• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Jun 21, 2019
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Jul 2, 2019
    85
    Musically, Mannequin Pussy show off a new-found nuance and detailed understanding that backs up this intricate situation perfectly, spinning the threads of guitar so beautifully that you can mistake the song for romantic, before you’re knocked back to earth by the painful reality of the situation.
  2. Jul 2, 2019
    84
    Even when Mannequin Pussy venture to truly dark places, Patience is such a pure joy to listen to. In its biggest moments, Dabice’s raw edge is matched by equally colossal riffs, explosive energy, and surging momentum. Patience, is without a doubt, one of the year’s strongest punk rock records.
  3. Mojo
    Jul 23, 2019
    80
    The group's fusion of emo-core anguish, riot grrrl rancour and bruised indie-rock is the perfect vehicle for songs channelling heartache, rage and betrayal, but the ban's true gift lies in fashioning this catharsis into well-crafted songs. [Sep 2019, p.90]
  4. Jul 22, 2019
    80
    Much of Patience is visceral and fierce, but it is also skillfully melodic (think of Hole's Live Through This, or even Celebrity Skin), the result of a band that approaches pop constructs with abrasive guitar sounds.
  5. Jul 8, 2019
    80
    Patience's most interesting moments are its most nuanced, setting a painful lyric against pop melody, altering between moods within songs, and simply embracing the melodic and harnessing it to whatever ends it desires. And as such, Mannequin Pussy truly has become a band to be reckoned with.
  6. Jul 2, 2019
    80
    A record with a tighter vision, but just as much frenetic energy as Mannequin Pussy's previous work, Patience imbues both its highs and lows with a constant sense of intense strain and desperation.
  7. 80
    Whether it's power-pop jams like the self-titled opener or the trauma of the slow burning, haunting "High Horse," there's a clear picture painted--in fact, it's a whole novel--on the bruises (emotionally and physically) scarring us for life. Marisa Dabice's vocals are once more a delight--powerful, earnest, honest and carrying--which is perfectly complemented by producer Will Yip.
  8. Jul 2, 2019
    80
    Aptly named, Patience is the sound of a band who have spent a few years growing into themselves and it honors Mannequin Pussy's raw punk past while opening doors to new creative possibilities.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. i94
    Oct 22, 2019
    10
    I've never been a huge punk rock person, so when the lead singer described her music as "punk pop" I was intrigued. Is it still punk rock?I've never been a huge punk rock person, so when the lead singer described her music as "punk pop" I was intrigued. Is it still punk rock? Yes. But some of the most cathartic, clever, and earnest music to come out of the genre in years. It fuses the addictiveness of pop with the raw, untethered emotion of hard rock. A pleasant surprise from a band I hadn't heard of until the spectacular "Drunk II' was released. Definitely going to be in my Top 10 album of the year, and on the lower end of my favorite albums of the decade (and I suspect it will age well). "High Horse," "Clams," "Drunk II," and "In Love Again" are highlights. Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2019
    9
    Probably going into my top 10 AOTYs already, it slaps from the start to the end. Love Marisa's hard vocals there (Especially on Drunk I, DrunkProbably going into my top 10 AOTYs already, it slaps from the start to the end. Love Marisa's hard vocals there (Especially on Drunk I, Drunk II, Cream & F.U.C.A.W.) even though she can still sing calmer songs such as High Horse & Fear/+/Desire. The opening track is also really great there.
    My only regret is that this album is way too short, but those 24 minutes are on repeat.
    Full Review »