• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2014
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
Buy On
  1. Nov 19, 2014
    72
    Her foibles and off-kilter perspective on heartbreak offer shape and personality to a record that might otherwise be written off as too slick or inert, or indistinguishable from a host of peers making competent, spacious, and downcast pop music.
  2. Nov 19, 2014
    70
    The lyrical immediacy of the words serves her best when dealing with passion and hurt, but when she tries to excavate the mysteries of love, complexity eludes her.
  3. Nov 19, 2014
    70
    By owning her mistakes, she turns them into strengths--and delivers a winning first album in the process.
  4. Nov 19, 2014
    70
    [A] smartly produced arc-of-a-love-affair concept LP.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 200
  1. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    Tove Lo's "Queen of the Clouds" is a great debut LP. There are many highlights of the album, and it flows together really well. The album isTove Lo's "Queen of the Clouds" is a great debut LP. There are many highlights of the album, and it flows together really well. The album is divided up into 3 parts: "The Sex," The Love," and "The Pain." "The Sex" features pop bangers with sexual lyrics. "Talking Body" and "My Gun" are highlights of this section. "The Love" has great songs that tell of Tove being happy in her relationship. "Moments" (written by Tove only) is a highlight of this section. "The Pain" is full of heart-felt ballads where Tove's vocal range is really showcased. Her breakout single "Habits" is featured in this section. This album is great. I would definitely buy it on CD or on iTunes. It was worth my $10, and I'm contemplating buying it on vinyl as well. 10/10 Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2015
    5
    Tove Lo is a great songwriter and composer, you can't deny that. The trichotomic idea of her debut album, which appears to be truthful andTove Lo is a great songwriter and composer, you can't deny that. The trichotomic idea of her debut album, which appears to be truthful and intelligent as its author, is positively original and well made.
    But... Musically? BORING. Under-the-lines pop, sounds already heard and without any risk or innovation. As the clouds, this listening fades into nothingness. *yawn*
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    This is an amazing album, I love it, Tove Lo have a lot of qualidad, she is a queen, this sound so good and her voice is very well to listen,This is an amazing album, I love it, Tove Lo have a lot of qualidad, she is a queen, this sound so good and her voice is very well to listen, I recommended this album! Full Review »