User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 7279 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is a generic pop album, she tries to improve doing some electro pop but she completely failed, It is so flat vocally and sonically. and even the lyrical content it is so simple. :( Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    the songs are pretty much the same showing that pop music is generic because most releases contain songs always the same
  3. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    more or less, some songs it's better, but others... The fans waited so long for this?
  4. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    The first half of the album from 'Rare' to 'People You Know' is amazing. Each song has it's own individual sound and is notable. However, the second half of the album isn't memorable and the songs begin to sound like one continuous track given the homogenised sound and also the repetitive lyrics. The highlights of this album are 'Dance Again', 'Lose You to Love Me', 'Ring' andThe first half of the album from 'Rare' to 'People You Know' is amazing. Each song has it's own individual sound and is notable. However, the second half of the album isn't memorable and the songs begin to sound like one continuous track given the homogenised sound and also the repetitive lyrics. The highlights of this album are 'Dance Again', 'Lose You to Love Me', 'Ring' and 'Vulnerable'. The pitfalls and songs that probably should have been scrapped are 'Look at Her Now' and 'Fun'. The irony in this is Revival and Rare are both lyrically more sophisticated however are not cohesive records. At least with Stars Dance there was some cohesion. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    I guess i expected more, lyrics are fine but sonically it’s just not it. I stay with revival
  6. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    Such generic productions, with forgettable melodies and tired vocals. The lyrics to some songs are the best part of the LP, but still their beat are so outdated that can't overcome. It's a LP to listen to the singles only and two or three other songs.
  7. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    Hi. I'll probably get hate for this but here we go... "Rare" is a good pop album. It has its ups but it also has its downs. There are songs powerful with strong lyrics about Gomez's life (i know she had some troubles even though im not a big fan) while other songs are the most basic radio pop you'll ever hear. Some people might like that but i really dont. It's not bad but could have beenHi. I'll probably get hate for this but here we go... "Rare" is a good pop album. It has its ups but it also has its downs. There are songs powerful with strong lyrics about Gomez's life (i know she had some troubles even though im not a big fan) while other songs are the most basic radio pop you'll ever hear. Some people might like that but i really dont. It's not bad but could have been so much better if some songs weren't there
    Best Songs: Rare,Lose you to love me,Crowded room, a sweeter place
    Worst songs: Look at her now, Fun,Dance again
    Expand
  8. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    Até a sexta faixa do álbum tudo corria razoavelmente bem. Depois me senti cansado. Muito repetição, algumas letras fracas. Abusou dos hummm, ahhhh, ohhhh. Não é um grande álbum, mas tbm não é péssimo. Se fosse um EP com apenas as 6 primeiras faixas, seria melhor!
  9. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    bomba generica, album extremamente fraco e mediano, o revival esmaga essa mediocridade
  10. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    Very underwhelming, simple and bland. I don’t know why it took her 4 years to make this album.
  11. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    Triste pensar que a Selena apelou pra essa sonoridade quase idêntica a do Ch*rlie Puth, que amargou nas críticas e avermelhou. Frustrante e batido. Desanima.
  12. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    After Revival and four years of random (but great) releases, we find in Rare that maybe that was it. It certainly gives you the feeling of going somewhere, but we never find out where. The album is just an amount of chill beats and cliché lyrics, not at all like the bangers we were receiving from Selena in Bad Liar, Fetish or Back at You. On the good side, shout out to the two collabs,After Revival and four years of random (but great) releases, we find in Rare that maybe that was it. It certainly gives you the feeling of going somewhere, but we never find out where. The album is just an amount of chill beats and cliché lyrics, not at all like the bangers we were receiving from Selena in Bad Liar, Fetish or Back at You. On the good side, shout out to the two collabs, Crowded Room and A Sweeter Place (featuring 6LACK and Kid Cudi respectively), also Kinda Crazy and Fun seems to sum up what she was trying to do here, but than lost track. And even these sound like they won't age well (very soon). Overall, a good album to listen at the mall while shopping, way less than what we expect from Selena. Expand
  13. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    The album isn’t bad, it’s average. I think it’s cohesive in the sense that the songs flow, but they only flow because a lot of them sound very similar and very empty. The songs that are less electronic pop are the ones that stand out and the ones that contain those electronic elements fade to the background due to the lackluster sounds and production. Could have been much better for it toThe album isn’t bad, it’s average. I think it’s cohesive in the sense that the songs flow, but they only flow because a lot of them sound very similar and very empty. The songs that are less electronic pop are the ones that stand out and the ones that contain those electronic elements fade to the background due to the lackluster sounds and production. Could have been much better for it to be 4 years after the AMAZING Revival album. Expand
  14. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    Embora o álbum seja bem diferente do que a Selena está acostumada, é bem inferior ao revival.
