User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 7270 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its so song , my top 3 fave songs are crowded room , ring , LYTLM. It's really worth the wait and the production is fantastic Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    this is the best album of the year already i couldn't have imagined selena gomez would do something like this so new so magical i can't describe the whole vibe's just so great
  3. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    There is not a single bad song on this album. The title track and Dance Again are big stand outs and probably some of her career. It’d be foolish if she doesn’t release them as singles. Other notable stand outs are Vulnerable, which gives Taylor Swift Delicate vibes. The two features on the album, Crowded Room with 6lack and A Sweeter Place with Kid Cudi are also incredible songs. A songThere is not a single bad song on this album. The title track and Dance Again are big stand outs and probably some of her career. It’d be foolish if she doesn’t release them as singles. Other notable stand outs are Vulnerable, which gives Taylor Swift Delicate vibes. The two features on the album, Crowded Room with 6lack and A Sweeter Place with Kid Cudi are also incredible songs. A song that caught me off guard was definitely Ring. I was not expecting such a short song so be that good. Selena has really shown true artistic growth with thus album. It is definitely her best work to date which says a lot because her previous release, Revival, was also a solid pop record. This already looks like it’s going to be her most successful record to date with her getting her first number one single on the Billboard Hot 100 with the incredible Lose You To Love Me and it is completely well deserved. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Es un álbum que relata muy bien su crecimiento personal y profesional ❤️
  5. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    It's her best album. It deserves everything! Selena is an amazing artist and the world needs to understand that!
  6. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The best album in the world. Selena is WONDERFUL
  7. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    BEST. SELENA'S. ALBUM. EVER.
    i'm completley addicted, it's so wonderful.
    The lyrics are perfect, the melody is beautiful.
  8. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Selena nos regalo uno de sus mejores álbumes, es tan magnifico que no te decides por una favorita. Se merece todo el éxito y reconocimiento del mundo.
  9. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    rare by selena gomez? an amazing example of how pop music is supposed to be. selena took a risk and every song is so different. i love it
  10. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Álbum perfeito, o melhor dela até agora! Não adianta chorar que People You Know é a melhor do álbum.
  11. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Increíble la forma en que Dioslena gomez se cagó en Mierda bieber y Vomituumy, alabada sea Selena.
  12. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    melhor álbum da carreira: não tem uma música ruim e quanto mais você ouve mais perfeito fica. uma obra sonora deliciosa, tudo gruda na cabeça! selena rainha
  13. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Um álbum coeso, que mostra o amadurecimento de Gomez, valeu a espera, rare conseguiu superar seu antecessor revival
  14. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Selena shows her maturity, personal experiences, independence and self-love in soft and addictive melodies. This album is the successor of Revival.
  15. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Her best album by far. She found her style and fits so well on her voice. The lyrics are powerful, her vocals are pleasing to hear and the sounds make the album fun and exciting. Rare is magical.
  16. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Álbum maravilhoso, a Selena conseguiu se transparecer através de ótimas músicas Expand
  17. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Queen!! She did THAT. Her best album ever, the album was worth the wait. I'm so proud of her and she deserves all the best things in this world.
  18. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Muito lindo ,foi um cds mas aclamados no Brasil... I love you sel só much .. Expand
  19. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Simplemente lo mejor que e escuchado, todas las canciones te trasmitir un mensaje Te amo selena gomez
  20. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    It’s so different and new! Every Song has a different style and stone! Amazing work Selena
  21. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. um dos melhores albums que ja escutei!
    o album é totalmente coeso e tem ótimas músicas também
    Expand
  22. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Her butterfly beginning is HERE!
  23. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Her best album to date. Very powerful and unique. Many songs have a modern retro-vibes that made the album even better. 10/10
  24. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The album is full of clever and contagious melodies that you can't stop listening to. Have a wonderful lyrics that make you want more and more to appreciate this work of art. Certainly Gomez's best work.
  25. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Already one of the best albums of this decade. the wait was worth it. Everything about this album was rare. Expand
  26. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    so good, i love this álbum. selena managed to give us self-confidence, the best album of her career.
