User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 232

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2019
    9
    Great use of samples! I love the beach boys inspired vocals along with city sounds planted throughout.
  2. May 16, 2014
    10
    layer upon layer of ingeniously samples mixed with panda bear's reverb touched vocals and harmonies, a practically perfect record. (one of my favorite moments is the subtle train sample he puts and the end of take pills...just genius!)
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest albums ever. The twenty-first century version of the Beach boys, Panda Bear alone shows his innovative mind with this record that is better than any animal collective album and displays the true innocence and beauty that can be found in an album. This album just sneaks by Radiohead's In Rainbows for the best album of 2007.
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums of our time. Panda Bear pushes the boundries of electronic music to make something unique, atmospheric, interesting and most of all, beautiful. Art is at its best when its creative and shines when its honest and not pretentious. I name this one of the best albums ever and Panda Bear one of the best artist to have ever lived, he has proved it here.
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Person Pitch has to be one of the most imaginative records I've heard in a long time, probably ever. each track is beautifully layered with so many different sounds and harmonies and completely compliments Noah Lennox's voice. It sorta sounds like The Beach Boys if they took a whole bunch of different drugs at once. All In All, Panda Bear has crafted a wonderful, little psychedelic recordPerson Pitch has to be one of the most imaginative records I've heard in a long time, probably ever. each track is beautifully layered with so many different sounds and harmonies and completely compliments Noah Lennox's voice. It sorta sounds like The Beach Boys if they took a whole bunch of different drugs at once. All In All, Panda Bear has crafted a wonderful, little psychedelic record that certainly won't leave the minds of any serious music fan for a long time to come. A- Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    Its been more than 5 years and I still enjoy listening to this album as much as I did when I first heard it. The collection of sounds, textures, and samples create a world I never want to leave.
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite albums of all time. Great work sampling, on guitar, and on synthesizers. The real highlight of the album is the vocal work. The layering of the vocals is truly incredible. All of the songs are highlights. I can not recommend this album highly enough.
  8. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Ok, so my know this album is closing in on 5 years in age. But this it is a **** masterwork. Very rarely have I been so emotionally connected to a piece of music. (Btw, to those who didn't like this album, this "review" will come off as nothing but a sickeningly gushy hyperbolic rant. just letting you know in advance)

    Before hearing Panda + AnCo, pretty much all music I listened to was
    Ok, so my know this album is closing in on 5 years in age. But this it is a **** masterwork. Very rarely have I been so emotionally connected to a piece of music. (Btw, to those who didn't like this album, this "review" will come off as nothing but a sickeningly gushy hyperbolic rant. just letting you know in advance)

    Before hearing Panda + AnCo, pretty much all music I listened to was just The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Miles Davis, Bob Dylan, Pink Floyd, et cetera.... all the "safe" classics, the basics. My only understanding of what this whole `indie music` thing was, consisted of The Arctic Monkeys (although I didn't actually listen to them), maybe 3-4 songs by MGMT, some Radiohead, and whatever I heard from Grand Theft Auto radio stations. Basically, I only listened to what everyone liked.

    Then I heard this band. I got started after my friend showed me the song "My Girls" (yes, I know, I was introduced to Animal Collective very late). After hearing My Girls I thought "wow, this is pretty impressive", so I looked up what other stuff this band may have. I found some sort of solo project called Panda Bear, found a song called "Bros", and not expecting too much, I gave it a listen. 12 and a half minutes later I was STUNNED. Then came Good Girl/Carrots, then the rest of Person Pitch. Scraping my jaw off the floor, I listened to all the rest of Animal Collective. After that, the music that I listened to, and the way I listened to it, was completely changed. I began to actually listen to "indie music", and got hooked on Caribou, then Aphex Twin, Bjork, Dirty Projectors, Flying Lotus, Grizzly Bear, Basic Channel, Tame Impala.... I found amazing, lovely music that I otherwise would have never come across in a million years. But even after spending so much time listening to all these original and completely refreshing musicians, I still have to say, nothing beats Person Pitch (as far as sheer musical pleasure goes). Whenever I come home from a stressful day of classes, or end up going crazy from all the pressure of studying for exams, or just when I have a bad day in general, I turn this album on, and then I just instantly feel better. Bros is something like The Beach Boys meets Four Tet meets a late 60's psych-rock jam. Comfy in Nautica is some sort of blasting choir opener, but hazy and distant at the same time. Good Girl/Carrots takes you through a ride of manic industrial tablas, trip hop, skittering piano, and densely layered dub. Take Pills is straight up, reverb-drenched baroque up. And that is just the tip of the iceberg of the whole discography. The soundscapes that come out of Panda Bear and Animal Collective are things that you can get lost in. So relaxing, so fun, so entertaining.

