• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: May 18, 2004
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 1 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Go-goAngel
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    I think it's amazing, like no other! Probably one of the best albums of 2004. I recommend, to people who wish to purchase this album, that you should listen to the songs; "precious box" , "amazing", "flawless", "shoot the dog", "freeek", "Send me someone to love" and "cars and trains".
  2. SteveS
    Jun 9, 2004
    7
    Some good stuff, but (what's new?) too many tracks and some baaaad ones. Love "Precious Box"
  3. magnesiumm
    Aug 20, 2006
    7
    Why all the bad reviews? I liked this album I suppose. Listening to "Patience" is a bit like plodding through someone's diary. It's quiet, contemplative, self-reflective, with a bit of social commentary mixed in for good measure. There are large amounts of soul-baring here, as in the pure piano and vocals title track "Patience" and the sublime "My Mother Had a Brother". "Cars Why all the bad reviews? I liked this album I suppose. Listening to "Patience" is a bit like plodding through someone's diary. It's quiet, contemplative, self-reflective, with a bit of social commentary mixed in for good measure. There are large amounts of soul-baring here, as in the pure piano and vocals title track "Patience" and the sublime "My Mother Had a Brother". "Cars and Trains" and "Freeek!" are both catchy and intelligent commentaries. That being said, trying to listen to it in it's entirity is ...... exhausting. The main problem I have with "Patience" is that it lacks one or two moments of pure exurberant abandon to lift it out of it's mid-tempo monotony. "Older" had "Fastlove" , and " LIsten Without Prejudice" had the irresistable soul anthem "Freedom". Even "Outside" had more in-your-face attitude. Perhaps George has mellowed with age. And as much as I love the sweet and reminiscent "Round Here" (my personal favorite track), there so much maturity in here that sometimes it borders on sedation. Patience is a solid effort indeed. It oozes artsy ballads and sophistication. But George, can we please please be allowed to have some fun? Expand
  4. cruisen
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    excellent chord progression and arrangements .
  5. joanne
    May 27, 2004
    9
    excellent, moving, really enjoyed it.
  6. JimR
    Jun 10, 2004
    8
    A person can't help but listen with prejudice. No matter how good Michael is, a critic less fond will judge him accordingly. I don't know why he continues to get a bad rap (sans bathroom scenes), but Michael has got one of the best voices and styles around. It's a shame and a loss that there isn't more of his music out there.
  7. ColleenQ
    Jun 4, 2004
    8
    Love 'Round Here'-- Mother had a Brother is too much. If you skip that and 'John and Elvis' are dead, start on 'Amazing' you will indeed find some of the most 'FLAWLESS' tracks GM has ever written. GM has not lost his song writing abilities and shines best when using his humor.
  8. SammyJ
    Jul 22, 2004
    10
    Patience is the most honest thing Mr. Michael has written. I love Amazing and American Angel. Through and My Mother Had a Brother are fantastic songs of heart ache and pain and i love to hear his voice no matter what style or song he is singing because he has the best vocal voice i have ever heard.
  9. StephanieS
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    Sheer Brilliance!!!
  10. BarzK
    May 27, 2004
    10
    One of his best, excellent combo of his vocals and instruments. A really personal album. But very good, i highly recomend.
  11. Adam
    May 27, 2004
    9
    After reading the "professional" reviews one thing keeps resounding in my mind: I only want to hear from an artist who reveals and is personal and that is exactly what George has offered. We don't need more music whores pandering to a facile public whilst filling the pockets of industry executives.
  12. CatalinaJ
    Jun 13, 2004
    7
    Songs 'Amazing' & 'Flawless' are upbeat and cool. The rest of the CD is taking me longer to get used to. Alot of sappy, personal stuff reflected in the majority of the other songs. My favorite album (I dare say of all time) is 'Older' and I'm just a tad disappointed. But I'm happy to support GM.
