User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 7278 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    I don't think it is a good album. None of the songs has deep lyrics or good sound. I prefer Revival, this one is nothing but garbage.
  2. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    boring. underwhelming. unoriginal. repetitive. basic. mediocre. not show stopping.
  3. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    It’s repetitive and adds nothing new to the musical scene. It feels like she’s just dragging her relationship with Justin for attention.0
  4. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    All songs sound the same for me. Very generic like many other pop singers. Im a bit upset .
  5. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Real trash. Generic pop and no vocals. I had the impression that I was listening to the same song several times. If it was to release this, it was better to have been out of the industry forever. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. los mismos sonidos de siempre, nada nuevo, ya aburre esa señora, urge retiro, siempre estará bajo la sombra de su patrona, Ariana Grande, la princesa indiscutible del pop. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    No artistic growth and direction. The songs sound the same sonically. Heavily auto-tuned. No artistic identity. Musicality is lacking
  8. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    I’ve been a big fan of Selena for years, i always LOVED her music, even her droplets from 2017, but THIS? no way.. i can’t believe she made us wait for FOUR years to hear.. her worst album. I’m disappointed.
  9. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Every song sounds the same. Nothing out of the ordinary and no growth shown through records
  10. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    I was really looking forward to this album but it’s just not it! The lyrics, production, vocals are all basic. Compared to her peers, Ariana, Demi and Miley it’s just not good enough.
  11. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Trash. 0 cohesiveness, boring bland tracks, as expected from her. No evolution in her sound. Revival was better, idk what y’all are on in the user review section but i would like to try some...
  12. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Horrível, Selena como sempre entregando um trabalho pobre, sem qualidade alguma, parece que vive na sombra de Ariana grande, "thank u, next" surra esse trabalho mal feit
    o.
  13. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    elle aurait pu mieux faire dsl c'est très décevant pour un comeback aussi attendu
  14. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Sooooo overrated! Revival is better. Rare and lose you to love me are the only good songs with both good music and lyrics. The other songs either have good music and bad lyrics or vice versa
  15. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Bueno, la verdad es que Rare era un álbum en el que yo deposité todas mis expectativas, quizá porque teníamos bastante tiempo sin escuchar la música de Selena, debido a su largo descanso de 4 años. Entonces como espectadores estábamos emocionados por lo nuevo y mejorado que presumía la Selena. Pero la dura verdad es que es muy básico, y comparado con su álbum anterior "Revival" quedóBueno, la verdad es que Rare era un álbum en el que yo deposité todas mis expectativas, quizá porque teníamos bastante tiempo sin escuchar la música de Selena, debido a su largo descanso de 4 años. Entonces como espectadores estábamos emocionados por lo nuevo y mejorado que presumía la Selena. Pero la dura verdad es que es muy básico, y comparado con su álbum anterior "Revival" quedó corta, y s que el álbum tenía potencial para ser una verdadera obra de arte, solamente que no supo aprovecharlo. Su voz, fue arreglada de manera exagerada, con el autotune abusaron y honestamente no había qué presumir a nivel vocal. Los ritmos, eran muy buenos, aunque todos eran similares e incluso sonaban a descartes de su álbum pasado. Las letras repetitivas que que aburrian, llegando a ser demasiado tedioso intentar escuchar las canciones de nuevo. En conclusión, es un álbum que se quedó en la mitad del camino de la búsqueda a ser un álbum lleno de calidad, y simplemente nos entregó algo flojo, asegurándose de mencionar a su ex. Expand
  16. Jan 10, 2020
    3
    Llevábamos tiempo sin escuchar algo nuevo de Selena Gómez, así que, cuatro años después, tras la noticia de su nuevo material y de su “regresó” todos estábamos ansiosos por conocer y por escuchar lo preparado. He de admitir que, en un principio esto me era un poco irrelevante pues no soy fan de esta artista pero, al escuchar su nueva canción “Lose To You Love Me” me voló la cabeza porLlevábamos tiempo sin escuchar algo nuevo de Selena Gómez, así que, cuatro años después, tras la noticia de su nuevo material y de su “regresó” todos estábamos ansiosos por conocer y por escuchar lo preparado. He de admitir que, en un principio esto me era un poco irrelevante pues no soy fan de esta artista pero, al escuchar su nueva canción “Lose To You Love Me” me voló la cabeza por completo, claro no mencionemos lo polémica que fue; el punto es que me gustó demasiado la canción e inicié a prestarle más atención a Selena, curiosa por todo lo que iba a traernos después. Look At Her Now salió inmediatamente y bueno, no fue tanto de mi agrado, supongo que por el ritmo pues no soy muy fan de ese tipo de música pero admitía que era buena la canción, a pesar de su “icónica” letra como “Mmmm mmmm” (de eso hablaré después).
