• Record Label: Rounder
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 84
  2. Negative: 4 out of 84

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Capel
    Nov 6, 2007
    8
    great album, with various elements. Krauss and Plant create some inspiring ideas.
  2. JayT.
    Nov 15, 2007
    2
    After two sublimely inventive albums that married progression to musical roots in ways few artists can, Plant decides to embrace the conservative and decades ago overdone. It's both embarrassing and sad, but also very telling that it seems to score higher than any of his truly adventurous solo work.
  3. AlastairM
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    My album of the year. In fact, the only thing that might persuade me to give it less than 10 is that I find myself singing several of the tracks ad nauseam to the point where I irritate myself, it's so good.
  4. TondeVries
    Nov 30, 2007
    5
    Boring, wrong combination.
  5. GeorgeB.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    What a pleasant suprise! I think the one individual who should be mentioned in context of this recording is T-Bone Burnett, whose choice of musicians and production techniques make his contribution as vital as the two singers.
  6. Rev.Rikard
    Oct 30, 2007
    6
    A pleasant surprise. Plant once ripped open our chest to infuse a "Whole Lotta Love" into the heart; therefore, it was difficult to imagine him softly pleading for an invitation to touch us with heart-felt depth. Even with "Stairway to Heaven" his voice maintained a hard edge that made the song a unique rock classic. Raising Sand reveals a "softer, gentler Plant" that is actually A pleasant surprise. Plant once ripped open our chest to infuse a "Whole Lotta Love" into the heart; therefore, it was difficult to imagine him softly pleading for an invitation to touch us with heart-felt depth. Even with "Stairway to Heaven" his voice maintained a hard edge that made the song a unique rock classic. Raising Sand reveals a "softer, gentler Plant" that is actually engaging. Fairness demands that we consider the impact of Krauss upon Plant's stylings. There has never been a sweeter/ potent combination in a single voice like Krauss's. That angelic voice almost demands that we listen. The mellow sound of an old metal war horse wed to one of bluegrass's most peaceful vocalist works. Songs like Killing the Blues and Gone, Gone, Gone invite us to play them often. However, most of the other tracks are disappointing. Again, the duet works, but the material is lacking; the songs do not provide an adequate vehicle for this surprising sound. I hope they give it another go, and utilize greater judgment in song selection. Expand
  7. jw
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    (9.5) "Raising Sand" was an album I didn't even know I wanted. I didn't know it was in the works. Being a fan of both artists, I should have. And I certainly got my hands on it as soon as I could. The thing is like a summit of two world powers. Or when Kahlo kicked around with the French Surrealists. Krauss is an American music treasure, there's no getting around it. In (9.5) "Raising Sand" was an album I didn't even know I wanted. I didn't know it was in the works. Being a fan of both artists, I should have. And I certainly got my hands on it as soon as I could. The thing is like a summit of two world powers. Or when Kahlo kicked around with the French Surrealists. Krauss is an American music treasure, there's no getting around it. In "Trampled Rose," she works the sort of ethereal magic one would expect from her soprano. On "Nothin'," she channels her inner Boyd Tinsley, turning her bluegrass fiddle into a buzzing rock violin behind Plant's bluesy growl. Throughout, Plant shows considerable dexterity alongside a singer who could make anyone sound like a stumbling clod. Their give and take is beautiful. As is the musicianship. Marc Ribot's guitar playing - especially on "Polly Come Home" - reminds me of Yo La Tengo's spare soundtrack to "Old Joy." Repeat listens reveal this album to be as deep as it is broad, and it's easily one of the best this year. Expand
  8. SpencerD.
    Nov 13, 2007
    4
    Am I missing something here? Made me feel like driving over the cliff. Very depressing and on par with a visit to the dentist.
  9. RLB
    Nov 3, 2007
    5
    I'm a fairly big AK fan, and so-so fan of Robert Plant's solo efforts. I have to say that Plant drags Krauss down amongst the turkeys. She needs to return to Union Station, where she soars like an eagle.
  10. iwanh.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    Voice of the best rock throat and the best bluegrass singer match perfectly. My record of the year.
  11. robertk.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    I cannot believe the rating on this one: only 88... This should have been higher, substantially above 90. The combination of the two voices is a rare treat, Alison steals the show with her interpretation of Trampled Rose....
  12. nicks.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    like buttah!
  13. BoB.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Simply Stunning!
  14. CeceliaC.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Music with fantastic lyrics. Listened to it first time in car. I pulled over and grabbed the copy of lyrics out of album cover The lyrics are poetry and Plant and Krauss treat/sing it in a respectful manner. Finally a new CD for the older adult.
  15. madsl
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    one of the albums of the year!! (and who would have thought that this odd couple could deliver that!?) Plant's vocals are nothing short of utterly captivating. His rendition of Killing the blues and Polly come home are truly exceptional..and the production of t-bone burnett is equally outstanding. very organic and full of space - deserves to be mentioned next to daniel lanois' one of the albums of the year!! (and who would have thought that this odd couple could deliver that!?) Plant's vocals are nothing short of utterly captivating. His rendition of Killing the blues and Polly come home are truly exceptional..and the production of t-bone burnett is equally outstanding. very organic and full of space - deserves to be mentioned next to daniel lanois' amazing reinvention of emmylou harris on Wrecking Ball a decade ago. Expand
  16. DavidR.
    Oct 29, 2007
    8
    Outstanding, unique, and addicting.
