Piano Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length solo release for the Hot Chip lead singer features stripped down and re-imagined versions of songs from Hot Chip and his side project About Group as well as some of his favorite artists.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Moshi Moshi Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Electronic, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jun 20, 2016
    It’s just him, a piano and a bunch of songs (some original, some standards), and they feel so raw that listening to them borders on the uncomfortable.
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 29, 2016
    A block off the old Chip. [Aug 2016, p.117]
  3. Jun 30, 2016
    If the consistently lovely Piano is radical at all, it’s in a subtle and contextual way, serving partly as a space for Taylor to investigate several of his own previously released compositions and a few covers with a quiet kind of focus, and partly as a sustained exercise in mood.
  4. 67
    If you prefer the full band version over the solo, chances are you’ll dip into Piano occasionally, pulling your favorite tracks out for personal playlists. If you gravitate toward the solo rendition, the complete piano might be your background music of choice during those long, post-dance party Uber rides of the soul.
  5. Jul 26, 2016
    The album plays to his greatest strength, his gorgeous falsetto. It compensates for the fact that the instrumentation is pretty enough, but quite rudimentary.
  6. Jun 20, 2016
    Piano is a solo work through and through. Simple, yes, but considered, dignified and something of a palate cleanser too, wherein everything seems reset.
  7. Jun 10, 2016
    While intimate and personal in nature, Piano combines minimalistic instrumentation with simplistic lyrics and makes for an album that turns lackluster as a whole.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of