    Estaba emocionada por la fecha en que su nuevo álbum iba a salir, tenía demasiada expectativa en que esta “era” fuera de mi agrado totalmente pues tenía la pinta de ser muy profundo e inspirador. En fin, llegó el día y lo primero que puedo decir de esto es que fue una completa decepción. Demasiado tiempo se esperó para poder escuchar algo nuevo y posiblemente innovador, y terminamos escuchando algo que parece que se hizo a las últimas, un artista que sólo buscó quitarse un peso de encima y publicar cualquier cosa. Puedo admitir que sí, las letras son muy buenas, tanto que lindas, es lo único que puedo llegar a aplaudirle a Selena porque queramos o no, llegamos a sentir empatía con ellas o llegamos a sentir el mensaje pero, dejando de eso a un lado, las letras llegan a pasar desapercibidas incluso.
    Cada canción que pasaba iba de mal en peor. Todas llenas de mil veces en donde se repite una y otra vez el título. Había canciones que me hacían dudar y me hacían preguntar como “¿realmente estoy escuchando a Selena Gómez?” Ó “¿esto debe de sorprenderme o gustarme?”. Y sí, ME ESTOY REFIRIENDO A RING, dioooos, esa canción me dio cringe, ¿cuál era el punto? Qué canción de hueva, no, más bien qué álbum de flojera y sin gracia. Me sentía cada vez más cerca del centro de la tierra, ahí con todas mis expectativas. Pero lo gracioso es que, seguía teniendo fe por alguna extraña razón (spoiler, se fue a la basura en cuanto escuchaba la siguiente canción).
    Nada nuevo, nada innovador.

    ¿Qué más puedo decir? A este punto me estoy imaginando todos los posibles comentarios que me pueden hacer por esta crítica, CRÍTICA. Esperaba muchísimo más de Selena, algo que me hiciera bailar, llorar, y disfrutar.
    Expand
  17. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Total lack of cohesivity! Sounds like she got a bunch of random passed on songs and threw them all together in this album. Even though she had plenty of time, this album sounds like it was put together in a month. Once again, Selena plays the safe card and goes for the generic pop sound, and not to mention, bringing back the obnoxious shade towards her ex, Bieber. Sad.
  18. Jan 10, 2020
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It has a lot of fillers ! It’s not the album that we’ve been waiting for more than 4 years ! Expand
  19. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Álbum sem nexo. Letras sem sentido, batidas sem sentido! Ou o som ruim, ou a letra ruim, o conjunto em si ficou MUITO ruim! Selena não inova em suas letras, sempre faz música para seu ex, Justin Bieber. Mesmas letras e mesmas indiretas, isso não é composição de verdade, ela não é cantora de verdade. É horrível ver um álbum desse, nesse nível de ruindade, vindo a tona para ser comprado, nãoÁlbum sem nexo. Letras sem sentido, batidas sem sentido! Ou o som ruim, ou a letra ruim, o conjunto em si ficou MUITO ruim! Selena não inova em suas letras, sempre faz música para seu ex, Justin Bieber. Mesmas letras e mesmas indiretas, isso não é composição de verdade, ela não é cantora de verdade. É horrível ver um álbum desse, nesse nível de ruindade, vindo a tona para ser comprado, não tem conteúdo algum. Seus próprios ouvintes disseram que não gostaram. Não é um álbum merecedor de likes ou prêmios, jamais, está vergonhoso. Expand
  20. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    old que a selena é uma fracassada incapaz de entregar um album decente e de qualidade... mas o que esperar de alguém que nao sabe nem cantar em live ne. album pessimo, tive que ouvir metade em um dia e a outra metade depois pq meu ouvido doia. essa mulher nao e artista.
  21. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    this album is so good for the comeback but nothing more than Revival. have so many songs than sound like the same but a little inovator (for her). whatever, its so good to see your growth.
  22. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    A trash!!! I don't know what's worse, this generic pop or these copied samples, a real rubbish!