  13. AT
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    I found this album to be absolutely beautiful. Every track has something special in it. While some may argue that it isn't as upbeat as it could have been, and that it's filled with too much of his personal life, I for one think it's refreshing to hear someone produce music that IS personal. In addition, just the sound of George's voice is enough to move you. It's I found this album to be absolutely beautiful. Every track has something special in it. While some may argue that it isn't as upbeat as it could have been, and that it's filled with too much of his personal life, I for one think it's refreshing to hear someone produce music that IS personal. In addition, just the sound of George's voice is enough to move you. It's "absolutely flawless" and I think he is "Amazing". Expand
  14. Zach779
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    There's no denying George's exquisitely personal writing style and ability and musical intuition. Couple that with his soulful, rich vocals and you've got a combination that makes it so it's nearly impossible to put out a bad record. These tracks are impeccably produced, tending to every sound, fine tuning the backup vocals to near-perfection, and his choice of There's no denying George's exquisitely personal writing style and ability and musical intuition. Couple that with his soulful, rich vocals and you've got a combination that makes it so it's nearly impossible to put out a bad record. These tracks are impeccably produced, tending to every sound, fine tuning the backup vocals to near-perfection, and his choice of instrumentation lends itself to the album having a wonderful combination of both soul and pop. It's disappointing that he was overlooked for a grammy...he surely was right up there with Alycia Keys. No matter, because a grammy nomination or lack thereof doesn't change what the music is and doesn't change what the fans know. George will always be an artist for the ages and he'll go down as one of more stronger musical influences of our day. Expand
  15. PaulC
    Mar 16, 2004
    8
    Shame about Freeek and Shoot The Dog, would have made the album much better.
  16. paulah
    May 26, 2004
    10
    This CD has so many great songs on it. Take your time to know why the lyrics are biographical to GM's life. The words are very touching...(My Mother Had A Brother & American Angel). Paul C had a problem with a couple of song which were "club" dance tunes....hmmm, he must not get out much. They get your a** shakin'.
  17. JoeS
    May 27, 2004
    9
    One of, if not the best. His wide ranging voice is not challenged in the least with some of the amazingly difficult vocals. Starts off a little slow, but builds upon itself. A true masterpiece
  18. NseE
    Aug 27, 2004
    9
    This is a great cd. Yes, there are a couple of duff tracks like 'John and Elvis are dead' and 'Freeek', and some songs tend to be a bit monotonous and drag on and on, but put that aside and you find a mature, deeply affecting cd with moments of brilliance like the tender, beautiful 'Amazing', 'My mother had a brother' (really moving and tender), and This is a great cd. Yes, there are a couple of duff tracks like 'John and Elvis are dead' and 'Freeek', and some songs tend to be a bit monotonous and drag on and on, but put that aside and you find a mature, deeply affecting cd with moments of brilliance like the tender, beautiful 'Amazing', 'My mother had a brother' (really moving and tender), and the stomping dancefloor numbers 'Flawless', and 'Precious box'. You feel a bit of pain in George's lyrics, but hope shining through as well. Great!! Expand
  19. JudyH
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    He is the Greatest! He really puts his heart and soul into his music. George Michael is the only music I listen to. Patience was terrific, but what more can I say, It is George Michael at His best as always.
  20. Ja
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    Pure pop record,excellent
  21. OnurU
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    flawless, absolutely flawless...
  22. Mar 19, 2017
    7
    His last studio album... R.I.P. KING

    I’m sad to have passed this album by when it was first released – having loved Listen Without Prejudice Vol.1 and Older so much. I think my reasons were down to not liking Freeek! and Shoot The Dog, but listening to those two here years later, feels different, and it’s evident that I missed the brilliance of Amazing. When this album is good, it is
    His last studio album... R.I.P. KING

    I’m sad to have passed this album by when it was first released – having loved Listen Without Prejudice Vol.1 and Older so much. I think my reasons were down to not liking Freeek! and Shoot The Dog, but listening to those two here years later, feels different, and it’s evident that I missed the brilliance of Amazing. When this album is good, it is exceptional. When it’s weak, it’s unmemorable. Those few weaker tracks lose it a star, but otherwise it’s a welcome addition to my CD collection.
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Primarily lackluster.
  2. Uncut
    40
    Deeply average. [Apr 2004, p.91]
  3. There's an excessive attention to detail to each song, and that tunnel vision means each song runs about a minute or two longer than it should.... That's unfortunate because the core of the album is quite good.