Passive Aggressive: Singles 2002-2010 Image

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The two-disc compilation for the Swedish indie band includes 28 tracks from its previous three full-length albums and four EPs.
  • Record Label: Labrador
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Dream Pop, Noise Pop
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Pulling Our Weight
In time we might walk the straight line But with memories of a grapevine A guitar, as we came close from far Forgot about the war We barely... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    We could go on about how great this compilation really is until the cows come home, the Thurston Moore sampling 'Heaven's On Fire' possibly explaining why such documents as Passive Aggressive are essentially vital in rock and roll's present transitional phase.
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    While there are a few selection missteps overall, the first disc in particular makes for a great initiation to the Radio Dept.'s previous work. And that there is the opportunity to re-introduce this long undervalued band is something to cheer in itself.
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    For those seduced by that album's gorgeous dream pop, Passive Aggressive serves as a comprehensive refresher course in the Swedish band's satisfying back catalogue.
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    If Clinging to a Scheme was the sound of a band emerging from a long, beautiful slumber, then Passive Aggressive is further reward for long-time fans who had been patiently waiting the whole time. And considering that the indie-pop world is still crushed out on vintage-leaning bands, the double album is sure to earn the band more new fans.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    It wasn't necessarily all that great of a stylistic distance to traverse, but it's certainly been a pleasurable journey. And while there are quite a few extant non-album cuts that might have found space on a more slavishly inclusive comp, what is included here is pretty close to perfect.
  6. Uncut
    Mar 8, 2011
    This 2Cd singles set shows them to be capable of more mainstream, dreamy pop. [Feb 2011, p.96]
  7. Mar 8, 2011
    The peaks are good, obviously; but they're just peaks. And the dips are experimental fun but together they sound like curios. Still, the unfortunate sequencing aside, Passive Aggressive is a great compilation-especially so for those uninitiated with the band.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of