  17. RicB.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Moody, haunting, interesting, ethereal. First time I played the CD, I actually got goosebumps. Krauss is in her prime. Thirty years after Zep, Plant still has a better voice than most singers out there. Songs have meat, thanks to T-Bone. Class act production all the way. This is the album of the year.
  18. Trevor
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    An absolutely sublime album. This is from someone who is not a fan of either singers. The pairing works magnificently.
  19. georgeb.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    great, absolutely great
  20. BlairS
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    One of my favourites of 2007. Krauss' voice is absolutely unreal throughout this album. Sparklingly clear, emotive, stunning, ethereal, haunting, angelic....I was blown away (as someone who has never really given her a good listen before). Great pairing between Robert and Alison, and I hope they do it again. This album is truly a gem, and much thanks goes to Burnett for that as well.
  21. ChrisM.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    Interesting and more than a little challenging, great combination but I can see why its a little to laid back for some.
  22. janew.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    This is a hypnotizing, very moving album. I am a fan of both of them, and as unlikely as they are, to be dueting....this not only works, this succeeds! A brilliant pairing
  23. PaulY.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    For those who like to actually listen to music rather than simply let it play in the background, this rewards every listen with some new gem. Fantastic!
  24. FrançoisH
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    Simply a Robert Plant album, what else? Alison Krauss with her honey voice.
  25. BrittG.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Excellent work that grows on you more with each listen.
  26. TomB.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    I cannot understand how fans of either artist, if they are fans of music at all, could not like this album. Dark, sophisticated, delicate and intelligent.
  27. SalmanH.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Sublime.
  28. TimM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    I don't normally appreciate the almost country sound on a number of these tracks, but I am blown away by the magic that this combination is!
  29. MW.
    Jan 11, 2008
    9
    If you are looking for a kind of rockabilly style country duo this is quite an album! I have a few favorites but really a nice surprise at how effective these two compliment each other. If you like either one this a great CD to buy!
  30. BobbyM.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    A unique and stunningly fine album. Plant and Krauss have remarkable chemistry. Nothing seems forced or out of place. This album will age extremely well. Don't miss it.
  31. chrisp.
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    Never really was a fan of Zeppelin before, even when introduced to LZ3, a beautiful rock out album. But the combination and atmosphere captured by these two icons of rock and their magical weaving of voices, create such stunning results, that it makes me feel so good. Definitely one of my favorites of the year.
  32. AndyC.
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    A beautiful album. T Bone Burnett really deserves his name along side Plant & Krauss on the front of the album but thats not really his way. When you combine stellar talent like this it will either be awful or brilliant and thankfully its the latter.
  33. Kennyboy
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    Wow, great album. So moody and etheral. The two voices mesh really well, and the song choices are great. Never heard Robert Plant sound so good.
  34. JonM.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Beautiful...fresh...earthy...ethereal...the best "new" sound I've heard in years.
  35. MicheleS
    Nov 21, 2007
    0
    Horrible album. I'm a big AK fan but I don't know what she was thinking when she decided to do this collaboration. Her gorgeous voice is completely drowned out by Plant and the rest of the crew. What a dud!
  36. VW.
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Raising Sand is unexpected and curious, it touches every genre of music and doesn't commit to any. There was a few highlights like "Polly come home" and Alison Krauss is as always haunting and beautiful.
  37. VanceH.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    As much credit as these artists deserve, the real genius here is producer T-Bone Burnett. Virtually everything he touches turns to diamonds. That signature sound that makes the project sparkle is part of the magic Burnett works. Audiophiles won't be disappointed with the recording quality, either.
  38. Oct 26, 2018
    2
    I don't know if it was just me, but every track had significant hiss which distracted me from enjoying the album... I don't know if the CD I bought was somehow a dud, but it makes me questions recording or reproduction qualities. Perhaps streaming versions are good quality, but I would suggest not purchasing the CD version. Beyond the hiss, I didn't find the music too inspiring.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. What seems to be an unlikely pairing in the duo of former -- and future apparently--Led Zeppelin vocalist Robert Plant and bluegrass superstar Alison Krauss is actually one of the most effortless-sounding pairings in modern popular music.
  2. Perhaps only the fantasy duo of King Kong and Bambi could be a more bizarre pairing than Robert Plant and Alison Krauss. Yet on Raising Sand, their haunting and brilliant collaboration, the Led Zeppelin screamer and Nashville's most hypnotic song whisperer seem made for each other
  3. Robert Plant's pilgrimages to the Deep South led him to Nashville for Raising Sand, an imaginative, seductive collaboration with bluegrass goddess Alison Krauss that explores the desolate valleys between his Delta blues and her Appalachian folk.