  15. Jan 11, 2020
    4
    5 anos esperando um álbum dessa mulher e agora ela lançou, mas o álbum não chega a lugar nenhum, não tem um ápice etc, além disso tem um toque de fundo insuportável, porém tirando tudo isso o lyrics é bom
  16. Jan 11, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No hay nada bueno en ese álbum. En verdad pensaba que sería mejor. La letra es muy básica, no conmueve, no anima, es una letra común y corriente. La música tiene movimiento pero es como cualquier otra canción. Expand
  17. Jan 11, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this album was mediocre tbh some songs were ok but there were more bad songs than good.. wouldn’t listen again Expand
  18. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    Foram 4 anos de espera, e Selena Gomez não soube aproveitar esse tempo todo e lançou um álbum mediano.
  19. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    After for years of wait, RARE is a week album especially when you look at what Gomez lived in those years. Instead of a breakthrough album lirically deep we got a reflex of her EDM collabs and shady lyrics about past relationships. Taking the fact that “Rare” has 39 writers, we can only conclude that Mrs Homez has nothing constructive to say ever. Sad thing about critical acclaimed “LoseAfter for years of wait, RARE is a week album especially when you look at what Gomez lived in those years. Instead of a breakthrough album lirically deep we got a reflex of her EDM collabs and shady lyrics about past relationships. Taking the fact that “Rare” has 39 writers, we can only conclude that Mrs Homez has nothing constructive to say ever. Sad thing about critical acclaimed “Lose You To Love Me” being the lead single is that no song in the album is better than it. Expand
  20. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    I really like rare and a sweeter place, but I expected more.Revival still better
  21. kcc
    Jan 10, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. there are a few memorable songs, the rest sounds like the same songs that are already in the album. Expand
  22. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    the album does happen to be the shadow of its past relationships, and problems, she had to leave that behind and be stronger, the sounds seem to be the same in each song, but it has positive messages.
  23. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    im really disappointed by rare im not a fan but i was excited after hearing lytlm... turns out the album itself sounds like a 2015 mashup of every type of song that worked at the time, lyrics are bland, not really deep and it all seems very commercial. i really was hoping for her to move on with a more mature and emotional work... not that time i guess
  24. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Há muitas faixas “puláveis”, não é um álbum que vc ouve ele inteiro sem pular nenhuma faixa e também não há grandes vocais então acaba se tornando monótono e entediante mas há algumas músicas como “People You Know” que são dançantes e divertidas! Expand
  25. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. QUICK HONEST REVIEW FOR NON-FANS:
    1) Rare: nice beat and vocals. The chorus is interesting. Overall the lyrics is good. 2) Dance Again: I don’t mind it, definitely has some catchy parts and overall a very “dance” vibe. The lyrics are repetitive and not particularly elaborate, but it’s fine. Decent song.
    3) Look at her now: Nice pop song, I like the message behind it. The chorus is original and catchy. One of the best songs of the album.
    4) Lose you to love me: it’s the only ballad in the album and one of the best songs in it as well. Powerful vocals in the chorus. Also, her sweet voice sounds really pleasing. Nice lyrics as well.
    5) Ring: she should have made more songs like this one. Catchy, different vibe, slight vibrato on point, the flavor is there. I was pleasantly surprised when I listened to it for the first time. It’s my favorite out of all of songs.
    6) Vulnerable: nice lyrics but the music is a no for me. It feels like they wrote the lyrics first and then asked themselves “Okay, now we have to come up with some random melody that can fit all of these words”. Best part of the song is the bridge. Overall: boring, which is sad because the lyrics is nice. 7) People you know: just no. The music is fine and it could have been catchy but the lyrics is way too repetitive. The only thing she says over and over again:”We used to be close but people can go from people you know to people you don’t”. It’s not even a deep sentence...it’s literally like singing “It’s very bad that water is wet”. Boring much?
    8) Let Me Get me: meh, not bad but not great. I like the message behind it which is to stop self sabotaging. The music, however, is nothing special nor catchy. I wouldn’t listen to it if it wasn’t Selena’s song.