  27. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This album is the best Selena Gomez’s project. The surprising lyrics and innovative melodies make it unique.
  28. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's the best album of Selena Gomez's career. Rare it's an album for you to cry and think about in the dance floor. It has very strong lyrics and production as strong as. Highlighting the bridges that are out of this world, Cut You Off has this amazing guitar and in Kinda Crazy Selena's flawless vocals that take you to another dimension and give you a feeling of ecstatic ecstasy. The R&B of Crowded Room is really beautiful to the point of making you cry. Selena Gomez outdid herself. Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The best album out there!!! YOU NEED TO LISTEN TO IT. Tell your friends to Listen to it too!
  30. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    O álbum possui uma sonoridade incrível,possui composições de peso e é estremamente pessoal
  31. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    One of the best album has released from Selena Gomez. This is such a energetic album. I liked the vibe of album so much. I think the best songs in the album; People you know, rare, lose you to love me, a sweeter place and kinda crazy... In a nutshell all album lol. I think there is no bad song but i think Look at her now is the worst song in the album.
  32. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It’s her best album! Period I’m in love with This one like for real guys she snapped so hard Expand
  33. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Álbum coeso conforme o que foi proposto a fazer,merece todo o sucesso e aclamação, Yummy out!
  34. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Álbum com coesão, aclamação e conceito. Muito feliz ver que minha menina mulher está cada vez mais madura e se expressando melhor do que nunca.
  35. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Revival was everything till now, Selena is evolving musically speaking and it shows. Rare is a great project and everybody should listen to.
  36. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    honest, stylish and rare, the album is a true pop bible of this winter. and maybe even of this year.
  37. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i love this album so much, im so EXCITED for the new era of Selena Gomez, my big queen Expand
  38. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excelente álbum, nós fãns estamos muito encantados com todas as músicas, sendo um álbum de digno respeito. Expand
  39. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    this album show off selenas artistic growth as an artist and a woman with song like lose you to love me, kinda crazy, and a sweeter place featuring kid cudi you can hear the musical growth in her production and also her voice it’s an amazing record in general her best to date
  40. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Album has a very unique sound it isn't like anything you've ever heard. The album talks about journey of selflove, heartbreak... The tracks 'Dance Again' and 'A Sweeter Place' will instantly make you happy.
  41. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    It’s just perfect, her best album ever, sounds really authentic and mature, AOTY wbk
  42. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    A masterpiece of album, brilliant, with an incredible rythm, lyrics and voice. Selena and Ariana are probably the best main pop girls in the industry right now.
  43. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    El mejor trabajo de Selena! Rítmico, lírico y espectacular. Realmente se superó esta mujer, logró hacer un álbum en el que ninguna de las canciones es mala!
  44. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    best album ever!!! she deserves a grammy. She proved that she is versatil and all the lyrics are deep and beautiful. It is impossible not to relate with any of them.
  45. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Valió la pena tanta espera, Selena nos sorprendió de nuevo con un álbum tan hermoso
  46. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Her best album yet, she tells the story of bouncing back from heartbreak and fully embraces being moved on with this album
  47. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    É um álbum que vc se conectar rapidamente desde a primeira música até a última, passando pelos sentimentos da Selena durante esse tempo de produção do álbum. De uma forma alegre em sua maioria ela consegue conquistar o coração
  48. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rare is magnífic, is fun , is magical , is perfect... love u Selena, love u Expand
  49. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Not a song on here that I’d skip!! LOVE IT! You should definitely check it out!!
  50. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    the best album, each song takes you to a different place you find tranquility and peace with yourself to feel the connection with each of the songs, a whole work of art "RARe"
  51. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Thd id how you do a comeback. Personally, I think this is Selena's best album and shows a real artistic progression from revival, which I also loved. I think it also does tell a story with the first 4 songs being her looking back and getting to where she is now with tracks 5 to 13 telling a story of how she's healed over everything that she's been through.
