Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Sep 11, 2018
    80
    Rainier Fog has enough highs mind to comfortably recommend as a must-listen--a lot of this material is what Chains do best.
  2. 80
    They were always one of the most metal band of the alt.rock boom that emerged from their Seattle scene in the early 1990’s, but on Rainier Fog; there’s a beauty and an expanse--as well as a major chord or two--that sees the band evolving.
  3. Q Magazine
    Aug 23, 2018
    80
    Happiness may remain an elusive quality in AIC's music, but variety is not. Be it the acoustic parts in Fly or elegant a cappella vocals of Maybe, they juggle power and poignancy like masters. [Sep 2018, p.110]
  4. Aug 23, 2018
    80
    This is music made from a band that has been through the wringer and is happy to settle down and play, and there's an undeniable appeal to that open heart, particularly when it's camouflaged underneath such nominally heavy music.
  5. Kerrang!
    Aug 23, 2018
    80
    It's prime Alice In Chains, and the work of a band still managing to hit new peaks of their powers. [25 Aug 2018, p.53]
  6. Aug 27, 2018
    70
    Rainier Fog is more than just another Alice in Chains record; it's another step in the process of redefining their sound since their first comeback record, 2009's Black Gives Way to Blue.
  7. Aug 24, 2018
    70
    The main issue with Rainier Fog, though, is that the band never climbs from the very bottom to the very top of that mountain and gives us all of their range. They stick relatively close to base camp, a well-stocked, but comfortable mid-point that largely eschews dynamics.
  8. 67
    While not the strongest of the band’s second-era output, it’s a nice addition to Alice in Chains’ impressive discography.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Aug 25, 2018
    9
    With Alice in Chains new album Rainier Fog, they manage to deliver what is easily the best music of the Duvall era, which is saying a lotWith Alice in Chains new album Rainier Fog, they manage to deliver what is easily the best music of the Duvall era, which is saying a lot since Black Gives Way to Blue and The Devil Put the Dinosaurs here are really solid albums. But Rainier Fog delivers something above those two with inspired song writing and lyrics. This album sits high on my list of favorite albums for the year and for that matter easily sits next to classics like Dirt and Face Lift without being a direct copy of either. Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2018
    10
    Been waiting for this album since "The One You Know" was released. To be perfectly honest, I was not let down by these Seattle giants. AnotherBeen waiting for this album since "The One You Know" was released. To be perfectly honest, I was not let down by these Seattle giants. Another great album added to their flawless discography. Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2018
    10
    People may ask: "How can a band who lost one of the best frontman in history still be this good?" Jerry Cantrell. It has always been CantrellPeople may ask: "How can a band who lost one of the best frontman in history still be this good?" Jerry Cantrell. It has always been Cantrell who was the creative architect to their sound; writing almost all of the music and half of their lyrics. Layne's legacy will forever be there and there isn't a day that his voice and presence isn't missed but AIC has carved for themselves this new chapter in its history. Continuing on with another stellar album.

    I was both cautious and optimistic when I found out AIC was putting out another album. Don't get me wrong, I loved The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here but it wasn't as diverse as Black Gives Way to Blue was. But this one was well worth the wait. It sees Alice in Chains adapting, evolving and moving forward but most importantly still being their dynamic selves - looking back on 30 years of solid music and a legacy that will never fade. This one sits alongside Dirt for me as one of their best. I just hope I don't have to wait another 5 years for the next one, guys.
    Full Review »