    Oh, and one thing. @musicfan: Having a totally personal, subjective enjoyment to a piece of music does not make me a "sucker". When you learn not to have such an egotistical sense of self-entitlement you will realize that liking music is based on OPINION and there is neither right nor wrong.

    @voodoocookie: Don't worry. If you don't like the album, then you don't like it, and don't waste your time trying to get into something you don't like. You say you "don't get it", but there's simply nothing to get here. There's no "big idea" that just completely switches what you think about a piece of art. It's just not your preference.

    Ok, I'm done.
    Expand
  9. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Among the top 5 albums of all times for me. I loved this so much, every single song everything in this album speaks to me in a way very few things can. I love this and it makes it hard to wait for the next album from Panda Bear.
  10. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Not many albums are like this. Amazing by far. Panda Bear plays like a tornado. 9.7/10 Best tracks: Good Girls/ Carrots, Comfy In Nautica, Take Pills.
  11. patrick
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    A real journey if you're willing to really let go and take it. Hear it on good speakers in a relaxing space for the best experience, this album was not meant for headphone listening, it needs natural room reverb for everything to gel together properly. There's also really inspiring and refreshing messages in the lyrics, ones sorely needed in today's world.
  12. RicardoC:
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    Every little sound and beat fit perfectly, as his voice.
  13. ChristosM.
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Ok I'm young,I'm not quite familliar with the great musical legacy Of Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys,but the songs have just settled in my head and won't go away.It's this kind of music created by so many simple ingredients that just give the idea of a unique project.If there's one goal it achieved,is making me search Animal Collective albums as well as the beach Ok I'm young,I'm not quite familliar with the great musical legacy Of Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys,but the songs have just settled in my head and won't go away.It's this kind of music created by so many simple ingredients that just give the idea of a unique project.If there's one goal it achieved,is making me search Animal Collective albums as well as the beach boys old staff! Expand
  14. FlubbyW
    Apr 16, 2009
    9
    I'm not a huge AC fan so I'm not sure what actually made me come to listen this album in the first place, but I'm glad I did ~ it's pure genius!
  15. JohnA.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    Gorgeous.
  16. AndrewP.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Time. Time is what the naysayers need. Once pop music has stolen enough from amazing artists like Panda Bear, then people will be able to handle this kind of music. Our criticisms our all based off of past experiences. So when we hear something amazing and original we try to connect to back. With this amazing album the only thing to connect it to is Brian Wilson. So that's what they Time. Time is what the naysayers need. Once pop music has stolen enough from amazing artists like Panda Bear, then people will be able to handle this kind of music. Our criticisms our all based off of past experiences. So when we hear something amazing and original we try to connect to back. With this amazing album the only thing to connect it to is Brian Wilson. So that's what they do and dismiss it. Expand
  17. TomP
    Nov 11, 2008
    6
    Nice, something different, but as far as can see so far, not among 2007's best. Pitchfork says "you can feel the warmth puring out of this music" yet I found this to only be true of the last track, the rest just seemed like they were floating along for the ride, occasionally offering up something interesting. In Rainbows, Boxer, Neon Bible, Mirrored, Untrue, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Hissing Nice, something different, but as far as can see so far, not among 2007's best. Pitchfork says "you can feel the warmth puring out of this music" yet I found this to only be true of the last track, the rest just seemed like they were floating along for the ride, occasionally offering up something interesting. In Rainbows, Boxer, Neon Bible, Mirrored, Untrue, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Hissing Fauna, and Cross all topped this in 2007. (It was a good year) To tell the truth this album made me sleepy, and not in a good peaceful way, it's just not that compelling of a listen, no sense of importance or...warmth actually. It feels detactched to me. I'll keep trying to listen to it though, to see if I'm missing something, but I'm not too optimistic. Expand
  18. JakeJ.
    Sep 17, 2008
    2
    This album succeeds in recreating, and, in a sense, updating the the Beach Boys sound. Of course, with the Beach Boys, you'd get actual songs as well, and those are what is missing here. What remains to be impressive is the sheer amount of hype that is being generated around this release. In five years, no one will remember it.
  19. SebM.
    May 31, 2008
    6
    My first reaction was "How did it get so much good rates ?". I was about to give it a 2 out of 10. But then I decided to listen to it several times, and the structures slowly appeared. It's finally kinda pleasant, but certainly not a masterpiece for me. The harmonies are gorgeous but it lacks of melody.
  20. Jo
    May 6, 2008
    3
    Boring...nothing fresh about it, I don't get the hype.