  23. Jan 10, 2020
    3
    again with the same old tired, generic dance beat. can you come up with something else selena? most of the songs are boring except for two or three songs that are kinda catchy. the only good thing about the album is the the lyrics. lose you to love me is the best song on rare. i wish selena would’ve went down that direction. oh, and her vocals are autotuned tf out of. all these years intoagain with the same old tired, generic dance beat. can you come up with something else selena? most of the songs are boring except for two or three songs that are kinda catchy. the only good thing about the album is the the lyrics. lose you to love me is the best song on rare. i wish selena would’ve went down that direction. oh, and her vocals are autotuned tf out of. all these years into selena’s career and she still hasn’t improved vocally. get a vocal coach luv, you got the money. Expand
  24. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    Very tiring to hear her sing about that ex of hers. Do something new already its boring. It felt like listening to one very long song. No diversity in this album.
  25. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    Songs all song the same. No artistic growth from the last album. She still whispers and has no good vocals att all. Just not good overall.
  26. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    her most boring work to date. literally wasn’t excited about a single song. do better girly.
  27. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Songs are really just mediocre and a lot are boring wouldn’t recommend. Was expecting better from her.
  28. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really excited for this album but this is just bland. I'm starting to question if she can actually sing Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Pretty much the same type of music as always damn is already 2020 I want something new something innovative **** that about tune
  30. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Terrible album, thanks to the producers for saving it for just 2 songs. No musical growth, too much auto tune. Just terrible. The voice isn’t it
  31. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Every song sounds the same. Mumbles her way through the entire thing. This album does not tell you what she went through in the past 4 years. Could’ve been about life and death, empowerment, etc. yet talks about her married ex. Absolutely embarrassing. Expand
  32. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    All tracks sounds similar, repetitive. The voice and dynamics are bland, very monotone. At least autotune saved the album. This is definitely her most boring album so far.
  33. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Chile what in the pure hell is this. 0 depth to her music, 0 consistency and no flow. The only consistent thing on this album is the weak vocals that plague every single track. I wish I could get the time back I spent listening to this album.
  34. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    The album is trash not worth to listen to. 5 years for this album no thanks. Listen to the pinkprint by Nicki Minaj it’s much better.
  35. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thinking about how an album like that took 4 years ?
    - All the songs sound the same
    - Ring is a stolen song from the french song "Derniere danse"
    - In many songs we can really hear the autotune which is really sad especially when you talk about personnal things
    - The album is like always about Justin Bieber
    I feel like she could have done so much better especially after 4 years working on it... it's really sad
    Expand
  36. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Superficial e sem coerência. Um álbum sem nenhuma emoção, o que é comum na indústria mas, algo inesperado já que é taxado como o trabalho mais pessoal da carreira da Selena.
  37. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    WORST CAREER ALBUM. Rare can be worse than Stars Dance with your repetitive instrumentality and a poorly finished production style. Disappointing
  38. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Um álbum básico. Com a sensação de que estou ouvindo a mesma música do início ao fim, Selena Gomez prova mais uma vez o que pensam sobre sua versatilidade: ela é inexistente. Aproveitando o marketing nojento de seu álbum, no qual em meio ao casamento do seu ex casado ela lança uma música chorando sobre ele, ela usa a superação como forma de válvula de escape para fingir algo que nãoUm álbum básico. Com a sensação de que estou ouvindo a mesma música do início ao fim, Selena Gomez prova mais uma vez o que pensam sobre sua versatilidade: ela é inexistente. Aproveitando o marketing nojento de seu álbum, no qual em meio ao casamento do seu ex casado ela lança uma música chorando sobre ele, ela usa a superação como forma de válvula de escape para fingir algo que não aconteceu. Perto fos 30, todos esperavam algo maduro, mas a sensação que passa é que ela nunca saiu de 2013, com faixas parecidas com o Star Dance e outras músicas muito pareciras com Bad Liar. A verdade é que já passou da hora de crescer e inovar, porém ela se prese a uma sonoridade linear e que não surpreende em nada. Falta emoção, falta inovação, e é explícito que sua voz sem edição é fraca e muito longe de ser uma cantora de verdade, estando nessa indústria apenas pela conveniência e por aproveitar as polêmicas em torno de seu relacionamento passado. Expand
  39. Jan 10, 2020
    3
    it’s quite mediocre, definitely not bad but after all that anticipation i felt rather underwhelmed when i listened to it
  40. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Nunca irá superar o Revival. O rare me decepcionou muito como fã. Anos de espera pra essa cabeçuda vir com esse lixo
  41. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    um álbum morno e que não superou as minhas expectativas porém mostra um amadurecimento da artista... horrível
  42. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Músicas repetidas com produções chatas, Selena nunca vai superar o revival, pena
  43. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    it’s very boring. i expected better after waiting 5 years for a new album. the lyrics and production is lazy and i’m just not impressed
  44. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    Bad album, super bad. I want my wasted minutes back hearing this garbage album
  45. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    This album is a pure dumpster fire. Boring, repetitive and bland tracks have been the norm from Selena and yet again we see this on RARE. She can't seem to evolve her music and move forward from her Disney era, in some cases it feels like a step back from her other albums and I cannot understand how it took just over 4 years to make this album.