    9) Crowded Room: baby it’s just me and you, just us two even in a crowded room. Repeat it infinite times, one time in the normal key and the second one in a higher key + boring, mellow music + random rap verse. There you go, here’s “Crowded Room”.
    10) Kinda Crazy: starts with the guitar, the melody is well promising. You would imagine Selena to start singing in a “powerful”/strong tone...but no. Instead, she decides to go for the whisper style making the whole song WEAKER. Annoying, it could have a been a good song but the lack of strong vocal parts destroyed everything. Heard stronger vocals in Lose You To Love me and Ring, even. I know you could have done it Selena...so why didn’t you?
    11) Fun: Julia Michals was here...and it shows. Nice song, definitely has a “fun” vibe. Hits differently after listening to all those previous boring songs.
    12) Cut You Off: Nice, I like both the lyrics and the music. Vocals are okay, nothing crazy but she has a soothing voice. 13) Sweeter Place: wannabe radio hit. Thoughts: I am a fan of Selena but I don’t like this album. I find it barely decent. None of the songs were particularly good (except maybe the ballad). Nothing exciting about them. If I wasn’t a fan I would have skipped most of the songs after 10 seconds.
    Expand
  26. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    "Rare" is a minor evolution of Selena Gomez from the revival, the album delivers a lot of good songs like "People You Know" and "A Sweeter Place" but it's not that good in itself, the album starts in a way and it goes backwards and backwards when it comes to the last tracks where it is again only in the last track, the production does not deliver anything new, nor the lyrics, does not show"Rare" is a minor evolution of Selena Gomez from the revival, the album delivers a lot of good songs like "People You Know" and "A Sweeter Place" but it's not that good in itself, the album starts in a way and it goes backwards and backwards when it comes to the last tracks where it is again only in the last track, the production does not deliver anything new, nor the lyrics, does not show an artistic evolution of a girl who was 4 years without releasing an album and that is a little disappointing. Expand
  27. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect
  28. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    it was ok. it felt very juvenile. i loved many songs on this album, but i literally hated others. the album definitely got progressively worse and it sounded very unoriginal. the songs flowed together well but by the end it sounded like a recycled disney album. im not really a fan of the influences she used. definitely hasn't evolved from revival - which sounds more up to date than thisit was ok. it felt very juvenile. i loved many songs on this album, but i literally hated others. the album definitely got progressively worse and it sounded very unoriginal. the songs flowed together well but by the end it sounded like a recycled disney album. im not really a fan of the influences she used. definitely hasn't evolved from revival - which sounds more up to date than this entire project and it was released 5 years ago. definitely disappointed i waited 5 years for this project. she could've used more bops than experimentation. at first i thought this album was an upbeat version of reputation - and it definitely reminded me of a chill version of it. i wish she was more personal and had more ballads. lose you to love me was the only song that was personal. multiple tracks definitely sounded like a boring bea miller. lyrically, it was an outstanding project. production was awful. i got bored. easily. maybe it'll get better with a second listen but selena honey this ain't it Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    Bem trabalhado, as faixas conversam entre sí. É um álbum morno, porém bom.
  30. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    She had the opportunity to sing about overcoming her kidney transplant complications, mental health issues, and about how she finally found herself and her true identity in a more explicit and with more depth. Some of the songs are good, some are extensively "poppified" and some sound like plain fillers.
  31. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    Álbum totalmente diferente de tudo que ela já fez na carreira, letras impecáveis e extremamente pessoais, mesmo não tendo um vocal forte ela consegue impactar com as suas músicas e causar emoções. Grande Trabalho!!!
  32. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    The album sounds good, but isnt her best album, looks like an generic album and i dont feel she grew up with this album (beats), but and lyrics yes
  33. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    A very nice pop album although a bit forgettable for me. In terms of longevity, I probably will listen to it in full for two weeks and then drop it.
  34. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    Phenomenal , you can clearly see a progression in her music & as an ever-evolving artist. She shows time to time why she’s still pops relevancy. From guitar, electronic, to synthetic background drops, she proves why she’s loved by millions. Diversity is seen in each track. Can’t wait to see what she does next!
  35. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    4 years and this album sounds exactly like her last work, it's a cute album but pretty basic and forgetable.
