User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
People Who Aren't There Anymore Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The seventh full-length release from Baltimore synth-pop band Future Islands was produced with Steve Wright.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jan 26, 2024
    People Who Aren’t There Anymore is an extensive portrait of an “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mentality. But even then, Future Islands are still finding new ways to polish a diamond on this album.
  2. Jan 26, 2024
    People Who Aren’t There Anymore is that rare album where you might find yourself with the unusual but life-affirming compulsion to dance and quietly sob at the same time.
  3. Jan 22, 2024
    Throughout, the group's tried-and-true, gleaming synth-pop palette is flecked with fresh sonic ambition, particularly on slow-burning epics Corner of My Eye and The Sickness. At the centre of it all remains Herring’s fabulously expressive voice, tailor-made to spin tales of heartache.
  4. Jan 29, 2024
    Here are grownup, weighty ruminations on devotion, sacrifice, separation and Covid, but The Tower and King of Sweden are also perfectly constructed pop.
  5. Uncut
    Jan 22, 2024
    On People Who Aren't There Anymore, then, no curveballs are thrown. However, the band's debt to OMD and New order is increasingly less obvious, while the earlier bombastic synths are being edged out by a more spacious, less forceful style of electronic poo that recalls fellow Baltimorean Dan Deacon, with echoes of Peter Gabriel. [Jan 2024, p.26]
  6. Jan 25, 2024
    People Who Aren't There Anymore is another refinement rather than a reinvention or bold step forward. It feels slightly less glossy than some of their other 4AD releases, coming a little closer to the lo-fi textures of earlier albums, but from the perspective of artists who have been working hard for nearly two decades.
  7. Jan 22, 2024
    As on past albums like 2017’s The Far Field, the quieter passages here are projected with too much force to either serve as a contrast to the songs’ more bombastic sections or fully convey the import of the lyrics. This grows especially tiring on tracks like “The Fight” and “Corner of My Eye,” which are synth-pop equivalents of stadium power ballads. Were the music itself able to match the downbeat undertones of Herring’s words, it might pack a bigger punch.

See all 18 Critic Reviews