  46. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    I'm sorry but all songs of this album sounds exactly the same and I feel like every one of them is a rejected work from another project. I saw some fans of miss Gomez that were so hyped up but... all that... for this. Doesn't feel right.
  47. Jan 11, 2020
    3
    Selena went through a lot, but I didn’t see that reflected in this album. She cried more over Bieber than the literal life or death kidney transplant that she didn't mention at all.
  48. Jan 11, 2020
    1
    No growth whatsoever. I thought this would be different from her last album but it feels like im listening to the same song all over again. Fell asleep listening to it. Sorry
  49. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    Not a Good album, always the same, i do not like your voice. Always whispering!!!!
  50. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    disco sem personalidade e sem conteúdo, letras pobres e instrumental fraco.
  51. Jan 10, 2020
    3
    despite being selenator, i'm so discouraged about what selena gave fans. we waited 4 years for this album and the end result was boring and basic.
  52. Jan 10, 2020
    1
    TERRIBLE, GENERIC, CHAOTIC. An album that looks more like boring guided meditation. Production is poor, the lyrics aren't good
  53. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    It's embarrassing for a 27-year-old woman with over a decade in the music industry, to produce an album that sounds like she's still on Disney Channel
  54. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Weak lyrics and her voice is kinda annoying, vulnerable is the only listenable song
  55. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. shallow and very incoherent, not bad, terribleeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  56. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Selena Gomez has once again proven herself to be an inconsistent and underperforming artist and songwriter with her newest album rare
  57. Jan 10, 2020
    1
    She took 4 years to make this album and it is really bad the producing on the album is not good. The lyrics are good on song like “people I know”
    There nothing new on this album in a world of consumption
  58. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    she spent 4 years working on this album and it was disappointing as hell and no that personal
  59. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Álbum genérico, infantil e imaturo, sem autenticidade nenhuma, mas não se pode esperar muita coisa de uma artista fabricada e sem talento
  60. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This album is horrible...After I finished the album, I had a strong headache...
  61. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sem nenhuma identidade! Mais EDM como sempre, tem que aprender muito sobre coesão e qualidade com sua amiga Ariana Grande! Expand
  62. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    generic and boring. only her fans could be delusional and say this album is good we all people with taste can't relate
  63. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    soa como qualquer coisa que ela já fez antes. atrapalhado. comum. feio. mal produzido. estas são apenas algumas palavras que vem à mente quando penso nesse disco que azedou o mês de janeiro.
  64. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Who told this girl she could sing??? All the tracks look like each other, there isn’t ANY vocal dynamic and the lyrics (except Lose you to love me and Cut of you) are totally generic. She took 4 years to do an album that other singers of her generation would took 2 weeks. That’s it!
  65. Jan 10, 2020
    1
    Most of the songs sounded the same. No improvement on her vocals. No creativity and artistic exploration.
  66. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    A mess. It's sad she had to put other artists to do the high notes she could never reach, how sad is it. Can she please give up her music career?
  67. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    worst album of the DECADE, lousy writing, horrible vocals.. i disagree by poppy is much more well written & it’s disgusting how some people can compare this to the masterpiece sweetener
  68. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. worst album i've heard in my life, so boring and generic, literally...
    only selenators are pretending to like it sksjfjdj
    Expand
  69. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    mediocre and repetitive, didn’t have high expectations but this isn’t good
  70. Jan 10, 2020
    3
    nothing new... pretty much her old sound all over again.. a few songs about justin here and there and a lot of autotune
  71. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Es un álbum sumamente aburrido que horror que alguien se haya ocurrido dirige un álbum realmente una muerda no es nada interesante tratando de hacerse la víctima en sus letras también hablando sólo de Justin el peor álbum del año y de la decada
  72. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    No vocal improvement, no artistry improvement. I’m extremely disappointed. We all waited five years for a brand new album from Selena Gomez to get this. What is this? Lover by Taylor Swift is so much better. Very sad for her.