  36. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Achei monótono, chato, entediante e as músicas são muito parecidas e repetitivas. Não houve nenhuma evolução vocal da Selena, mas as letras pelo menos salvam. Look at her now, lytlm e rare únicos singles possíveis. Expand
  37. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    Su mejor álbum.. merece mucho. Es algo nuevo y a la vez nos lleva a a recuerdos
    N
  38. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    She could not top her previous, Revival. The album is not bad per day by any means, it just seems to miss the bar. Waiting four years for an album not as good as her previous is somewhat disappointing.
  39. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    I like only 3-4 songs from this album, rest of them are boring and they all sound almost the same.
  40. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    Most songs have the same chopped out flow with very little vocal range. First half seems much more convincing and thought out than the second half. Not that i expected an Adele like album but it did left me a little dissapointed. But all in all a solid album for carefree car rides.
  41. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    O álbum tem uma proposta muito boa de mostrar que a Selena do Revival está revivendo e crescendo, atingindo agora um nível de tranquilidade e autoestima ainda maior. Todos esses bons aspectos ligados a composições incríveis começam a ficar despercebidos quando se conectam com instrumentais e uma produção que não sabe se entra de vez na proposta intimista de Selena ou se não foge do que seO álbum tem uma proposta muito boa de mostrar que a Selena do Revival está revivendo e crescendo, atingindo agora um nível de tranquilidade e autoestima ainda maior. Todos esses bons aspectos ligados a composições incríveis começam a ficar despercebidos quando se conectam com instrumentais e uma produção que não sabe se entra de vez na proposta intimista de Selena ou se não foge do que se espera de uma artista pop atualmente: conteúdo comercial. A vibe do disco parece buscar um ponto de equilíbrio, buscando ser um trabalho íntimo, mas que ainda vá tocar nas rádios. A produção é confusa e mesmo ouvindo mais de uma vez não há como descrever a sonoridade do disco.

    *52/100*
    Expand
  42. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    revival continua sendo o melhor apesar dela dizer que o Satrs Dance não existe o Rare é uma versão mais madura
  43. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    This is definitely not one of Selena Gomez best's. Following up her magestic album Revival, the new album RARE is flat, and does not bring any exitment. Except for Lose You To Love Me, RARE is not a good work of art, and doesn't fit in 2020.
  44. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    the only meaningful songs in this album that I can respect would probably be “cut you off”, and “rare”. Other than that the majority of the album falls extremely flat.
  45. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, let’s start. let's be honest, Selena never had great talents, she doesn’t sing, dance or write lyrics, but she pleased us with groovy melodies (which of course weren’t written by her, but still), and these melodies became radio hits (no wonder lol they this was always calculated). ‘Revival’ was not a work of art or a super-high-quality product, it was ordinary, but varied and vibrant. Even if there was no logical sense in building a set list, in clips, in the era itself or in the image of Selena during the era .. we will forget all this by forgiving and accepting :) And now came out 'Rare' and this... very bad, I'm seriously oooooooooooooooooo bad. the album is raw, empty and absolutely none. such music will come down for background listening in cafes on weekends, somewhere there on the radio, for a greater feeling that it does not pretend. it blows Selena up so much that he is literally filled with her dullness as an artist, her mediocrity. and that’s it. he is somewhat similar to the recently released ‘Lover’, but he doesn’t have any lyrics that Miss Swift wrote alone, and Gomez wrote all this with co-authors. in general, the album is so flat and even (not in a good way) that I want to cry because she lost such a chance to abruptly return to the industry and break her competitors. but she chose the path easier - again 0 concepts and stylistics, 0 creativity, everything is factory and static, 0 vocals ( Expand
  46. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    É ótimoooo, mas tem umas faixas que eu tiraria do álbum porque fazem a essência dele cair
  47. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    The album has its moments, my favorite track being Vulnerable, but there are many bad songs on here that balance out the good like the awful songs Look At Her Now and Fun.
  48. Jan 10, 2020
    4
    she is boring
    tiring
    talentless
    no identity, horrible and tiring aesthetics
  49. Jan 10, 2020
    5
    This albums shows how pop is! One of the best albums I have ever listened to.
  50. Jan 11, 2020
    4
    I loved it, every song has something that make them interesting and catchy.
  51. Jan 11, 2020
    4
    I really like cut you off and lose you to love me but overall it‘s kind off boring. Would be MUCH better without kinda crazy and fun.
  52. Jan 11, 2020
    4
    I was not surprised, it was less than I expected, the lyrics are good, but to some extent they talk about the same. The music, simple and does not catch, except for 3 songs.
