD. A beautifully atmospheric, delicate album that weaves its way between the lo-fi and the anthemic. This will appeal to those that discovered this melancholy genius five or six years ago. Full Review »
  3. Aug 4, 2014
    6
    The debut album from Owl John, a side project from Frightened Rabbit's front man Scott Hutchison, sounds more like a group of ideas that couldThe debut album from Owl John, a side project from Frightened Rabbit's front man Scott Hutchison, sounds more like a group of ideas that could form cuts from Frightened Rabbit's Pedestrian Verse rather than merit a new side project. Besides Hutchison's vocal style, some of his hooks and usual self loathing lyrics, the album musically lacks continuity between tracks and feels like it is wandering into a rather boring direction instead of being a cohesive unit and culminating into any new thought. Full Review »