  52. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Album of the year! El como ella mostró su lado más vulnerable y como logra conectar con su versión de la historia es impresionante
  53. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    I find it different, sincere and very emotional. Selena really did it. The sounds accompany and transmit what you really want to express, I loved every corner of this album, from beginning to end. It is quite powerful and worth saying "this is the album" it only remains to say... thanks.
  54. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Everything on this album is beautiful. Lyrics are breathtaking and music is so banger! Can't point one out to be the best, guess that would still be lose you to love me, but this album is my jam, my vibe. What a masterpiece! Selena Gomez, thank you!
  55. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    amazing! showstopping! never been done before!

    to me, selena’s “rare” is more experimental than her previous album “revival”. my personal favorites are ring, sweeter place and fun.
  56. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    I love you selena, this album smashes the revival, glad you came back after 4 years away from the palvos
  57. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    AMAZING ALBUM, love it
    She deserve the whole world, omg
    This album is so special!
  58. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Selena Gomez novamente nos entrega mais do que esperávamos em um álbum pessoal e único, mas que ainda é possível se identificar com as letras e interpretar com a sua própria história. Cada faixa é diferente das outras, as melodias e batidas são diferentes do que já ouvimos de outros álbuns dela. As letras são maduras e mostram seu crescimento como cantora e artista no geral. Sem sombras deSelena Gomez novamente nos entrega mais do que esperávamos em um álbum pessoal e único, mas que ainda é possível se identificar com as letras e interpretar com a sua própria história. Cada faixa é diferente das outras, as melodias e batidas são diferentes do que já ouvimos de outros álbuns dela. As letras são maduras e mostram seu crescimento como cantora e artista no geral. Sem sombras de dúvida, os quatro anos de espera valeram a pena. Expand
  59. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    perfeito STREAM NA LENDA
    as letras são lindas, a melodia agradável, esse álbum é tudo
  60. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    a espera de 4 anos valeu a pena, podemos conhecer uma Selena madura, adulta e completa. Ela e honesta com seus sentimentos, não tem medo de se mostrar vulnerável e mostrou que é, acima de tudo, RARA
  61. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Starting up the new decade with a masterpiece!!! This album deserves a Grammy that’s all i can say, it’s literally art!!!!
  62. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    CONCEITO, COESÃO E ACLAMAÇÃO PURINHA! Já dá pra sentir o cheiro do hit!
  63. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The most cohesive pop album I’ve heard in a long time. Not a fan of Selena but I really was blown away by the greatness of this new body of work. Very well thought out and put together. I respect her for that.
  64. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    So authentic and original, best album of 2020, great sounds and amazing production
  65. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Selena Gomez is a pop powerhouse and this album proves it. This beautifully crafted album is her best album and shows how much she has grown, musically and mentally.
  66. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    It’s just amazing, the best work she’s ever done for sure, love her‼️❤️
  67. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Es el mejor álbum de Selena , lejos ! Muy orgullosa por ella y su equipo , lo hicieron excelente ❤
  68. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    It's her best album. Everyday song sounds different but so good.
    Songs like 'Ring', 'Lose You To Love Me' and 'Let Me Get Me' show her versatility
  69. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    queen snapped. i am wigless. she did NOT come to play, she came to slay. she gave the gays what they needed.
  70. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good Music! It shows her self growth and self esteem during her hardest process. Expand
  71. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Her best album yet! One of her best albums that she has ever done, she is beautiful!
  72. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The best album I heard in YEARS. The 4 years were really worth it. Keep going Selena, you did that!!
  73. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    I really needed this Album. All the songs are so incredible, pure art. I don’t think it could have been better because it’s just perfect and I really love it!!!
  74. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Very good & cohesive album. Love it. It’s a whole other side of Selena that we’ve never seen. Best album of hers.
  75. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Ommmmmg her best album yet
  76. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The album is perfect lyrically sonically and vocally. I love how Selena made it her job to deliver us a story made by her about her that simply explains herself and introducing herself as someone who RARE. She has yet to make a bad record and with this record she proves that she can only get better! Well done Selena you made an amazing work of art!
