• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jan 6, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TommyK
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    This album is just the beginning of phantom planet. This album is ust standing apart from the others, you gotta buy their new album.
  2. Christina
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    Although this may really "only" be a 9.8 because there is some truth to it being a bit "uneven", I'm giving it a 10 because I am addicted to killer hooks and this album is chock-full of them.
  3. Mandee=
    Jan 9, 2004
    7
    Personally, I liked The Guest more. I've been a Phantom Planet fan for a few years now, and I still am. However, the new album is quite a different sound. It's hard to hear Alex over the guitar wailing at times, let alone understand what the hell he is saying. The songs are definitely to the likes of The Strokes. However, props to Phantom Planet for not backing themselves up Personally, I liked The Guest more. I've been a Phantom Planet fan for a few years now, and I still am. However, the new album is quite a different sound. It's hard to hear Alex over the guitar wailing at times, let alone understand what the hell he is saying. The songs are definitely to the likes of The Strokes. However, props to Phantom Planet for not backing themselves up into a corner by keeping the same exact sound for every album. It takes a lot to let the group's sound grow or take a step away from what is expected. For the most part, they are successful. By The Bed and Big Brat are two of the strongest tracks, in my opinion. Expand
  4. SeamusS
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    One of the few albums in recent years I can honestly call an inspired Masterpiece. No pretention, heavy, tight, brilliant
  5. FrannyG
    Jan 11, 2004
    8
    Not as derivative as most are making it out to be. Members are at least making an effort to break away from their melodic, poppy musical upbringings. The songs are catchy, and overall the album is a better attempt than most are making to sound fresh album to album.
  6. EmmeJ
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    It is absolutely amazing! I'm blown away and have fallen in love with this album!!!
  7. lukeb
    Jan 14, 2004
    8
    Darker, more brooding rock from these still very young and talented Californians. An obvious departure from their sing-songier sophomore effort "the guest," but truer I feel to the band's roots than most people tend to realize. It shows a great deal of depth and maturity of their sound that many critics have chosen to dismiss as calculated or lazy. To complain that the melodies have Darker, more brooding rock from these still very young and talented Californians. An obvious departure from their sing-songier sophomore effort "the guest," but truer I feel to the band's roots than most people tend to realize. It shows a great deal of depth and maturity of their sound that many critics have chosen to dismiss as calculated or lazy. To complain that the melodies have disappeared is what's lazy, for if these naysayers were to take the time to properly assess "phantom planet," they'd notice them in great abundance. Merely more difficult to find at first spin. Many have seemed somewhat disappointed with this album thus far, but the only disappointment I have found with it is that it wasn't longer. This record is awesome, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  8. AdamH
    Feb 23, 2004
    10
    Phantom Planet never ceases to amaze me; the way they manage to change, to grow , with each album is a trait not respected enough in modern music...I've been a fan since their first album dropped a few years ago, and it's awesome that the band is finally incorporating the sounds of some of their influences (like Television, The Clash, and Maroon 5) to create an entirely new Phantom Planet never ceases to amaze me; the way they manage to change, to grow , with each album is a trait not respected enough in modern music...I've been a fan since their first album dropped a few years ago, and it's awesome that the band is finally incorporating the sounds of some of their influences (like Television, The Clash, and Maroon 5) to create an entirely new sonic phenomenon; Alex's genuis really shines on this album, and the band can only get better from here. Expand
  9. JebJ
    Apr 14, 2004
    9
    it takes a couple listens to grow on you, but once it does it's like a new appendage you can't do without. although the Strokes comparisons are perhaps inevitable, it's worth nothing that the stylistic shift between this album and the previous one shows a range and depth that wasn't evident between the 2 strokes albums. Phantom Planet have their own magpie sound, and it takes a couple listens to grow on you, but once it does it's like a new appendage you can't do without. although the Strokes comparisons are perhaps inevitable, it's worth nothing that the stylistic shift between this album and the previous one shows a range and depth that wasn't evident between the 2 strokes albums. Phantom Planet have their own magpie sound, and the songs stand on their own merits. great lyrics, muscular rhythm section, fluid guitars, just an all around kick ass album Expand
  10. amyt
    Sep 12, 2004
    10
    i think its amazing. their albums are always always fantastic
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Spin
    75
    Ambitious, uneven. [Feb 2004, p.96]
  2. The relentlessness of the pillaging becomes one of the album’s virtues—each song wildly varies from the next, revealing thirty-five minutes of noise and pop that extends far beyond the surface into a slowly decaying singalong monster.
  3. What Phantom Planet lack in stripped-down hooks they make up for with a full-bodied guitar attack and big, bloodletting choruses.