Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    85
    This is as essential as any other producer/emcee collaboration this year ("Pinata", "Run the Jewels 2") and proves that Premier (with the assistance of Adrian Younge) can still craft great albums with his well-worn formula.
  2. Dec 16, 2014
    80
    PRhyme is the perfect alternative for listeners who are tired of juvenile lyriscim, mud sippers and unintelligible hooks.
  3. Dec 16, 2014
    80
    Sounding both effortless and intricately composed at once, PRhyme is an instant classic, and one that sounds better and better as repeated listenings reveal more of the details hiding behind the album's deceptively straightforward approach.
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    80
    The result is one of 2014's tightest releases.
  5. Dec 16, 2014
    80
    PRhyme can be closed off to the Rap of today, but their rendition of the Rap of yesteryear will always have a place in any era.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 65
  2. Negative: 10 out of 65
  1. May 8, 2015
    9
    Really great album, DJ premier doesn't change his beat recipe and it is perfect like that. Some good ol' beats from the 90's are anotherReally great album, DJ premier doesn't change his beat recipe and it is perfect like that. Some good ol' beats from the 90's are another welcomed throwback from Premier. Royce is also fantastic on the album, his verses are intelligent and well crafted. Fans of pure hip-hop are in obligation to buy this album. Full Review »
  2. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    As a whole, PRhyme may honestly be my favorite album from this year. At the very least, it certainly is a worthy counterpart to Run the JewelsAs a whole, PRhyme may honestly be my favorite album from this year. At the very least, it certainly is a worthy counterpart to Run the Jewels 2 from RTJ and Pinata from Freddie Gibbs. DJ Premier is one of the best producers around and shows it here as every beat is just perfection. Complete with his trademark sound and trademark scratches, the production on the album is pure heaven for any fans of true hip hop. Royce is the perfect MC for this one as he really takes the opportunity to go over Premo's beats and runs with it. All of the guests here, namely Ab-Soul, Common, Joell Ortiz, and Joe Budden, have great verses and really hit a home run. For me, this is the closest any album has been to being a perfect 10 all year, but due to one track, "U Looz", that does not really do much, it is held back slightly. However, tracks such as "Dat Sound Good" and "Underground Kings" are truly amazing and really help bolster this album into being one of the best of 2014. On a final note, I really dug the length. It left me wanting more and yet still completely satisfied. Full Review »
  3. Dec 18, 2014
    8
    Dj Premiere and ROyce da 5 '9"...this was hot. Royce has got word play and the others guests on this album were nice too. I easily got 5 or 6Dj Premiere and ROyce da 5 '9"...this was hot. Royce has got word play and the others guests on this album were nice too. I easily got 5 or 6 tracks from it in my selection. Although, listening too so many tracks, that Boom Bap sound Prem is famous for -becomes redundant at best. But overall is hot. Full Review »