    It does not reach the impact and quality that Revival had.
  53. Jan 11, 2020
    4
    Rare is full of filler, after four years from her enjoyable album “Revival”, Gomez delivers nothing new, many artists have digged into these sounds before, even better, even herself, the Buzz-singles she dropped during the past two years were way more great than what Rare offers. Rare is lack of emancipation, there is no proof here that show us she can really write songs or sing as well.
  54. Jan 11, 2020
    4
    a 4 because 4 is the number of songs i can actually listen to from it... do not waste your time on this mess. can’t believe it took her 4 years to come up with this lmao.
  55. Jan 11, 2020
    5
    the album is weak and she only celebrates the single life and speaks ill of the ex, this is the famous that did not surpass
  56. Jan 11, 2020
    5
    An incredible album, with amazing lyrics and a new type of style for Selena! I loved it ✨
  57. Jan 11, 2020
    4
    Ništa posebno, pored 3/4 i 12 pjesme na albumu ništa posebno. Uobičajeno, nista posebno, revolucionarno. Čak i dosadno
  58. Jan 11, 2020
    6
    The album is very good. Talk about loving yourself no matter what happens, but it does not appeal to me, that is, the rhythm, voice does not call me to download the music. Also congratulations Selena.
  59. Jan 12, 2020
    4
    In certain Tracks it sounds great until innovative it could be said but the background of this new album should be the personal and sentimental improvement of Gomez as it shows in the Incredible “Lose You To Love Me” or the moved “Look At Her Now” but in several Tracks "Rare" can feel like he can't let go or resists losing that old love that always brings him trouble; Selena Gomez willIn certain Tracks it sounds great until innovative it could be said but the background of this new album should be the personal and sentimental improvement of Gomez as it shows in the Incredible “Lose You To Love Me” or the moved “Look At Her Now” but in several Tracks "Rare" can feel like he can't let go or resists losing that old love that always brings him trouble; Selena Gomez will not have the best Voice as Ariana Grande, the best Dance Steps like Beyoncé or the innate Talent to compose as Taylor Swift but her amazing person and unique voice make her an amazing artist, Sel can improve for the next album and the best is that he showed in “Rare” that he has a lot of potential, he just needs to free himself from the past and fall in love with the future Expand
  60. Jan 12, 2020
    4
    Though there were some highlights ("Rare" is very solid, and 6LACK's feature on "Crowded Room" is really enjoyable), the album as a whole was a little disappointing. With this long of a wait, it just was a little underwhelming. Also, lyrically, it was not the most nuanced (which is fine, just a little annoying at parts).
  61. Jan 12, 2020
    5
    I just feel like she won’t be able to sing most of the songs live It will probably be an terrible live performance just like she did at the AMA’a
  62. Jan 13, 2020
    4
    Fue un álbum que captó mi atención solo 2 canciones como Rare y Dance again además de los 2 singles ya lanzados. El resto de canciones suelen tener ritmos un poco básico y poco arriesgados, se esperaba más de su trabajo por todo el tiempo en la cual estuvo preparándose agregando que su anterior álbum lo considero mucho mejor con ritmos y letras dignas de un puntaje en verde
  63. Jan 13, 2020
    6
    Ao contrário do que o nome possa sugerir, Rare tem uma sonoridade genérica, pouco inspirada ou inusitada. Apesar disso, possui bons momentos, principalmente do começo até a primeira metade.
  64. Jan 13, 2020
    6
    It's not bad (like she did before revival) it's just basic and I can't stop think about the fact that most of the songs she can't perform live.
  65. Jan 14, 2020
    4
    Depois de alguns anos sem lançar um álbum e se recuperando de várias turbulências em sua vida pessoal, Selena Gomez volta totalmente revigorada e saudável em seu novo álbum Rare, que tem letras sensíveis e pessoais sobre sua recuperação. Apesar disso, algumas letras são fracas em algumas partes, logo na faixa inicial percebe-se isso, mas o disco mostra a doce voz de Selena cantandoDepois de alguns anos sem lançar um álbum e se recuperando de várias turbulências em sua vida pessoal, Selena Gomez volta totalmente revigorada e saudável em seu novo álbum Rare, que tem letras sensíveis e pessoais sobre sua recuperação. Apesar disso, algumas letras são fracas em algumas partes, logo na faixa inicial percebe-se isso, mas o disco mostra a doce voz de Selena cantando fielmente no que ela acredita e isso é lindo. Apesar das letras a maior falha desse disco é a produção nem sempre coesa, tediosa e sem muita inovação, chega a ser frustante letras e voz sensíveis e carregadas de sentimentos com uma produção que não conforta em nada o trabalho da artista, além de deixar as músicas parecidas com one hit wonders de 2015. Expand
  66. Jan 14, 2020
    5
    Destaque apenas para as faixas Rare, Lose you to love me, Ring, Vulnerable e People you don't.