  73. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    sounds like all old songs, without innovation, a desperate attempt to be Ariana Grande but in a failed way
  74. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Worst album ever all she's doing is whispering and moaning taylor ended her
  75. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    No, this album is not a masterpiece. It sounds almost like the same song for its 41 minutes of horror. I guess the only decent moment that this project containts, besides its ending, is the song "Rare". I can't believe that THIS needed +20 writers...
  76. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Nunca escutei algo tão ruim na vida.
    Minha tia não andava a meses e hoje levantou da cama só pra levantar e desligar a música.
  77. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrible, me quedo con revival, muy aburrido, muy simple, lo unico rescatable es dance again. ni hablar del autotune Expand
  78. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This is what happens when a label decides to hire writers to write a "personal" album for someone who doesn't sing or write just because they're a celebrity.

    Labels putting money over music once again.
  79. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    tried to make something but it ended up as nothing, the album is so repetitive and bored, maybe in the next time Selena.
  80. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Truly disappointed, Selena can do better even tho she’s not a vocalist or a great singer. The most important thing is that she needs to move on from Justin and write about other staff ( if she actually writes)
  81. Jan 10, 2020
    3
    SO many fake 10s on this. Everyone is commenting the same stuff and don’t explain anything. Yes the albums diverse, we get it. But it doesn’t make it good. It’s very lackluster is so many areas. A lot of the tracks were filler and skippable.
  82. Jan 10, 2020
    3
    I was very disappointed i expected something way better then this . This album is so bad
  83. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This album was pretty mediocre. As I would expect from an “artist” who cannot even sing. People are saying the album is cohesive but it really isn’t, most songs just sound exactly the same. I’m a bit surprised that it took her four years to release this because it honestly sounds like it took her a week.
  84. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Músicas genéricas, com a mesma melodia e bem nível Selena Gomez. Não consegui escutar algumas faixas até o fim, parecia uma tortura. Nenhuma inovação.
  85. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Worst album ever, so monotonous. Selewhispers strikes again! It feels like she is using Billie and Ariana's style.
  86. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    So bad and lower than mediocre she should just stop with her non existing voice, justin bieber's songs were disgusting and this is none different sorry stream billie taylor and beyonce
  87. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Revival is your best last album ! I'm sorry but is the true ! Well maybe you can make other thing in the future
  88. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    gente? eu teria vergonha de ficar fazendo um álbum por 4 anos e sair isso kk, thank u next maior e melhor
  89. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Everybody must know that it Is what it is. Ir Is so mucho autotune in every song
  90. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    It's so horrible, every sound of this album made me so uncomfortable and his voice is still ugly
  91. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    did your fans wait 5 years for this? the songs are boring and repetitive, the album should talk about her but only sends arrows to her ex. but didn't this girl have a life after she was left?
  92. Jan 10, 2020
    1
    Não há mudança das música passadas. Gosto da cantora mas infelizmente não inova no que faz
  93. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    This is just horrible. It’s very repetitive and it gets boring. Every single song its a skip...
  94. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    :( :( :( not good, thought it would be better. Same beat in the hole album. Sorry :(
  95. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    I love Selena but this album is so underwhelming. She has so much potential but let’s it go to waste by making very forgettable pure pop songs. Yes, they’re “bops” but nothing on that album is really standing out. A step back from Revival.
  96. Jan 10, 2020
    1
    definitely not worth listening. after such a long time of waiting i expected something different
  97. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    Es el peor álbum me recuerda mucho a lover de taylor la verdad fue una verdadera kk
  98. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    I'm a Swiftie but I don't like Selena Gomez so i don't support her. And this album is not that good
  99. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    has to be one of the worst albums ever. she has no vocal abilities and all the songs sound the same. she is so overrated
  100. Jan 10, 2020
    0
    what is this??? it’s definitely the worst album that i ever heard, she’s a really bad singer!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 15, 2020
    60
    Rare continually teases intriguing forays into leftfield pop, but so many of the album’s experiments come off as just that, without ever crystallizing with memorable hooks.
  2. Jan 14, 2020
    80
    The record she has delivered to kickstart a new decade is a career defining release, and from a pop star who is firmly back on top of her game.
  3. Jan 14, 2020
    68
    While none of these 13 songs attempt the subtle weirdness of “Bad Liar” and the emotional thesis—self-love!—can be a bit one-note, Rare is the 27-year-old’s most cohesive record to date. ... But it’s difficult to come away from Rare with any real perspective on who Gomez is other than that she doesn’t want to be the person she was, whoever that similarly mysterious shadow was.