  77. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    ÁLBUM DO ANO. Impressionada com a evolução dela desde stars dance até rare. Uma lenda viva. Selegend
  78. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O album vem com uma versatilidade estampada, diferente de todos trabalhos entregues pela cantora até hoje. Fun tem uma batida que lembra Bad Liar e Crowed Room transmite uma emoção e sensação mais sexy. Expand
  79. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Selena’s best work yet. This album has no skips and is a must listen. Her growth from her 2015 album to this one is spectacular.
  80. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Grandiosa melodía y letra. Sin duda su mejor álbum, donde pudo dar a conocer sus sentimientos y autosuperación.
  81. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Magical and cohesive! So refreshing! There is something very special about this album, and I would argue that it really stands out in the soft pop genre.
  82. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Her best album! No skips. Vulnerable, Cut you off, Ring and A sweeter place are AMAZING.
  83. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    I am so proud of Selena Gomez. This album id truly cohesive and really fun. The industry will finally know the impact that Selena Gomez has across the Pop Music Industry. Including whisper pop which is dominating the charts with the likes of Billie Eilish and etc..
  84. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Pop perfection, anyone who doesn't like this album is tasteless. Her best one to this day, you can clearly see her grownth and how much her vocals improved. Miss Gomez is on another level. Go stream Rare for clear skin!
  85. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The best album . Es arte en su maximo nivel
    No pueden perderselo , con ritmos movidos que te hacen pasar por todas las emociones
  86. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Her best album PERIOD. There is a lot of confessions and insight into her personal life and she has finally found her own aound Expand
  87. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Perfeito, princesa do pop! Todas as faixas tem letra, ritmo e um vocal incrível. Expand
  88. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Esse é simplesmente perfeito, eu tô tão feliz pela selena ela ta anos trabalhando nesse álbum é agora entregou um trabalho top para oas fãs
  89. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Album of the y year !!! . . . . .
  90. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    The song's are beautiful and the lyrics are amazing.

    Congratulations to Selena!!!
  91. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    completamente UNICO, viciante, e cômico!!!! selena nos trouxe musicas muito bem produzidas com muito amor e atenção. Estou viciado em todas desde já.
  92. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Selena’s best album to date! I LOOOOVEEEEE ITTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  93. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Pop Perfection! Miss Gomez always delivers!! Best Songs (changes every listen) rn A Sweeter Place and Vulnerable.
  94. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Le meilleur album de Selena. Toutes les musiques sont différentes mais elles ont toutes excellents. Les paroles sont extrêmement bien travaillés.
  95. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Selena's best album and in the WORLD. SHUT UP HATERS, YOU'RE SO PATHETIC!!!
  96. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    El mejor álbum de la Reyna Selena Gómez ❤️
  97. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Heaven!!! The new album is so good,stream Rare for skin **** :* :* :* Love you all Expand
  98. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Selena parece madura e segura no ritmo suave e transparente do seu novo álbum, é como um grito de liberdade e um mergulho profundo no amor próprio. Expand
  99. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    4 long years waiting this album and the waiting was worth it, just perfect everything in this is worth it
  100. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Truly one of her best pieces of work to date. Definitely exceeded all my high expectations and so much more.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 15, 2020
    60
    Rare continually teases intriguing forays into leftfield pop, but so many of the album’s experiments come off as just that, without ever crystallizing with memorable hooks.
  2. Jan 14, 2020
    80
    The record she has delivered to kickstart a new decade is a career defining release, and from a pop star who is firmly back on top of her game.
  3. Jan 14, 2020
    68
    While none of these 13 songs attempt the subtle weirdness of “Bad Liar” and the emotional thesis—self-love!—can be a bit one-note, Rare is the 27-year-old’s most cohesive record to date. ... But it’s difficult to come away from Rare with any real perspective on who Gomez is other than that she doesn’t want to be the person she was, whoever that similarly mysterious shadow was.