  21. DeeS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    No, it's not God's gift to music. But it certainly has something that much of contemporary rock ignores: attention to detail in harmonies, an idea sorely lacking in all these 'sexy' indie rock bands (White Stripes etc...). These tracks are built around a feeling, and it IS infectious, no doubt. To the guy talking about Smile-era rip-offs: have you heard No, it's not God's gift to music. But it certainly has something that much of contemporary rock ignores: attention to detail in harmonies, an idea sorely lacking in all these 'sexy' indie rock bands (White Stripes etc...). These tracks are built around a feeling, and it IS infectious, no doubt. To the guy talking about Smile-era rip-offs: have you heard Spiritualized's Let it Come Down? That shit is more Beach Boys than the Beach Boys themselves. An instant classic for those willing to give it a few spins. I love the Beach Boys so much that I can't hate a band who is derivative of them to some degree. The world needs more child-like songwriters and harmony. Expand
  22. PL
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    Its funny how none of the reviewers mentioned the obvious Everly Brothers sound he uses - did any of them listen past the halfway point of "Take Pills"? There is also a strong Beach Boys influence in the album but to say the whole album sounds like the Beach Boys is just ignorant. Sounds like they'd finished writing the review a minute into the album. I liked the album by the way. Its funny how none of the reviewers mentioned the obvious Everly Brothers sound he uses - did any of them listen past the halfway point of "Take Pills"? There is also a strong Beach Boys influence in the album but to say the whole album sounds like the Beach Boys is just ignorant. Sounds like they'd finished writing the review a minute into the album. I liked the album by the way. Ultimate driving album for a potential road rager. Expand
  23. DanielJ.
    Apr 8, 2008
    2
    This is just too abstract and weird for me. Why this album is in the toplist is for me a true mystery.
  24. RikkyC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    the album is really quite something, very spacey, experimental and unconventional. it transcends common genre-labelling and manages to be truly unique. The first three-and-a-half tracks are absolutely amazing, epic pieces of music, but the end slows down and becomes less interesting (much like 'feels' (and also like every other animal collective album). It's really a great the album is really quite something, very spacey, experimental and unconventional. it transcends common genre-labelling and manages to be truly unique. The first three-and-a-half tracks are absolutely amazing, epic pieces of music, but the end slows down and becomes less interesting (much like 'feels' (and also like every other animal collective album). It's really a great album though, it deserves the praise. Expand
  25. JyotirmayaD.
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    I generally don't like albums with the ambient sound going on - especially if it sounds too "new-agey", but this album makes the ambient sound funky and cool. And it needed at least 2 or 3 listens for me to enjoy it... But I initially gave it a chance because I could tell I was listening to something worthwhile.
  26. CatQ.
    Mar 13, 2008
    7
    Not worth the tens but none the less really good to listen to. Just to chill. It usually bothers me if an artist sounds alot like another one (like the Beach Boys) but I don't really mind the Beach Boys echos in it. In my opinon, don't listen to it in terms of a context, just listen to it as it is.
  27. DerekE.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Seriously breathtaking. If you aren't convinced, give it some time. If you still aren't convinced, something may be wrong with you.
  28. hirachi
    Feb 27, 2008
    4
    I came home from work one day and heard the Beach Boys playing. I asked my roommate in the living room where he got these Smile-era outtakes. He told me it was Panda Bear. We listened to the whole thing and all I could think was BEACH BOYS DEMOS.
  29. BethanyL.
    Feb 18, 2008
    6
    I've tried, I really have, but I just don't get it. I give it an above average based on the forward thinkingness of Noah and the meditative aspects of the album. But it just sounds like the echo effect/reverb is giving it the unity and gorgeousness! everyone speaks of. It isn't bad but I don't get the hype. A bit boring for me.
  30. Laccharisma
    Feb 15, 2008
    5
    Good/Not good. Overstated by the haters and the sycophants. Neither a 1 or a 10 this album is insubstantial and lacks momentum of any kind. It is also at times beautiful but that is a brief experience when the beauty seems looped, staged and drowned in reverby-harmonies. The melodies are of a quality that never seems to reach fruition or full development. Circular music that for some is Good/Not good. Overstated by the haters and the sycophants. Neither a 1 or a 10 this album is insubstantial and lacks momentum of any kind. It is also at times beautiful but that is a brief experience when the beauty seems looped, staged and drowned in reverby-harmonies. The melodies are of a quality that never seems to reach fruition or full development. Circular music that for some is bliss and for others is complete shite. I'm near middle on it-still listening to it while I fill out forms and clean the house. Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Uncut
    80
    Magical. [Apr 2007, p.114]
  2. His careful attention to detail and masterful use of vocal harmonies are unparalleled in modern indie rock.
  3. Paste Magazine
    80
    It's as lucid a marriage of the eneffably strange and crayon-bright catchy as 2007 is likely to see. [Apr 2007, p.58]