  67. Jan 14, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is not that good... maybe 3 or 4 songs are good enough because the rest sounds all the same and the lyrics are a mess like girl all those writers and that’s the best things y’all can do? And also, girlie said this was her most personal album but as far as we know 2 songs were other artist rejects so what’s the truth, your most personal album buy you didn’t even write all the songs? Lmfaooo is a mess, go watch Ajayii reaction to this on youtube for clean skin and laughs! Expand
  68. Jan 15, 2020
    6
    Sonically, I thought it was good, but when you start paying attention to the lyrics the album starts to fall apart.
  69. Jan 15, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mesmo não sendo um grande fã da Selena, confesso que estava ansioso para ouvir seu novo álbum. Mas, infelizmente criei muitas expectativas. Selena não evoluiu muito com o passar dos anos. Esse álbum é o segundo pior de sua carreira, depois do Stars Dance.
    Sobre o álbum em questão, gostei apenas de 4 tracks além do lead single 'Lose You To Love Me'. Dance Again, Vulnerable, Crowded Room e a minha favorita, Cut You Off. Espero que ela não demore muito o a lançar um outro álbum e que ela não fique na dependência de Julia Michaels...
    Expand
  70. Jan 15, 2020
    4
    The second part of the album is really terrible, seems like a 15 years old girl's lyrics
  71. Jan 16, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When we got LYTLM as the lead single, we all expected the album to be something extra deep and emotional, but, when we listen to the whole body of work it’s possible to see that’s completely superficial, with weak lyrics that sound kinda juvenile... “I think you’re kinda crazy ... you’re acting super shady...” Majority of the songs lack substance, and it was really disappointing to me. She’s like “oh wow i’m super amazing lala you’re a bummer” but she doesn’t develop around this, it just dies there, as some childish lyrics. Some songs are really tiring and boring. But, there are still some good songs as: LYTLM, Ring & Cut you off. In these tracks she did THAT! She could’ve done an incredible album, but, this ain’t it. Expand
  72. Jan 16, 2020
    6
    o álbum é legal, mas achei algumas meio chatas, preciso de tantos compositores pra sair isso. nenhum vocal relevante nem nada de inovador. mas vejo com uma evolução da Selena. espero que no próximo ela aprenda a fazer um álbum bom mesmo
  73. Jan 17, 2020
    6
    Selena tries to create a fresh pop album, but it's hard to call this album this way. The sound and production are good, but here one the main problem is the lack of songs that can stuck in you head. Exceptions are Look At Her Now, Dance Again and Vulnerable. All other songs have a special feature - to disappear from your mind after the first listening. This album doesn't have wonderfulSelena tries to create a fresh pop album, but it's hard to call this album this way. The sound and production are good, but here one the main problem is the lack of songs that can stuck in you head. Exceptions are Look At Her Now, Dance Again and Vulnerable. All other songs have a special feature - to disappear from your mind after the first listening. This album doesn't have wonderful magic, that makes you listen to this again and again. Expand
  74. Jan 17, 2020
    5
    The track list has a lot of skippables. It also has some standouts. Still, there was nothing very innovative or hitting here even though it was a deeply personal album.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 15, 2020
    60
    Rare continually teases intriguing forays into leftfield pop, but so many of the album’s experiments come off as just that, without ever crystallizing with memorable hooks.
  2. Jan 14, 2020
    80
    The record she has delivered to kickstart a new decade is a career defining release, and from a pop star who is firmly back on top of her game.
  3. Jan 14, 2020
    68
    While none of these 13 songs attempt the subtle weirdness of “Bad Liar” and the emotional thesis—self-love!—can be a bit one-note, Rare is the 27-year-old’s most cohesive record to date. ... But it’s difficult to come away from Rare with any real perspective on who Gomez is other than that she doesn’t want to be the person she was, whoever that similarly mysterious shadow was.