Quality Control: Control the Streets, Vol. 2 Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 36-track compilation from the Atlanta rap label features appearances from 24Heavy, City Girls, DJ Durel, Tee Grizzley, Gucci Mane, Gunna, Tay Keith, Mango Foo, Meek Mill, Megan Thee Stallion, Mustard, Offset, Playboi Carti, PnB Rock, Rylo Rodriguez, Renni Rucci, Travis Scott, and Young Thug.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 5, 2019
    At an hour and 45 minutes, it’s a lot. But throw QC’s formidable team at streaming services and something will probably stick. ... For anyone willing to take the full plunge, it’s a mostly satisfying chance to hear the sound of contemporary rap evolving in real time.
  2. Sep 19, 2019
    Because of QC’s careful curation of minimal features per track, the 36-song project feels more like Quality Control on shuffle than a compilation — which is a good thing but misses the mark on creating an album in the purest sense.
  3. Sep 5, 2019
    There are a couple of good performances here and there, but no choice cuts, just songs left on the cutting room floor during sessions for recent solo albums and filler tracks from lower-ranking artists on the QC roster. The longer the comp goes on, the more obvious it becomes that nothing is happening.
  4. Sep 5, 2019
    While the QC headliners spend much of Vol. 2 spinning their wheels, the undercards provide the more compelling draw and show occasional flashes of brilliance.
  5. Sep 5, 2019
    Even solid instrumentals begin to blur before the halfway point arrives, and the monotonous wash of mediocre content and phoned-in performances becomes exhausting long before the collection ends.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of